Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > VERDI: Otello (Martinelli, Rethberg, Panizza)(1938)

VERDI: Otello (Martinelli, Rethberg, Panizza)(1938)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

VERDI: Otello (Martinelli, Rethberg, Panizza)(1938)

Disc 1

Verdi, Giuseppe
Boito, Arrigo, lyricist(s)

  Otello (Othello)
1.   Opening announcement by Milton Cross 00:01:58
2.   Act I: Una vela! (Chorus, Montano, Cassio, Iago, Roderigo) 00:03:44
3.   Act I: Esultate! (Otello, Chorus, Iago, Roderigo) 00:04:43
4.   Act I: Fuoco di gioia! (Chorus) 00:02:20
5.   Act I: Roderigo, beviam! (Iago, Cassio, Chorus, Roderigo) 00:01:27
6.   Act I: Inaffia l'ugola! (Iago, Cassio, Roderigo, Chorus) 00:03:38
7.   Act I: Capitano, v'attende (Montano, Cassio, Iago, Roderigo, Chorus) 00:01:21
8.   Act I: Ola! Che avvien (Otello, Iago, Cassio, Montano) 00:03:47
9.   Act I: Gia nella notte (Otello, Desdemona) 00:02:10
10.   Act I: Quando narravi (Desdemona, Otello) 00:03:23
11.   Act I: Venga la morte! (Otello, Desdemona) 00:07:01
12.   Act II: Non ti cruciar (Iago, Cassio) 00:02:49
13.   Act II: Credo in un Dio crudel [Iago's Credo] (Iago) 00:05:10
14.   Act II: Eccola (Iago) 00:01:15
15.   Act II: Cio m'accora (Iago, Otello) 00:04:52
16.   Act II: Dove guardi splendono (Chorus, Iago, Desdemona, Otello) 00:03:58
17.   Act II: D'un uom che geme (Desdemona, Otello, Iago, Emilia) 00:05:08
18.   Act II: Desdemona rea! (Otello, Iago) 00:01:41
19.   Act II: Ora e per sempre addio (Otello, Iago) 00:03:46
20.   Act II: Era la notte (Iago, Otello) 00:04:36
21.   Act II: Si, pel ciel (Otello, Iago) 00:06:11

Disc 2

Verdi, Giuseppe
Boito, Arrigo, lyricist(s)

  Otello (Othello)
1.   Act III: Introduction 00:01:18
2.   Act III: La vedetta del porto (Herald, Otello, Iago) 00:01:21
3.   Act III: Dio ti giocondi, o sposo (Desdemona, Otello) 00:10:14
4.   Act III: Dio! Mi potevi scagliar (Otello, Iago) 00:04:48
5.   Act III: Vieni, l'aula e deserta (Iago, Cassio, Otello) 00:03:50
6.   Act III: Questa e una ragna (Iago, Cassio, Otello) 00:01:48
7.   Act III: Come la uccidero (Otello, Iago, Chorus) 00:01:13
8.   Act III: Evviva il Leon di San Marco! (Lodovico, Otello, Desdemona, Emilia, Iago, Roderigo, Chorus) 00:06:03
9.   Act III: A terra!... si... nel livido fango (Desdemona, Emilia, Cassio, Roderigo, Lodovico, Chorus, Iago, Otello) 00:10:48
10.   Act IV: Era più calmo (Emilia, Desdemona) 00:04:11
11.   Act IV: Mia madre aveva una povera ancella [Willow Song] (Desdemona, Emilia) 00:08:30
12.   Act IV: Ave Maria (Desdemona) 00:08:17
13.   Act IV: Chi e la (Desdemona, Otello) 00:03:27
14.   Act IV: Calma come la tomba (Otello, Emilia, Desdemona, Cassio, Iago, Lodovico, Montano) 00:03:32
15.   Act IV: Niun mi tema (Otello, Cassio, Lodovico, Montano) 00:05:40

Total Playing Time: 02:29:58

Verdi, Giuseppe

Boito, Arrigo

Panizza, Ettore

New York Metropolitan Opera Orchestra

New York Metropolitan Opera Chorus

Cehanovsky, George; Martinelli, Giovanni; Massue, Nicholas; Moscona, Nicola; Paltrinieri, Giovanni; Rethberg, Elisabeth; Tibbett, Lawrence; Votipka, Thelma

Label: Naxos Historical

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.111018-19

Barcode: 0747313301829

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 07/2005

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Canada only:
Naxos Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
7:37:17 PM, 26 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.