Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > TCHAIKOVSKY, B.: Andersen Fairy Tales Suites / 4 Preludes for Chamber Orchestra (Musica Viva Chamber Orchestra, Ershov)

TCHAIKOVSKY, B.: Andersen Fairy Tales Suites / 4 Preludes for Chamber Orchestra (Musica Viva Chamber Orchestra, Ershov)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

TCHAIKOVSKY, B.: Andersen Fairy Tales Suites / 4 Preludes for Chamber Orchestra (Musica Viva Chamber Orchestra, Ershov)

Boris Tchaikovsky, a pupil of Shostakovich, enjoyed a long and illustrious career. Rostropovich once remarked: ‘I consider him to be a genius…one day people will come to know that two great Russian composers bore the same name’. Four Preludes for Chamber Orchestra, originally conceived as a song cycle, which was promptly banned by the authorities, was reworked while maintaining the trenchant contradictions, beguiling wit and fleeting moods of the original. The three delightful Andersen suites derive from music composed for radio plays between 1954 and 1958 but only recovered in 2003. Tchaikovsky himself considered the music for the Andersen Fairy Tales to be one of his best incidental scores.

Tchaikovsky, Boris

  4 Preludes for Chamber Orchestra
1.   No. 1. Agitato 00:04:07
2.   No. 2. Con moto 00:02:45
3.   No. 3. Adagio 00:03:20
4.   No. 4. Semplice 00:02:25
  The Swineherd Suite
5.   I. Introduction 00:00:54
6.   II. In the Garden 00:01:32
7.   III. Minuet 00:00:56
8.   IV. The Rose 00:00:55
9.   V. The Nightingale 00:00:59
10.   VI. Jingles 00:00:32
11.   VII. The Magic Kettle 00:01:27
12.   VIII. Waltz 00:01:02
13.   IX. Polka 00:01:03
14.   X. The Ratchet 00:00:54
  Andersen Fairy Tales Suite
15.   I. The Rose - Tree 00:01:34
16.   II. The Clock 00:01:08
17.   III. The Soldier's Sailing 00:02:29
18.   IV. The Weavers 00:01:00
19.   V. The Darning - Needle's Journey 00:00:25
20.   VI. The Darning - Needle 00:00:37
21.   VII. Fanfare 00:00:51
22.   VIII. The Emperor's March 00:02:39
23.   IX. The Little Lady Dancer 00:00:40
24.   X. The Toy Ball 00:00:53
  Galoshes of Fortune Suite
25.   I. Introduction 00:01:11
26.   II. 2 Fairies 00:00:53
27.   III. Interlude 00:00:34
28.   IV. Night 00:01:22
29.   V. Revelers' Song 00:01:24
30.   VI. The Night Watchman 00:01:03
31.   VII. Voyage to the Moon 00:00:56
32.   VIII. The Moon 00:01:10
33.   IX. The Dash Back to Earth 00:00:23
34.   X. The Medical Intern 00:02:03
35.   XI. The Theatre 00:01:32
36.   XII. A Wealthy Man and His Wife 00:01:13
37.   XIII. A Lady 00:00:44
38.   XIV. A Selfish Man 00:00:31
39.   XV. An Officer 00:00:44
40.   XVI. The Bird 00:01:30
41.   XVII. The Journey 00:01:35
42.   XVIII. Tarantella 00:00:49
43.   XIX. Mourning Music 00:02:05

Total Playing Time: 00:56:49

Tchaikovsky, Boris

Ershov, Kirill

Musica Viva Chamber Orchestra

Russkaya Konservatoriya Chamber Choir Soloists

Label: Naxos

Genre: Orchestral

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.572400

Barcode: 747313240074

Physical Release: 03/2010

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
5:55:33 AM, 30 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.