Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > LOCKE, M.: Broken Consort (The), Part I / Tripla Concordia: Suites in G Major and E Minor (Wayward Sisters)

LOCKE, M.: Broken Consort (The), Part I / Tripla Concordia: Suites in G Major and E Minor (Wayward Sisters)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

LOCKE, M.: Broken Consort (The), Part I / Tripla Concordia: Suites in G Major and E Minor (Wayward Sisters)

Matthew Locke was the most prominent English musician of the generation before Purcell, occupying a unique place between the Renaissance consort tradition and Baroque chamber music. The Broken Consort refers to a group with mixed instruments, and Locke’s pieces entertained royalty with their ambitiously chromatic tonal language and rhythmic quirkiness. The Composer to the Private Musick was never happier than with surprisingly angular melodies and dramatic gestures ‘into the theatricall way’. This recording is the début release of Wayward Sisters, winners of the 2011 Early Music America/Naxos Recording Competition.

Locke, Matthew

  Tripla concordia: Suite in G Major
1.   I. Prelude 00:01:22
2.   II. Fancy 00:01:53
3.   III. Chiconae 00:00:50
4.   IV. Aire 00:01:08
5.   V. Hornpipe 00:00:50
6.   VI. Gavat 00:00:59
7.   VII. Corant 00:01:17
8.   VIII. Country Dance 00:01:04
  The Broken Consort, Part I: Suite No. 1 in G Minor
9.   I. Fantazie 00:04:11
10.   II. Courante 00:01:23
11.   III. Ayre 00:02:20
12.   IV. Saraband 00:00:34
  The Broken Consort, Part I: Suite No. 2 in G Major
13.   I. Fantasia 00:02:30
14.   II. Courante 00:01:18
15.   III. Ayre 00:02:25
16.   IV. Saraband 00:01:08
  The Broken Consort, Part I: Suite No. 3 in C Major
17.   I. Fantazie 00:03:41
18.   II. Courante 00:01:30
19.   III. Ayre 00:01:52
20.   IV. Saraband 00:00:44
  The Broken Consort, Part I: Suite No. 4 in C Major
21.   I. Fantazie 00:02:00
22.   II. Courante 00:01:17
23.   III. Ayre 00:03:05
24.   IV. Saraband 00:00:40
  The Broken Consort, Part I: Suite No. 5 in D Minor
25.   I. Fantazie 00:03:04
26.   II. Courante 00:01:33
27.   III. Ayre 00:02:13
28.   IV. Saraband 00:00:55
  The Broken Consort, Part I: Suite No. 6 in D Major
29.   I. Fantazie 00:02:58
30.   II. Courante 00:02:01
31.   III. Ayre 00:02:03
32.   IV. Saraband 00:01:25
  Tripla concordia: Suite in E Minor
33.   I. Introduction 00:01:25
34.   II. Saraband 00:01:22
35.   III. Aire 00:00:48
36.   IV. Country Dance 00:01:04
37.   V. Gavat 00:01:10
38.   VI. Saraband 00:01:24
39.   VII. Fancy 00:02:12
40.   VIII. Jigge 00:01:54

Total Playing Time: 01:07:32

Locke, Matthew

Wayward Sisters

Label: Naxos

Series: Early Music Collection

Genre: Chamber Music

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: 8.573020

Barcode: 747313302079

Physical Release: 03/2014

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
8:52:25 AM, 26 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.