Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > STRAVINSKY, I .: Firebird Suite (The) / Petrushka / Le sacre du printemps (Stravinsky) (1940-1946)

STRAVINSKY, I .: Firebird Suite (The) / Petrushka / Le sacre du printemps (Stravinsky) (1940-1946)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

STRAVINSKY, I .: Firebird Suite (The) / Petrushka / Le sacre du printemps (Stravinsky) (1940-1946)

This programme brings together the three great ballets which Stravinsky composed for Russian impresario Serge Diaghilev. These vibrantly atmospheric scores were all revised after their Parisian premières, and the 1945 version of the Firebird Suite was still brand new at the time of this recording. In what are widely considered to be the best of his commercial recordings of these works, Stravinsky the conductor brings out the expressive and vividly incisive rhythmic strengths of the Philharmonic-Symphony Orchestra of New York.

Stravinsky, Igor

  The Firebird Suite (1945 version)
1.   Ia. Introduction 00:03:03
2.   Ib. Prelude and Dance of the Firebird. Ic. Variations - Firebird 00:01:15
3.   II. Pas de deux - Firebird and Ivan Tsarevich 00:04:15
4.   III. Scherzo - Dance of the Princesses 00:02:28
5.   IV. Rondo - Khorovod 00:04:00
6.   V. Infernal Dance 00:04:13
7.   VI. Lullaby - Firebird 00:03:46
8.   VII. Final Hymn 00:03:09
  Petrushka (excerpts)
9.   Tableau 1: The Magic Trick 00:01:44
10.   Tableau 1: Russian Dance 00:02:21
11.   Tableau 2: Petrushka's Room 00:03:59
12.   Tableau 4: Wet Nurses' Dance 00:02:17
13.   Tableau 4: Peasant and Bear 00:01:07
14.   Tableau 4: Dance of the Gipsy Girls 00:00:51
15.   Tableau 4: Dance of the Coachmen and Ostlers 00:02:05
16.   Tableau 4: The Masqueraders 00:01:46
  Le sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring)
17.   Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Introduction - 00:03:02
18.   Part I: Adoration of the Earth: The Augurs of Spring - Dances of the Young Girls - 00:03:14
19.   Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Ritual of Abduction - 00:01:18
20.   Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Spring Rounds - 00:03:05
21.   Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Ritual of the River Tribes - 00:01:49
22.   Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Procession of the Sage - 00:00:36
23.   Part I: Adoration of the Earth: The Sage - 00:00:21
24.   Part I: Adoration of the Earth: Dance of the Earth 00:01:13
25.   Part II: The Sacrifice: Introduction - 00:03:58
26.   Part II: The Sacrifice: Mystic Circles of the Young Girls - 00:02:53
27.   Part II: The Sacrifice: Glorification of the Chosen One - 00:01:39
28.   Part II: The Sacrifice: Evocation of the Ancestors - 00:00:45
29.   Part II: The Sacrifice: Ritual Action of the Ancestors - 00:03:01
30.   Part II: The Sacrifice: Sacrificial Dance 00:04:32

Total Playing Time: 01:13:45

Stravinsky, Igor

Stravinsky, Igor

New York Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra

Label: Naxos Historical

Genre: Ballet; Orchestral

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.112070

Barcode: 636943207079

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 02/2012

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany:
Buy from
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
12:50:02 PM, 14 October 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.