Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MAYR, J.S.: Innalzamento al trono del giovane re Gioas [Oratorio] (Brown, Frey, Sellier, Burkhart, Simon Mayr Choir and Ensemble, Hauk)

MAYR, J.S.: Innalzamento al trono del giovane re Gioas [Oratorio] (Brown, Frey, Sellier, Burkhart, Simon Mayr Choir and Ensemble, Hauk)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
Sung Text

MAYR, J.S.: Innalzamento al trono del giovane re Gioas [Oratorio] (Brown, Frey, Sellier, Burkhart, Simon Mayr Choir and Ensemble, Hauk)

Bavarian-born Johann Simon Mayr achieved renown as an Italianate opera composer, his earlier work taking the form of sacred oratorios. Gioas is a combination of both forms, being a parody-oratorio closely following Mayr’s opera I misteri eleusini, which was considered by Stendhal to be “among [the] most powerful musical works of the age”. This mythical drama of kings, priests and goddesses was ideally suited for its intended devotional use, and it joins other pioneering recordings from Franz Hauk which include David (8.570366–67) and Samuele (8.572721–22).

Disc 1

Mayr, Johann Simon

  Innalzamento al trono del giovane re Gioas
1.   Sinfonia 00:05:35
2.   Part I: Introduzione: Inno: Del raggio del purissimo (Chorus) 00:04:15
3.   Part I: Recitativo: Coll'armi e l'arte in mano (Giojada) 00:00:42
4.   Part I: Cavatina: Ombre amate (Sebia) 00:03:32
5.   Part I: Recitativo: E Adrasto ancor non viene (Sebia, Adrasto) 00:03:38
6.   Part I: Recitativo accompagnato: Come soave (Adrasto) 00:00:51
7.   Part I: Aria: Cessate di piangere (Adrasto, Chorus) 00:04:56
8.   Part I: Recitativo accompagnato: Vedo di Giojada al fianco (Sebia) 00:02:36
9.   Part I: Cavatina: Sommo clemente Dio (Sebia) 00:03:55
10.   Part I: Recitativo: E da tuo duol (Giojada, Sebia, Gioas) 00:01:52
11.   Part I: Recitativo accompagnato: Tu mi rammenti quei giorni fortunati (Sebia, Gioas) 00:01:25
12.   Part I: Duetto: Figlio mio (Sebia, Gioas) 00:05:41
13.   Part I: Recitativo: Che vidi (Giojada) 00:00:35
14.   Part I: Aria: Spesso in tacer si fugge (Giojada) 00:04:45
15.   Part I: Recitativo: Signore, Dimmi Adrasto dov'e (Sebia, Giojada) 00:01:57
16.   Part I: Finale: Recitativo accompagnato: Qual timor, qual rispetto (Adrasto, Gioas) 00:03:54
17.   Part I: Finale: L'arcano impenetrabile (Chorus) 00:01:42
18.   Part I: Finale: Recitativo: Adrasto, a te commessa (Giojada, Adrasto) 00:00:36
19.   Part I: Finale: Aria: Nume benefico (Gioas, Adrasto, Giojada, Chorus) 00:03:02
20.   Part I: Finale: Scena: Pieta, pieta (Gioas, Adrasto, Chorus) 00:00:45
21.   Part I: Finale: Duettino: Giusto ciel (Adrasto, Gioas) 00:01:14
22.   Part I: Finale: Qual fragor! (All) 00:06:04

Disc 2

Mayr, Johann Simon

  Innalzamento al trono del giovane re Gioas
1.   Part II: Recitativo: Per mano ostile (Adrasto, Sebia, Gioas) 00:01:41
2.   Part II: Recitativo accompagnato: M'odi (Gioas, Sebia) 00:00:47
3.   Part II: Duetto: Sei di pietade indegno (Sebia, Gioas) 00:04:10
4.   Part II: Recitativo: Fidi Leviti intorno al sacro altare (Giojada) 00:00:23
5.   Part II: Recitativo accompagnato: Ecco il sasso feral (Adrasto) 00:02:04
6.   Part II: Aria: Confusa quest'alma (Adrasto) 00:01:54
7.   Part II: Recitativo accompagnato: Dal Sacerdote (Gioas) 00:00:58
8.   Part II: Aria: Desolata genitrice (Gioas) 00:04:19
9.   Part II: Recitativo accompagnato: Questo no, non m'inganno (Sebia) 00:04:27
10.   Part II: Aria: Non tradirmi in quest'istante (Sebia, Giojada, Chorus) 00:05:34
11.   Part II: Recitativo: Dal delirar hai tu cessato ancora (Giojada, Sebia) 00:01:04
12.   Part II: Aria: Il mortal s'attenta invano (Giojada) 00:03:35
13.   Part II: Recitativo: Hai risoluto (Sebia, Adrasto) 00:00:27
14.   Part II: Terzetto: Dopo si barbare, si rie vicende (Gioas, Adrasto, Sebia) 00:01:08
15.   Part II: Recitativo: Sebia non mi fuggir (Giojada, Sebia) 00:01:47
16.   Part II: Quartetto: Ferma (Sebia, Giojada, Gioas, Adrasto, Chorus) 00:02:33
17.   Part II: Aria: Lasciatemi, inumani (Adrasto, Gioas, Chorus) 00:03:05
18.   Part II: Marcia 00:01:49
19.   Part II: I pianti scendano (Chorus) 00:01:44
20.   Part II: Recitativo: Cessi ogni timor (Giojada) 00:00:30
21.   Part II: Recitativo accompagnato: Dopo tante vicende (Giojada) 00:00:55
22.   Part II: Finale: Noi prostesi al Regio Trono (All) 00:02:59

Total Playing Time: 01:51:25

Mayr, Johann Simon

Hauk, Franz

Simon Mayr Ensemble

Bavarian State Opera Chorus; Simon Mayr Choir

Brown, Andrea Lauren; Burkhart, Andreas; Frey, Cornel; Hauk, Franz; Sellier, Robert

Label: Naxos

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Classical

Catalogue No: 8.572710-11

Barcode: 747313271078

Physical Release: 09/2012

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
7:05:49 AM, 6 February 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.