Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > VERDI: Trovatore (Il) (Callas, di Stefano, Karajan) (1956)

VERDI: Trovatore (Il) (Callas, di Stefano, Karajan) (1956)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

VERDI: Trovatore (Il) (Callas, di Stefano, Karajan) (1956)

Before Maria Callas made this August 1956 recording of Il Trovatore, at La Scala, Milan, she had been singing it often since 1950 and with notable success. Her 1953 Covent Garden performances earned golden opinions. The Times critic considered the opera should have been styled Leonora:‘[she] sang and acted everyone off the stage’… The beauty of her line, its plasticity, and its strength, and the easy richness with which she unfolds long phrases, was memorably shown in Tacea la notte’.Throughout this recording Callas’s singing of Leonora’s music is superlative. In, for example, D’amor sull’ali rosee her delivery is so musically authoritative she shapes the long phrases with subtle use of rubato and perfectly drawn portamenti, each differently weighted according to the dynamics, the interval accomplished, and the speed of the music.

Disc 1

Verdi, Giuseppe
Cammarano, Salvadore, lyricist(s)

  Il trovatore
1.   Act I Scene 1: All'erta, all'erta! (Ferrando, Retainers, Soldiers) 00:03:03
2.   Act I Scene 1: Di due figli vivea (Ferrando, Retainers, Soldiers) 00:06:18
3.   Act I Scene 1: Sull'orlo dei tetti alcun l'ha veduta! (Ferrando, Retainers, Soldiers) 00:01:20
4.   Act I Scene 2: Che piu t'arresti (Inez, Leonora) 00:02:17
5.   Act I Scene 2: Tacea la notte placida (Leonora, Inez) 00:04:24
6.   Act I Scene 2: Di tale amo che dirsi (Leonora, Inez) 00:01:40
7.   Act I Scene 3: Tace la notte! (Count) 00:02:04
8.   Act I Scene 3: Deserto sulla terra (Manrico, Count, Leonora) 00:03:30
9.   Act I Scene 3: Di geloso amor sprezzato (Count, Manrico, Leonora) 00:02:35
10.   Act II Scene 1: Vedi! Le fosche notturne spoglie, "Anvil Chorus" (Gypsies) 00:03:01
11.   Act II Scene 1: Stride la vampa (Azucena, Gypsies, Manrico, an old Gypsy) 00:04:45
12.   Act II Scene 1: Soli or siamo (Manrico, Azucena) 00:01:01
13.   Act II Scene 1: Condotto ell'era in ceppi (Azucena, Manrico) 00:04:53
14.   Act II Scene 1: Non son tuo figlio (Manrico, Azucena) 00:02:29
15.   Act II Scene 1: Mal reggendo (Manrico, Azucena, Messenger) 00:04:37
16.   Act II Scene 1: Perigliarti ancor languente (Azucena, Manrico) 00:02:28
17.   Act II Scene 2: Tutto e deserto (Count, Ferrando) 00:01:35
18.   Act II Scene 2: Il balen del suo sorriso (Count) 00:03:16
19.   Act II Scene 2: Quel suono! Oh, ciel! … Per me ora fatale (Count, Ferrando, Retainers) 00:03:41
20.   Act II Scene 2: Ah! Se l'error t'ingombra (Nuns, Count, Ferrando, Retainers) 00:02:00
21.   Act II Scene 2: Perche piangete (Leonora, Inez, Count, Nuns) 00:02:18
22.   Act II Scene 2: E deggio e posso crederlo (Leonora, Manrico, Count, Inez, Nuns, Ferrando, Retainers, Ruiz, Soldiers) 00:04:48

Disc 2

Verdi, Giuseppe
Cammarano, Salvadore, lyricist(s)

  Il trovatore
1.   Act III Scene 1: Or co' dadi (Soldiers, Ferrando) 00:02:00
2.   Act III Scene 1: Squilli, echeggi la tromba guerriera (Soldiers) 00:02:29
3.   Act III Scene 1: In braccio al mio rival! (Count, Ferrando, Soldiers, Azucena) 00:02:12
4.   Act III Scene 1: Giorni poveri vivea (Azucena, Ferrando, Count, Soldiers) 00:05:13
5.   Act III Scene 2: Quale d'armi fragor poc'anzi intesi (Leonora, Manrico) 00:01:50
6.   Act III Scene 2: Ah, si, ben mio (Manrico) 00:03:07
7.   Act III Scene 2: L'onda de' suoni mistici (Manrico, Leonora, Ruiz) 00:01:23
8.   Act III Scene 2: Di quella pira (Manrico, Leonora, Ruiz, Soldiers) 00:03:23
9.   Act IV Scene 1: Siam giunti (Ruiz, Leonora) 00:03:07
10.   Act IV Scene 1: D'amor sull'ali rosee (Leonora) 00:04:09
11.   Act IV Scene 1: Miserere d'un alma gia vicina (Monks, Leonora, Manrico) 00:04:56
12.   Act IV Scene 1: Di te, di te scordarmi! … Tu vedrai che amore in terra (Leonora) 00:02:34
13.   Act IV Scene 1: Udiste (Count, Leonora) 00:01:47
14.   Act IV Scene 1: Mira, di acerbe lagrime (Leonora, Count) 00:03:35
15.   Act IV Scene 1: Vivra! Contende il giubilo (Leonora, Count) 00:02:23
16.   Act IV Scene 2: Madre, non dormi (Manrico, Azucena) 00:06:50
17.   Act IV Scene 2: Ai nostri monti (Azucena, Manrico) 00:02:06
18.   Act IV Scene 2: Che! Non m'inganno! (Manrico, Leonora, Azucena) 00:04:11
19.   Act IV Scene 2: Ti scosta (Manrico, Leonora, Count, Azucena) 00:04:47

Total Playing Time: 02:10:05

Verdi, Giuseppe

Cammarano, Salvadore

Karajan, Herbert von

Milan La Scala Orchestra

Milan La Scala Chorus

Barbieri, Fedora; Callas, Maria; Di Stefano, Giuseppe; Ercolani, Renato; Mauri, Giulio; Panerai, Rolando; Villa, Luisa; Zaccaria, Nicola

Label: Naxos Historical

Series: Great Opera Recordings

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.111280-81

Barcode: 0747313328024

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States, Australia and Singapore due to possible copyright restrictions.

Physical Release: 01/2008

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Canada only:
Naxos Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
2:08:49 PM, 1 August 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.