Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MENDELSSOHN, Felix: Elias (Elijah) (Ziesak, Mahnke, Genz, Lukas, Leipzig MDR Symphony and Chorus, Markl)

MENDELSSOHN, Felix: Elias (Elijah) (Ziesak, Mahnke, Genz, Lukas, Leipzig MDR Symphony and Chorus, Markl)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
A MAN OF THE WORLD – Jeremy Siepmann talks to the conductor Jun Märkl
Jun Märkl Completes His Debussy Orchestral Cycle

MENDELSSOHN, Felix: Elias (Elijah) (Ziesak, Mahnke, Genz, Lukas, Leipzig MDR Symphony and Chorus, Markl)

Mendelssohn’s magnificent oratorio Elijah brings to life the tumultuous times and personal drama of the Biblical prophet in a sweeping series of recitatives, arias and choruses in which the composer’s Romantic genius drew deeply from the wellsprings of Bach and Handel. In this new recording, sung in German, Jun Märkl, one of the most notable conductors of his generation, leads an outstanding cast of soloists headed by Ralf Lukas, and Germany’s longest-standing radio symphony orchestra and its acclaimed choir.

Disc 1

Mendelssohn, Felix
Schubring, Julius, lyricist(s)

  Elijah, Op. 70
1.   Part I: Introduction: So wahr der Herr, der Gott Israels, lebet (Bass) 00:01:08
2.   Part I: Overture 00:03:39
3.   Part I: Hilf, Herr! Hilf, Herr! (Chorus) - Recitative: Die Tiefe ist versieget! (Chorus) 00:05:07
4.   Part I: Duet: Herr, hore unser Gebet! (Soprano, Alto, Chorus) 00:02:06
5.   Part I: Recitative: Zerreisset eure Herzen (Tenor) 00:00:39
6.   Part I: Aria: So ihr mich von ganzem Herzen suchet (Tenor) 00:02:20
7.   Part I: Aber der Herr sieht es nicht (Chorus) 00:04:31
8.   Part I: Recitative: Elias, gehe weg von hinnen (Alto) 00:00:49
9.   Part I: Double Quartet: Denn er hat seinen Engeln befohlen uber dir (Chorus) - Recitative: Nun auch der Bach vertrocknet ist (Alto) 00:04:11
10.   Part I: Recitative, Aria and Duet: Was hast du an mir getan, du Mann Gottes! (Soprano, Bass) 00:06:22
11.   Part I: Wohl dem, der den Herrn furchtet (Chorus) 00:02:38
12.   Part I: Recitative: So wahr der Herr Zebaoth lebet (Bass, Tenor, Chorus) 00:03:57
13.   Part I: Baal, erhore uns! (Chorus) 00:02:57
14.   Part I: Recitative: Rufet lauter (Bass, Chorus) 00:00:58
15.   Part I: Recitative: Rufet lauter! Er hort euch nicht! (Bass, Chorus) 00:02:03
16.   Part I: Aria: Herr Gott Abrahams, Isaaks und Israels (Bass) 00:03:29
17.   Part I: Quartet: Wirf dein Anliegen auf den Herrn (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass) 00:01:32
18.   Part I: Recitative: Der du deine Diener machst zu Geistern (Bass, Chorus) 00:03:08
19.   Part I: Aria: Ist nicht des Herrn Wort wie ein Feuer (Bass) 00:02:10
20.   Part I: Arioso: Weh ihnen, dass sie von mir weichen! (Alto) 00:03:15
21.   Part I: Recitative: Hilf deinem Volk, du Mann Gottes! (Tenor, Bass, Treble, Chorus) 00:05:54
22.   Part I: Dank sei dir, Gott (Chorus) 00:03:51

Disc 2

Mendelssohn, Felix
Schubring, Julius, lyricist(s)

  Elijah, Op. 70
1.   Part II: Aria: Hore, Israel, hore des Herrn Stimme! (Soprano) - Recitative: So spricht der Herr (Soprano) - Aria: Ich bin euer Troster (Soprano) 00:05:24
2.   Part II: Furchte dich nicht, spricht unser Gott (Chorus) 00:04:02
3.   Part II: Recitative: Der Herr hat dich erhoben aus dem Volk (Bass, Alto, Chorus) 00:03:32
4.   Part II: Wehe ihm, er muss sterben! (Chorus) 00:01:38
5.   Part II: Recitative: Du Mann Gottes (Tenor, Bass) 00:02:11
6.   Part II: Aria: Es ist genug! (Bass) 00:05:01
7.   Part II: Recitative: Siehe, er schlaft (Tenor) 00:00:41
8.   Part II: Trio: Hebe deine Augen auf zu den Bergen (Chorus) 00:01:42
9.   Part II: Siehe, der Huter Israels (Chorus) 00:03:12
10.   Part II: Recitative: Stehe auf, Elias (Alto, Bass) 00:01:40
11.   Part II: Aria: Sei stille dem Herrn und warte auf ihn (Alto) 00:03:07
12.   Part II: Wer bis ans Ende beharrt, der wird selig (Chorus) 00:03:07
13.   Part II: Recitative: Herr, es wird Nacht um mich (Bass, Soprano) 00:01:43
14.   Part II: Der Herr ging voruber (Chorus) 00:04:04
15.   Part II: Recitative: Seraphim standen uber ihm (Alto) - Quartet: Heilig, heilig, heilig ist Gott (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass, Chorus) 00:03:18
16.   Part II: Recitative: Gehe wiederum hinab! (Bass, Chorus) 00:01:30
17.   Part II: Arioso: Ja, es sollen wohl Berge weichen (Bass) 00:02:29
18.   Part II: Und der Prophet Elias brach hervor wie ein Feuer (Chorus) 00:02:48
19.   Part II: Aria: Dann werden die Gerechten leuchten (Tenor) 00:02:48
20.   Part II: Recitative: Darum ward gesendet der Prophet Elias (Soprano) 00:01:17
21.   Part II: Aber einer erwacht von Mitternacht (Chorus) 00:03:49
22.   Part II: Quartet: Wohlan, alle die ihr durstig seid (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass) 00:03:34
23.   Part II: Alsdann wird euer Licht hervorbrechen (Chorus) 00:03:17

Total Playing Time: 02:12:38

Mendelssohn, Felix

Schubring, Julius

Markl, Jun

Leipzig MDR Symphony Orchestra

Leipzig MDR Radio Choir

Genz, Christoph; Lukas, Ralf; Mahnke, Claudia; Muller, Luise; Ziesak, Ruth

Label: Naxos

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.572228-29

Barcode: 747313222872

Physical Release: 10/2010

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
3:15:50 PM, 4 September 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.