Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > PACIUS: Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys (The Hunt of King Charles)

PACIUS: Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys (The Hunt of King Charles)


About this Recording

PACIUS: Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys (The Hunt of King Charles)

Disc 1

Pacius, Fredrik
Topelius, Zacharias, lyricist(s)

  Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys (The Hunt of King Charles)
1.   Act I, Scene 1: Overture 00:06:48
2.   Act I, Scene 1: Huntsmen's Chorus: Halloo! Kautta synkean metsamaan (Hello! In the dark green woodland) (Chorus) 00:02:29
3.   Act I, Scene 1: Quintet: Kas niin, nyt veikot, pyssyt syrjahan (Well met, my friends, now put your rifles down) (Gyllenstjerna) 00:03:09
4.   Act I, Scene 1: Drinking Song: Juo, nauti, haavehet luo! (Drink, enjoy!) (Gyllenstjerna) 00:02:02
5.   Act I, Scene 1: Dialogue: Kuninkaan malja! (I toast the King!) (Gyllenstjerna) 00:00:26
6.   Act I, Scene 1: Quintet: Niin, marski tuuma hurja! (As Marshal and most demanding!) (Wachtmeister) 00:04:59
7.   Act I, Scene 2: Duet of two ladies - in - waiting: Tuoll' kukkuu kaki! (The cuckoo sings!) (1. hovineiti) 00:05:39
8.   Act I, Scene 3: Dialogue: Kuningas viipyy viela (The King is not coming yet) (Kuningatar) 00:00:40
9.   Act I, Scene 3: Ensemble: Min kauhean nain turmatyon! (Oh, what a shameful crime!) (Reutercrantz) 00:07:34
10.   Act I, Scene 4: Dialogue: Min' oot nakoinen! (My child) (Kuningatar) 00:00:56
11.   Act I, Scene 5: Dialogue: Aitinsa kera tuoll' kay pienoinen (There goes he with his mother, little brat) (Gyllenstjerna) 00:00:27
12.   Act I, Scene 5: Recitative and Aria: Nyt on han mun! (Now he is mine!) (Gyllenstjerna) 00:02:36
13.   Act I, Scene 5: Dialogue: Oletko yksin (Are you alone) (Kuningas) 00:01:54
14.   Act I, Scene 6: Target - shooting Chorus: Kilvan nyt koittaa voimme, ken voittaa! (Come, we shall try it, Marksmen will share it!) (Chorus) 00:06:20
15.   Act II, Scene 1: Ballad: Ja nuori merenneito han suvi - illalla (A mermaid in the ocean did roam summer night) (Leonora) 00:06:48
16.   Act II, Scene 1: Dialogue: Aina muistelen tuot pikku kuningasta (It makes me think about the little King) (Leonora) 00:00:29
17.   Act II, Scene 2: Duet: Laps kaunis, ehtoota! (Good evening, good child!) (Reutercrantz) 00:05:02
18.   Act II, Scene 3: Duet: Kay kanssain armas, kay pois (Come my beloved, you must flee) (Leonora) 00:06:16
19.   Act II, Scene 3: Dialogue: Pakene, Jonathan! (Flee, Jonathan!) (Leonora) 00:00:10

Disc 2

Pacius, Fredrik
Topelius, Zacharias, lyricist(s)

  Kaarle Kuninkaan Metsastys (The Hunt of King Charles)
1.   Act II, Scene 4: Dialogue: Vaan sano kuinka mahti meille paatyy (So tell us, how shall we achieve this task) (Baner) 00:06:07
2.   Act II, Scene 5: Aria: Oi yon kaukomaista taivon silma paista (O Moon, you silvery noble maiden) (Leonora) 00:09:49
3.   Act II, Scene 6: Dialogue: On kelpo tuuli, meri vaahtoilee (A bracing wind, and the sea is whipping white) (Kalastaja - akka) 00:00:42
4.   Act II, Scene 6: Shanty and Chorus: Se miesi kehnoks' sanotaan (A scurvy tar is such a man) (Jonathan) 00:03:51
5.   Act II, Scene 7: Dialogue: Kiitos teille! (My thanks to thee! That was a jolly tune!) (Reutercrantz) 00:00:20
6.   Act II, Scene 7: Finale: Kuin Jonathan (What Jonathan) (Reutercrantz) 00:05:52
7.   Act III, Scene 1: Chorus of the Market - people: Hei, nyt naurut soivat (Come, rejoice in pleasure) (Chorus) 00:05:13
8.   Act III, Scene 1: Kaappiin tanne katschokaat (Who would see my cabinet) (1. silmankaantaja) 00:05:37
9.   Act III, Scene 2: Dialogue: Tottako, etta Jonathan Foglosta (Is it true, that Jonathan of Foglo is doomed to die) (1. tytto) 00:00:31
10.   Act III, Scene 2 - 3: Couplet and Dialogue: Kuningas, nyt sen kuulet (A King, hear me, a King, I truly tell thee) (2. tytto) 00:02:44
11.   Act III, Scene 4: Dialogue: Anteeksi, olette liian kaino viela (Forgive me, but I think you are too shy) (Gyllenstjerna) 00:00:38
12.   Act III, Scene 5: Roundelay: Ja tahdotte tietaa, ja nahdakin kenties (And would you now learn it) (Chorus) 00:02:37
13.   Act III, Scene 5: Dialogue and Chorus: Petosta! (Treason!) (Kuningas) 00:03:26
14.   Act III, Scene 6: Dialogue: Takaisin, taikka oitis ammun sua! (Stop, or I will shoot!) (Leonora) 00:00:20
15.   Act III, Scene 7 - 8: Trio and Chorus: Armahin tytto hempea! (Maiden so sweet and comely) (Gyllenstjerna) 00:04:54
16.   Act III, Scene 9: Dialogue: Kaarle! (My Charles!) (Kuningatar) 00:01:30
17.   Act III, Scene 10: Dialogue: Nyt palkan saakoon uskollinen kansa! (Our faithful folk shall now be well rewarded) (Kuningas) 00:00:28
18.   Act III, Scene 10: Ballad: Ja meren nuori impi (The mermaid of the ocean, she smiled and softly said) (Leonora) 00:02:10
19.   Act III, Scene 10: Dialogue: Vapaasti valita saat, mita mielit (You must be free to choose) (Kuningas) 00:00:40
20.   Act III, Scene 10: Finale: Armonsa taa lain kuolon kalvan estaa (Praises we sing) (Chorus) 00:01:23
21.   Act III, Scene 11: Scene: Ties outo huhu uskomaton (We heard a rumour that the King had been captured by bandits) (Horn) 00:02:06
22.   Act III, Scene 11: Hymn: Nyt kauaksi Suomi jaada saa (Though now we depart from Finland's shore) (Chorus) 00:02:58

Total Playing Time: 02:08:40

Pacius, Fredrik

Topelius, Zacharias

Rasilainen, Ari

Pori Sinfonietta

Palmgren Conservatory Ensemble

Porin Opera Chorus

Aalto, Tero; Ahola, Niina; Heinikari, Matti; Kahkonen, Pekka; Kattelus, Kristiina; Nuorsaari, Heikki; Orama, Heikki; Pitkanen, Kai; Saarman, Jukka; Sundqvist, Janne; Vesanto, Mauri

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660122-23

Barcode: 0730099612227

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
8:31:30 AM, 10 October 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.