Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > CORNELIUS, P.: Barber of Bagdad (The) (Schwarzkopf, Gedda, Leinsdorf) (1956) / WEBER, C.M.: Abu Hassan (Schwarzkopf, Witte, Ludwig) (1944)

CORNELIUS, P.: Barber of Bagdad (The) (Schwarzkopf, Gedda, Leinsdorf) (1956) / WEBER, C.M.: Abu Hassan (Schwarzkopf, Witte, Ludwig) (1944)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

CORNELIUS, P.: Barber of Bagdad (The) (Schwarzkopf, Gedda, Leinsdorf) (1956) / WEBER, C.M.: Abu Hassan (Schwarzkopf, Witte, Ludwig) (1944)

When this recording of Peter Cornelius’s sparkling German comedy Der Barbier von Bagdad was released in 1957, The Gramophone reviewer remarked that “there is no mistaking the enjoyment which the cast find in the work – an enjoyment seemingly shared by the orchestra and the chorus… Outstanding in this company is Oskar Czerwenka, who very obviously relished the verbal humour in his part and gives a splendid comic performance… Nicolai Gedda is on his best form, and Schwarzkopf brings distinction to [her] part”.The 1944 recording of Weber’s delightful one-act Singspiel Abu Hassan, based on The Arabian Nights, features Elisabeth Schwarzkopf and Erich Witte as “a very melodious pair of lovers, Michael Bohnen revels in his buffo part, and Leopold Ludwig keeps the little opera moving briskly” (The Gramophone, July 1961).

Disc 1

Cornelius, Peter
Cornelius, Peter, lyricist(s)

  Der Barbier von Bagdad (The Barber of Bagdad)
1.   Overture 00:07:25
2.   Act I: Sanfter Schlummer (Servants, Nureddin) 00:05:05
3.   Act I: So leb' ich noch! So hat noch nicht (Nureddin) 00:04:55
4.   Act I: Sei Allahs Frieden uber dir, mein Sohn (Bostana, Nureddin) 00:01:54
5.   Act I: Wenn zum Gebet (Bostana, Nureddin) 00:03:50
6.   Act I: Ach, das Leid hab' ich getragen (Nureddin) 00:03:19
7.   Act I: Mein Sohn, sei Allahs Frieden hier (Abul, Nureddin) 00:04:12
8.   Act I: Bin Akademiker (Abul, Nureddin) 00:02:46
9.   Act I: He! Ali, Sadi, Abbas, Achmet (Nureddin, Servants, Abul) 00:05:01
10.   Act I: Lass dir zu Fussen wonnesam mich liegen, o Margiana! (Abul, Nureddin) 00:03:46
11.   Act I: Mein teurer Abul, deiner Stimme Klang (Nureddin, Abul) 00:03:53
12.   Act I: So schwarmet Jugend, achtet nicht Gefahr (Abul) 00:02:41
13.   Act I: So hat der Satan dich noch immer hier (Nureddin, Abul, Servants) 00:03:40
14.   Act II: Introduction 00:02:49
15.   Act II: Er kommt! Er kommt! Er kommt! O Wonne meiner Brust! (Margiana, Bostana, Cadi) 00:05:29
16.   Act II: Allah ist gross, und Mahomet sein Prophet (First, Second and Third Muezzin, Margiana, Bostana, Cadi) 00:02:43
17.   Act II: O holdes Bild in Engelschone (Nureddin, Margiana) 00:05:39
18.   Act II: O Nureddin! Geniesse froh dein Gluck (Abul, Bostana, Nureddin, Margiana, a Slave, Voices) 00:05:07
19.   Act II: Unsel'ger Freund! Und musstest so du enden! (Abul, Cadi, Servants, Cadi's Friends, Mourning Women, People of Bagdad, 4 Officers) 00:04:13

Disc 2

Cornelius, Peter
Cornelius, Peter, lyricist(s)

  Der Barbier von Bagdad (The Barber of Bagdad)
1.   Act II: Sprich, Kadi, du bist Herr in deinem Hause (Caliph, Cadi, Abul, All, Margiana) 00:05:16
2.   Act II: He, Mustapha! Freund Mustapha, wach auf! (Cadi, Caliph, Abul, Margiana, Bostana, Chorus, Nureddin) 00:05:55
3.   Act II: Heil diesem Hause, den du trat'st ein, Salam aleikum! (Abul, All) 00:01:57

Liszt, Franz

  Cornelius - Der Barbier von Bagdad: Overture (2nd version), S352/R447
4.   Cornelius - Der Barbier von Bagdad: Overture (2nd version), S352/R447 00:07:13

Weber, Carl Maria von
Hiemer, Franz Carl, lyricist(s)

  Abu Hassan, J. 106
5.   Overture 00:03:24
6.   Liebes Weibchen, reiche Wein (Abu, Fatime) 00:02:27
7.   Was nun zu machen (Abu) 00:05:23
8.   Geld! Geld! Geld! (Chorus, Abu, Omar) 00:02:41
9.   Tranen sollst du nicht vergiessen (Fatime, Abu) 00:05:54
10.   Wird Philomena trauern (Fatime) 00:03:30
11.   Siehst du diese grosse Menge (Fatime, Omar) 00:04:12
12.   Ich such' und such' in allen Blicken (Fatime, Abu, Omar) 00:02:51
13.   Hier liegt, welch' martervolles Los (Fatime) 00:02:33
14.   Angstlich klopft es mir im Herzen (Fatime, Abu, Omar, Chorus) 00:03:18
15.   Heil ist dem Haus beschieden (Chorus) 00:00:45

Total Playing Time: 02:15:46

Cornelius, Peter; Liszt, Franz; Weber, Carl Maria von

Cornelius, Peter; Hiemer, Franz Carl

Leinsdorf, Erich; Ludwig, Leopold

Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra; Philharmonia Orchestra

Berlin Radio Symphony Chorus; Philharmonia Chorus

Bohnen, Michael; Christ, Rudolf; Czerwenka, Oscar; Gedda, Nicolai; Hoffman, Grace; Jaresch, August; Prey, Hermann; Schwarzkopf, Elisabeth; Unger, Gerhard; Wachter, Eberhard; Witte, Erich

Label: Naxos Historical

Series: Great Opera Recordings

Genre: Opera; Orchestral

Period: Classical; Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.111337-38

Barcode: 0747313333721

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States, Australia and Singapore due to possible copyright restrictions.

Physical Release: 09/2008

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Canada only:
Naxos Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
7:01:28 PM, 8 February 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.