Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > TIPPETT, M.: Child of Our Time (A) (F. Robinson, S. Walker, J. Garrison, J. Cheek, City of Birmingham Symphony, Tippett)

TIPPETT, M.: Child of Our Time (A) (F. Robinson, S. Walker, J. Garrison, J. Cheek, City of Birmingham Symphony, Tippett)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

TIPPETT, M.: Child of Our Time (A) (F. Robinson, S. Walker, J. Garrison, J. Cheek, City of Birmingham Symphony, Tippett)

Tippett, Michael
Tippett, Michael, lyricist(s)

  A Child of Our Time
1.   Part 1: The world turns on its dark side (Chorus) 00:04:05
2.   Part 1: The Argument - Man has measured the heavens with a telescope (Alto) 00:02:14
3.   Part 1: Interludium - Scena - Is evil then good (Chorus and Alto) 00:04:13
4.   Part 1: The Narrator - Now in each nation there were some cast out (Bass) 00:01:18
5.   Part 1: Chorus of the Oppressed - When shall the usurers' city cease 00:02:21
6.   Part 1: I have no money for my bread (Tenor) 00:03:25
7.   Part 1: How can I cherish my man in such days (Soprano) 00:03:33
8.   Part 1: A Spiritual - Steal away (Chorus and Soli) 00:02:32
9.   Part 2: A star rises in mid - winter (Chorus) 00:03:27
10.   Part 2: The Narrator - And a time came (Bass) 00:00:19
11.   Part 2: Chorus of Persecutors and Persecuted - Away with them! (Double Chorus) 00:01:00
12.   Part 2: The Narrator - Where they could, they fled from the terror (Bass) 00:00:29
13.   Part 2: Chorus of the Self - righteous - We cannot have them in our Empire 00:00:48
14.   Part 2: The Narrator - And the boy's mother wrote a letter (Bass) 00:00:16
15.   Part 2: Scena - O my son! (Soloists) 00:01:23
16.   Part 2: A Spiritual - Nobody knows the trouble I see, Lord (Chorus and Soli) 00:01:36
17.   Part 2: Scena - The boy becomes desperate in his agony (Bass, Alto) 00:01:30
18.   Part 2: The Narrator - They took a terrible vengeance (Bass) 00:00:29
19.   Part 2: The Terror - Burn down their houses! (Chorus) 00:01:06
20.   Part 2: The Narrator - Men were ashamed of what was done (Bass) 00:00:39
21.   Part 2: A Spiritual of Anger - Go down, Moses (Chorus and Bass) 00:03:08
22.   Part 2: The boy sings in his prison - My dreams are all shattered in a ghastly reality (Tenor) 00:03:45
23.   Part 2: The Mother - What have I done to you, my son (Soprano) 00:01:36
24.   Part 2: The dark forces rise like a flood (Alto) 00:00:52
25.   Part 2: A Spiritual - O, by and by (Chorus and Soprano) 00:01:28
26.   Part 3: The cold deepens (Chorus) 00:04:20
27.   Part 3: The soul of man is impassioned like a woman (Alto) 00:02:28
28.   Part 3: Scena - The words of wisdom are these (Bass, Chorus) 00:04:55
29.   Part 3: Preludium - I would know my shadow and my light (Chorus and Soli) 00:06:32
30.   Part 3: A Spiritual - Deep river, my home is over Jordan (Chorus and Soli) 00:03:31

Total Playing Time: 01:09:18

Tippett, Michael

Tippett, Michael

Tippett, Michael

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

City of Birmingham Symphony Chorus

Cheek, John; Garrison, Jon; Halsey, Simon; Robinson, Faye; Walker, Sarah

Label: Naxos

Genre: Choral - Secular

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.557570

Barcode: 0747313257027

Physical Release: 02/2005

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
Buy from J&R
For France:
Abeille Musique
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Sweden:
Buy from Ginza
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For Sweden:
Buy from Naxos Sweden
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.K. only:
Buy from Townsend Records


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group