Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > PUCCINI, G.: Manon Lescaut [Opera] (Callas, Di Stefano, La Scala, Serafin) (1957)

PUCCINI, G.: Manon Lescaut [Opera] (Callas, Di Stefano, La Scala, Serafin) (1957)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

PUCCINI, G.: Manon Lescaut [Opera] (Callas, Di Stefano, La Scala, Serafin) (1957)

Transferred by the award-winning Mark Obert-Thorn, this 1957 recording of Manon Lescaut with Callas singing the title rôle and Di Stefano as des Grieux, was one of Callas’s last complete recordings at La Scala, Milan. Although the strain of her recent recording of Turandot (Naxos 8.111334–35) sometimes takes its toll, her command of Manon is complete. Those pages that are rarely sung accurately by other lyric sopranos, for example ‘L’ora, o Tirsi’ from Act II, Callas sings with polish and precision, executing the triplets with perfect rhythmic command.

Disc 1

Puccini, Giacomo
Illica, Luigi / Oliva, Domenico, lyricist(s)

  Manon Lescaut
1.   Act I: Ave, sera gentile (Edmondo, Students, Girls, Des Grieux) 00:05:48
2.   Act I: Tra voi, belle (Des Grieux, Edmondo, Students) 00:01:17
3.   Act I: Ma bravo! (All) 00:01:52
4.   Act I: Descendono, vediam! (Students, Girls, Edmondo, Lescaut, Innkeeper, Des Grieux, Geronte) 00:02:09
5.   Act I: Cortese damigella (Des Grieux, Manon) 00:04:14
6.   Act I: Donna non vidi mai (Des Grieux) 00:02:28
7.   Act I: La tua ventura, ci rassicura (Edmondo, Students, Girls, Geronte, Lescaut) 00:03:53
8.   Act I: Un asso! Un fante (Townspeople, Students, Lescaut, Geronte, Innkeeper, Edmondo) 00:02:25
9.   Act I: La tua Proserpina di resisterti (Edmondo, Des Grieux) 00:02:13
10.   Act I: Vedete Io son fedele alla parola mia (Manon, Des Grieux) 00:04:02
11.   Act I: Non c'e piu vino (Lescaut, Des Grieux, Manon, Edmondo) 00:01:44
12.   Act I: Di sedur la sorellina e il momento! (Geronte, Innkeeper, Edmondo, Lescaut, Students) 00:04:09
13.   Act II: Dispettosetto questo riccio! (Manon, Lescaut) 00:02:39
14.   Act II: Sei splendida e lucente! (Lescaut, Manon) 00:02:24
15.   Act II: In quelle trine morbide (Manon) 00:02:15
16.   Act II: Poiche tu voi saper … (Lescaut, Manon) 00:02:55
17.   Act II: Che ceffi son costor (Lescaut, Manon, Madrigal Singer, Singers) 00:03:32
18.   Act II: Vi prego, signorina (Dancing Master, Geronte, Manon, Gentleman, Abbes) 00:05:34
19.   Act II: L'ora, o Tirsi (Manon, Gentleman, Abbes, Geronte) 00:03:03
20.   Act II: Oh, saro la piu bella! (Manon, Des Grieux) 00:08:17
21.   Act II: Ah! … Affe, madamigella (Manon, Geronte, Des Grieux) 00:03:10
22.   Act II: Ah, Manon, mi tradisce (Des Grieux, Manon) 00:02:35
23.   Act II: Lescaut! Tu qui (Des Grieux, Manon, Lescaut, Sergeant, Geronte) 00:03:29

Disc 2

Puccini, Giacomo
Illica, Luigi / Oliva, Domenico, lyricist(s)

  Manon Lescaut
1.   Act II: Intermezzo 00:05:18
2.   Act III: Ansia eternal, crudel! (Des Grieux, Lescaut) 00:02:49
3.   Act III: Manon! Des Grieux! (Des Grieux, Manon, Lescaut) 00:01:42
4.   Act III: E Kate rispose al Re (Lamplighter, Des Grieux, Manon) 00:02:54
5.   Act III: All'armi! (Voices, Lescaut, Des Grieux, Manon, Townspeople, Sergeant, Captain) 00:01:49
6.   Act III: Rosetta! (Sergeant, Townspeople, Lescaut, Manon, Des Grieux) 00:03:56
7.   Act III: Presto! In fila! Marciate! … No! Pazzo son! Guardate! (Sergeant, Des Grieux, Townspeople, Captain) 00:03:36
8.   Act IV: Tutta su me ti posa (Des Grieux, Manon) 00:03:37
9.   Act IV: Vedi, son io che piango (Des Grieux, Manon) 00:03:51
10.   Act IV: E nulla! Nulla! (Des Grieux, Manon) 00:03:21
11.   Act IV: Sola, perduta, abbandonata (Manon) 00:04:09
12.   Act IV: Fra le tue braccia, amore (Manon, Des Grieux) 00:07:01

Puccini, Giacomo
Giacosa, Giuseppe / Illica, Luigi, lyricist(s)

  Tosca, Act I: Recondita armonia
13.   Tosca, Act I: Recondita armonia 00:03:16

Puccini, Giacomo
Civinini, Guelfo / Zangarini, Carlo, lyricist(s)

  La Fanciulla del West, Act III: Ch'ella mi creda libero e lontano
14.   La Fanciulla del West, Act III: Ch'ella mi creda libero e lontano 00:02:22

Puccini, Giacomo
Forzano, Giovacchino, lyricist(s)

  Gianni Schicchi: Avete torto … Firenze e come un albero fiorito
15.   Gianni Schicchi: Avete torto … Firenze e come un albero fiorito 00:03:19

Puccini, Giacomo
Adami, Giuseppe / Simoni, Renato, lyricist(s)

  Turandot (excerpts)
16.   Act I: Non piangere, Liu! 00:02:44
17.   Act III: Nessun dorma! 00:03:24

Total Playing Time: 02:15:15

Puccini, Giacomo

Adami, Giuseppe; Civinini, Guelfo; Forzano, Giovacchino; Giacosa, Giuseppe; Illica, Luigi; Oliva, Domenico; Simoni, Renato; Zangarini, Carlo

Erede, Alberto; Serafin, Tullio; Votto, Antonino

Milan La Scala Orchestra; Studio orchestra

Milan La Scala Chorus

Calabrese, Franco; Callas, Maria; Cossotto, Fiorenza; Di Stefano, Giuseppe; Fioravanti, Giulio; Formichini, Dino; Forti, Carlo; Morresi, Giuseppe; Ricciardi, Franco; Tattone, Vito; Ventriglia, Franco

Label: Naxos Historical

Series: Great Opera Recordings

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.112031-32

Barcode: 636943203170

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States, Australia and Singapore due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 01/2010

For Worldwide / Download:
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
12:32:50 PM, 13 July 2014
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2014 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.