Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > BERNSTEIN, L.: Mass (Sykes, Wulfman, Morgan State University Choir, Peabody Children's Chorus, Baltimore Symphony, Alsop)

BERNSTEIN, L.: Mass (Sykes, Wulfman, Morgan State University Choir, Peabody Children's Chorus, Baltimore Symphony, Alsop)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
Marin Alsop's Naxos Interview
Bernstein’s Mass
– Interview with Marin Alsop
Naxos Nominations for the 52nd Grammy Awards
Gramophone Awards 2010 – Naxos and Distributed Labels’ Albums
Discovering Bartók: Marin Alsop talks to Jeremy Siepmann
Swing That Beat: Marin Alsop talks to Jeremy Siepmann
A Requiem in Reverse?: Marin Alsop talks to Jeremy Siepmann

BERNSTEIN, L.: Mass (Sykes, Wulfman, Morgan State University Choir, Peabody Children's Chorus, Baltimore Symphony, Alsop)

When Leonard Bernstein was asked by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis to compose the inaugural work for the opening of The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C., he wrote: “The Mass is also an extremely dramatic event in itself—it even suggests a theater work.” Premiered on September 8, 1971, with additional words by Stephen Schwartz of Godspell fame, Mass is a remarkable, visionary work with a kaleidoscope of musical styles that touches on themes of political protest, existential crisis and religious faith lost and found.

Disc 1

Bernstein, Leonard
Bernstein, Leonard / Mass Text / Schwartz, Stephen, lyricist(s)

1.   Devotions before Mass: Antiphon: Kyrie eleison (High Soprano, Bass, Soprano 2, Alto, Tenor, Baritone) 00:02:01
2.   Devotions before Mass: Hymn and Psalm, "A Simple Song" (Celebrant) 00:04:11
3.   Devotions before Mass: Responsory, "Alleluia" (Soprano 1, Soprano 2, Alto, Tenor, Baritone, Bass) 00:01:09
4.   First Introit: Prefatory Prayers (Street Chorus, Soprano 1, Soprano 2, Soprano, Celebrant, Boy Soprano, Boys' Choir) 00:05:00
5.   First Introit: Thrice - Triple Canon: Dominus vobiscum (Celebrant, Boys' Choir, Street Chorus) 00:00:42
6.   Second Introit: In nomine Patris (Boys' Choir, Chorus, Celebrant) 00:01:58
7.   Second Introit: Prayer for the Congregation, "Almighty Father" (Chorus) 00:01:22
8.   Second Introit: Epiphany (Celebrant) 00:00:55
9.   Confession: Confiteor (Chorus) 00:02:10
10.   Confession: Trope, "I Don't Know" (First Rock Singer and Descant, Second Rock Singer, Male Street Chorus) 00:01:41
11.   Confession: Trope, "Easy" (First Blues Singer, Second Rock Singer, Second Blues Singer, Third Rock Singer, Third Blues Singer, First Rock Singer and Descant, Celebrant, Chorus) 00:04:51
12.   Meditation No. 1 00:05:10
13.   Gloria: Gloria tibi (Celebrant, Boys' Choir) 00:01:55
14.   Gloria: Gloria in Excelsis (Chorus) 00:01:16
15.   Gloria: Trope, "Half of the People" (Street Chorus, Chorus) 00:01:00
16.   Gloria: Trope, "Thank You" (Soprano, Street Chorus) 00:02:46
17.   Meditation No. 2 00:03:39
18.   Epistle: "The Word of the Lord" (Celebrant, A Young Man, Another Young Man, Street Chorus, An Older Man, A Young Woman) 00:05:50
19.   Gospel - Sermon: "God Said" (Preacher, Street Chorus, 5 Solo Voices) 00:04:22
20.   Credo: Credo in unum Deum (Celebrant, Chorus) 00:01:08
21.   Credo: Trope: "Non Credo" (Street Chorus Male Group, Baritone) - "Crucifixus" (Chorus) 00:02:17
22.   Credo: Trope, "Hurry" (Mezzo - soprano) - Sedet ad dexteram Patris (Chorus) 00:01:20
23.   Credo: Trope, "World without End" (Street Chorus, Mezzo - soprano) - Et in Spiritum Sanctum (Chorus, 3 Solo Voices) 00:01:39
24.   Credo: Trope, "I Believe in God" (3 Solo Voices, Street Chorus, Rock Singer, Chorus) 00:02:07
25.   Meditation No. 3 (De profundis, Part 1) (Chorus, Celebrant) 00:02:31
26.   Offertory (De profundis, Part 2) (Boys' Choir, Chorus) 00:02:13

Disc 2

Bernstein, Leonard
Bernstein, Leonard / Mass Text / Schwartz, Stephen, lyricist(s)

1.   The Lord's Prayer: Our Father … (Celebrant) 00:01:18
2.   The Lord's Prayer: Trope, "I Go On" (Celebrant) 00:02:25
3.   Sanctus (Celebrant, Boys' Choir, Chorus, Counter - tenors, Street Chorus) 00:05:10
4.   Agnus Dei (Soloists of Street Chorus, Street Chorus, Celebrant, Chorus) 00:06:30
5.   Fraction: "Things Get Broken" (Celebrant) 00:14:22
6.   Pax: Communion, "Secret Songs" (Boy Soprano, Bass, Soprano 1, Soprano 2, Tenor 1, Tenor 2, Street Chorus, Celebrant, Chorus) 00:09:06

Total Playing Time: 01:44:04

Bernstein, Leonard

Bernstein, Leonard; Mass Text; Schwartz, Stephen

Alsop, Marin

Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

Morgan State University Choir; Peabody Children's Chorus

Sykes, Jubilant; Wulfman, Asher Edward

Label: Naxos

Series: American Classics

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.559622-23

Barcode: 636943962220

Physical Release: 08/2009

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Canada only:
Buy from
Buy from J&R
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
11:50:10 AM, 7 October 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.