Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > STRAUSS, R.: Rosenkavalier (Der) (Stevens, Steber / Metropolitan Opera / Reiner) (1949)

STRAUSS, R.: Rosenkavalier (Der) (Stevens, Steber / Metropolitan Opera / Reiner) (1949)


About this Recording

STRAUSS, R.: Rosenkavalier (Der) (Stevens, Steber / Metropolitan Opera / Reiner) (1949)

Disc 1

Strauss, Richard
Hofmannsthal, Hugo von, lyricist(s)

  Der Rosenkavalier (The Knight of the Rose), Op. 59, TrV 227
1.   Act I: Introduction 00:03:10
2.   Act I: Wie du warst! Wie du bist! (Octavian, Marschallin) 00:02:48
3.   Act I: Du bist mein Bub', du bist mein Schatz! (Marschallin, Octavian) 00:05:14
4.   Act I: Der Feldmarschall sitzt im krowatischen Wald (Octavian, Marschallin) 00:04:14
5.   Act I: Quinquin, es ist ein Besuch (Marschallin, Major - domo, Baron, Octavian) 00:01:51
6.   Act I: Selbstverstandlich empfangt mich Ihro Gnaden (Baron, Footmen, Marschallin, Major - domo) 00:08:29
7.   Act I: Hat Sie schon einmal (Baron, Octavian, Marschallin) 00:00:52
8.   Act I: Macht das einen lahmen Esel aus mir (Baron, Marschallin, Octavian) 00:01:38
9.   Act I: Geben mir Euer Gnaden den Grasaff' da (Baron, Marschallin, Octavian) 00:01:43
10.   Act I: Wollen Euer Gnaden leicht den Jungen Herrn da (Marschallin, Baron, Octavian) 00:01:16
11.   Act I: I komm' glei... Drei arme adelige Waisen (Octavian, Orphans, Milliner, Animal Vendor, Marschallin, Valzacchi) 00:02:52
12.   Act I: Di rigori armato il seno (Italian Singer) 00:02:04
13.   Act I: Als Morgengabe... (Baron, Notary, Italian Singer) 00:02:49
14.   Act I: Mein lieber Hippolyte (Marschallin, Valzacchi, Baron, Annina) 00:03:37
15.   Act I: Da geht er hin, der aufgeblasene schlechte Kerl (Marschallin) 00:04:58
16.   Act I: Ach, du bist wieder da! (Marschallin, Octavian) 00:05:13
17.   Act I: Die Zeit, die ist ein sonderbar Ding (Marschallin) 00:02:05
18.   Act I: Mein schoner Schatz (Octavian, Marschallin) 00:03:56
19.   Act I: Ich werd' jetzt in die Kirchen geh'n (Marschallin, Octavian, Footmen) 00:06:57
20.   Broadcast commentary 00:01:41

Disc 2

Strauss, Richard
Hofmannsthal, Hugo von, lyricist(s)

  Der Rosenkavalier (The Knight of the Rose), Op. 59, TrV 227
1.   Act II: Introduction 00:00:44
2.   Act II: Ein ernster Tag, ein grosser Tag (Faninal, Marianne, Major - domo) 00:01:13
3.   Act II: In dieser feierlichen Stunde der Prufung (Sophie, Marianne) 00:03:20
4.   Act II: Mir ist die Ehre widerfahren (Octavian, Sophie) 00:07:01
5.   Act II: Ich kenn' ihn schon recht wohl (Sophie, Octavian) 00:03:51
6.   Act II: Jetzt aber kommt mein Herr Zukunftiger (Sophie, Faninal, Baron, Octavian, Marianne) 00:02:15
7.   Act II: Brav, Faninal, er weiss, was sich gehort (Baron, Octavian, Sophie, Faninal, Marianne) 00:04:36
8.   Act II: Wird kommen uber Nacht (Baron, Octavian, Marianne, Faninal) 00:02:13
9.   Act II: Hab' nichts dawider (Baron, Octavian, Sophie, Faninal's Major - domo, Marianne) 00:03:36
10.   Act II: Was Sie ist... Mit Ihren Augen voll Tranen (Marschallin, Sophie, Octavian) 00:02:40
11.   Act II: Herr Baron von Lerchenau! (Valzacchi, Annina, Baron, Sophie, Octavian, Baron's Servants, Faninal's Servants, Marianne, Faninal) 00:06:27
12.   Act II: Er muss mich pardonieren (Octavian, Faninal, Sophie, Marianne, Baron) 00:06:17
13.   Act II: Da lieg' ich (Baron, Baron's Servants, Annina) 00:03:18
14.   Act II: Da!... Herr Cavalier! (Baron, Annina) 00:04:35
15.   Broadcast commentary 00:00:42

Disc 3

Strauss, Richard
Hofmannsthal, Hugo von, lyricist(s)

  Der Rosenkavalier (The Knight of the Rose), Op. 59, TrV 227
1.   Act III: Introduction and Pantomime 00:06:38
2.   Act III: Hab'n Euer Gnaden noch weitre Befehle (Landlord, Waiters, Baron) 00:01:49
3.   Act III: Nein, nein, nein, nein! I trink' kein Wein (Octavian, Baron) 00:01:26
4.   Act III: Ach, lass Sie schon einmal das fade Wort! (Baron, Octavian) 00:02:55
5.   Act III: Die schone Musi! (Octavian, Baron) 00:02:22
6.   Act III: Wie die Stund' hingeht (Octavian, Baron, Annina, Landlord, Children, Waiters, Valzacchi) 00:04:09
7.   Act III: Oh weh, was maken wir... / Halt! Keiner ruhrt sich! (Police Officer, Octavian, Baron &c. as above... , Sophie, Faninal) 00:04:34
8.   Act III: Sind desto eher im Klaren (Baron, Police Officer, Octavian, Annina, Landlord, Children, Waiters, Valzacchi) 00:01:33
9.   Act III: Muss jetzt partout zu ihr!... / Ihre hochfurstliche Gnaden (Baron, Landlord, Police Officer, Octavian, Marschallin, Sophie) 00:10:06
10.   Act III: Ist halt vorbei (Marschallin, Sophie, Baron, Valzacchi, Annina, Waiters, Children, Landlord, Musicians, Coachmen, House - Boy) 00:02:24
11.   Act III: Mein Gott, es war nicht mehr als eine Farce (Sophie, Octavian, Marschallin) 00:02:13
12.   Act III: Heut'oder morgen oder den ubernachsten Tag (Marschallin, Octavian, Sophie) 00:04:13
13.   Act III: Marie Theres'!... Hab'mir's gelobt (Octavian, Marschallin, Sophie) 00:05:57
14.   Act III: Ist ein Traum, kamm nicht wirklich sein (Sophie, Octavian) 00:03:33
15.   Act III: Ist ein Traum... Spur nur dich (Sophie, Octavian) 00:02:54
16.   Broadcast commentary 00:04:11

Total Playing Time: 03:01:12

Strauss, Richard

Hofmannsthal, Hugo von

Reiner, Fritz

New York Metropolitan Opera Orchestra

New York Metropolitan Opera Chorus

Berger, Erna; Chabay, Leslie; Darcy, Emery; Di Stefano, Giuseppe; Hunt, Lois; Klein, Peter; Lipton, Martha; List, Emanuel; Smithers, Peggy; Steber, Eleanor; Stevens, Rise; Thompson, Hugh; Vittucci, Matthew; Votipka, Thelma

Label: Naxos Historical

Genre: Opera

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.110277-79

Barcode: 0636943127728

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 11/2003

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Canada only:
Naxos Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
12:29:47 PM, 6 July 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.