Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > PURCELL: Indian Queen (The)

PURCELL: Indian Queen (The)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

PURCELL: Indian Queen (The)

Purcell, Henry
Dryden, John, lyricist(s)

  The Indian Queen, Z. 630
1.   First Music - First Aire 00:01:27
2.   First Music - Second Aire 00:01:05
3.   Second Music - First Aire 00:01:00
4.   Second Music - Second Aire (Hornpipe) 00:00:57
5.   Curtain Music And Overture: Overture 00:03:35
6.   Prologue and Act I: Trumpet Tune 00:00:39
7.   Act I - Solo (Boy): Wake, Quivera, Wake 00:02:24
8.   Act I - Solo (Girl): Why Should Men Quarrel 00:01:26
9.   Act I - Solo (Boy): By Ancient Prophesies 00:00:50
10.   Act I - Duet (Boy and Quivera): If These Be They 00:03:38
11.   Act I - Trumpet Tune 00:00:46
12.   Act II - The Masque of Fame and Envy: Symphony 00:04:06
13.   Act II - Solo (Fame) and Chorus: I Come to Sing 00:01:16
14.   Act II - Trio (Envy and Two Assistants): What flatt'ring noise 00:00:52
15.   Act II - Solo (Fame): Scorn'd Envy 00:00:57
16.   Act II - Solo (Envy): I Fly from the Place 00:01:16
17.   Act II - Solo (Fames): Begone, Curst Fiends of Hell 00:01:05
18.   Act II - Dance, Solo (Fame) and Chorus: I Came to Sing Great Zempolla's S 00:02:02
19.   Act III - Dance 00:00:58
20.   Act III - Solo (Ismeron): You Twice Ten Hundred Deities 00:05:01
21.   Act III - The God of Dreams Rises 00:01:11
22.   Act III - Solo (God of Dreams): Seek Not to Know 00:03:07
23.   Act III - The God of Dreams Descends 00:01:15
24.   Act III - Trumpet Overture 00:02:40
25.   Act III - Duet (Aerial Spirits): Ah! How Happy We Are 00:02:05
26.   Act III - Duet (Another Two Aerial Spirits) and Chorus: We the Spirits of the Air 00:01:35
27.   Act III - Solo (Zemoalla): I Attempt from Love's Sickness 00:03:23
28.   Act III - Third Act Tune (Rondeau) 00:02:06
29.   Act IV - Prelude and Song (Orazia): They Tell Us That Your Mighty Powers 00:06:13
30.   Act V - Symphony 00:00:33
31.   Act V - Chorus: While Thus We Bow 00:01:13
32.   Act V - Solo (High Priest) and Chorus: You, Who at the Altar Stand 00:01:17
33.   Act V - Symphony and Chorus: All Dismal Sounds 00:02:37

Purcell, Henry

  The Masque of Hymen
34.   The Last Act - Trumpet Symphony 00:00:59
35.   The Last Act - Solo (Hymen): To Bless the Genial Bed 00:01:13
36.   The Last Act - Solo (A Follower of Hymen) and Chorus: Come, All, Come at My Call 00:01:39
37.   The Last Act - Duet (Two Married People): I Am Glad I Have Met Him 00:00:43
38.   The Last Act - Solo (Hymen): Good People 00:00:32
39.   The Last Act - Duet (Two Married People): My Honey 00:01:08
40.   The Last Act - Solo (Cupid): The Joys of Wedlock 00:02:43
41.   The Last Act - Solo (One of Cupid's Followers): Sound the Trumpet 00:01:47
42.   The Last Act - Two of Cupid's Followers: Make Haste to Put on Love's Chain 00:01:08
43.   The Last Act - Trumpet Air 00:00:37
44.   The Last Act - Chorus: Let Loud Renown 00:01:31

Total Playing Time: 01:18:35

Purcell, Henry

Dryden, John

Scholars Baroque Ensemble

Label: Naxos

Genre: Opera

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: 8.553752

Barcode: 0730099475228

Physical Release: 01/1998

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
Buy from J&R
For France:
Abeille Musique
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Sweden:
Buy from Ginza
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For Sweden:
Buy from Naxos Sweden
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.K. only:
Buy from Townsend Records


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
7:54:05 PM, 28 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.