Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MONIUSZKO, S.: Haunted Manor (The) (Paprocki, Kossowski, Kostrzewska, Poznan State Moniuszko Opera, Bierdiajew) (1953-1954)

MONIUSZKO, S.: Haunted Manor (The) (Paprocki, Kossowski, Kostrzewska, Poznan State Moniuszko Opera, Bierdiajew) (1953-1954)


About this Recording

MONIUSZKO, S.: Haunted Manor (The) (Paprocki, Kossowski, Kostrzewska, Poznan State Moniuszko Opera, Bierdiajew) (1953-1954)

Born in a small village near Minsk, Stanisław Moniuszko acquired wider musical experience in Berlin and made his name as a Polish national celebrity with his opera Halka. The Haunted Manor is generally considered to be Moniuszko’s masterpiece. In a plot thick with masculine challenges and feminine trickery, the story revolves around two brothers and the romantic complications which arise in a house cast under a spell of love. Polish opera legend Bogdan Paprocki leads a powerful cast in a vibrant performance set down in Poznań in 1953 and 1954, the first ever recording of the opera.

Disc 1

Moniuszko, Stanislaw
Checinski, Jan Konstanty, lyricist(s)

  Straszny dwor (The Haunted Manor)
1.   Act I: Intrada 00:04:25
2.   Act I: Wiec gdy sie rozstaniem, przed slonca switaniem (Zbigniew, Chorus, Stefan, Maciej) 00:10:43
3.   Act I: Ach! Pani Marto, mowcie szczerze (Maidens, Marta, Grzes) 00:02:27
4.   Act I: Cichy domku … W cieniu drzew (Stefan, Maciej, Zbigniew, Grzes) 00:07:36
5.   Act I: Witam was, witam was kochane dzieciska! (Czesnikowa, Stefan, Zbigniew) 00:08:06
6.   Act I: Biada! … Juz zebrala sie gromada! (Czesnikowa, Grzes, Zbigniew, Stefan, Chorus, Marta, Maciej) 00:06:08
7.   Act II: Spod igielek kwiaty rosna (Chorus, Jadwiga, Stara niewiasta, Hanna) 00:10:39
8.   Act II: Gdziez postawic to naczynie (Damazy, Hanna) 00:03:32
9.   Act II: Slicznie! Jak widze dziewczeta moje (Miecznik, Jadwiga, Damazy, Hanna, Chorus) 00:11:40
10.   Act II: To niespodzianka! Pani Czesnikowa (Miecznik, Czesnikowa, Damazy, Hanna, Jadwiga) 00:02:58
11.   Act II: Traf szczegolny! Prozne gniewy, prozny krzyk (Huntsmen's Chorus, Skoluba, Miecznik, Damazy, Women's Chorus) 00:02:53
12.   Act II: O drodzy goscie, jakze mi pozadany (Miecznik, Hanna, Jadwiga, Zbigniew, Stefan, Czesnikowa, Skoluba, Maciej, Huntsmen, Damazy, Maidens, Chorus) 00:07:43

Disc 2

Moniuszko, Stanislaw
Checinski, Jan Konstanty, lyricist(s)

  Straszny dwor (The Haunted Manor)
1.   Act III: Czemusmy nie wzieli swiecy (Maciej, Skoluba) 00:07:13
2.   Act III: Poszedl, zostawil mie … Niech cie piorun trzasnie! (Maciej, Hanna, Jadwiga, Zbigniew) 00:01:20
3.   Act III: Nic, nic, powiem w jednym slowie (Maciej, Stefan, Zbigniew) 00:02:46
4.   Act III: Cisza dokola, noc jasna, czyste niebo (Stefan) 00:08:02
5.   Act III: Morfeusz do mnie wcale nie przylata! (Zbigniew, Stefan) 00:13:13
6.   Act III: Tak! to Hanna i Jadwiga! (Damazy, Maciej) 00:01:40
7.   Act III: Nie, nie wypuszcze, bo zakazano (Maciej, Damazy, Zbigniew, Stefan) 00:04:42
8.   Act IV: Do grobu trwac w bezzennym stanie! (Hanna) 00:06:52
9.   Act IV: Nie zaprzeczaj, serca cierni (Miecznik, Zbigniew, Stefan) 00:00:35
10.   Act IV: Bryka zaszla na podworze (Maciej, Miecznik, Zbigniew, Stefan) 00:01:54
11.   Act IV: Coz to (Stefan, Miecznik, Maciej, Zbigniew) 00:00:50
12.   Act IV: Od terema do terema (Chorus, Miecznik, Stefan, Zbigniew, Maciej, Skoluba, Guests, Damazy) 00:10:18
13.   Act IV: Przed stoma lat (Miecznik, Chorus, Hanna, Jadwiga) 00:02:07
14.   Act IV: I nieslusznie w pani mowie (Miecznik, Stefan, Zbigniew, Hanna, Jadwiga, All) 00:01:33

Total Playing Time: 02:21:55

Moniuszko, Stanislaw

Checinski, Jan Konstanty

Bierdiajew, Walerian

Poznan State Moniuszko Opera Orchestra

Poznan State Moniuszko Opera Chorus

Didur-Zaluska, Maria; Kawecka, Antonina; Kosmala, Barbara; Kossowski, Edmund; Kostrzewska, Barbara; Kurowiak, Felicia; Lukaszek, Henryk; Marianski, Zygmunt; Mlodozeniec, Stanislaw; Paprocki, Bogdan; Peter, Radzislaw; Wozniczko, Marian

Label: Naxos Historical

Series: Great Opera Recordings

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.111391-92

Barcode: 747313339129

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States due to possible copyright restrictions. Exclusively available for streaming and download. Not available on CD.


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
3:53:56 AM, 3 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.