Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MEYERBEER: Semiramide

MEYERBEER: Semiramide


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

MEYERBEER: Semiramide

Meyerbeer is probably best remembered for his contributions to French grand opera in Les Huguenots, Le prophète and L’Africaine. Semiramide is an early work dealing with legends of the earlier part of the life of Semiramis, Queen of Babylon. The plot is one of some confusion, incorporating a multiplicity of disguises, where brother does not recognise sister, and the heroine of the title masquerades as her own son. Musically the opera is a brilliant composition, an impressive example of the Italian style, with a strong Rossinian feel.

Disc 1

Meyerbeer, Giacomo
Rossi, Gaetano, lyricist(s)

1.   Act I: Sinfonia 00:05:58
2.   Act I: Introduction and Recitative: Dall'Olimpo a noi scendete (Chorus, Sibari, Semiramide, Tamiri) 00:03:19
3.   Act I: March 00:00:52
4.   Act I: Scene: Dalla Sarmazia sede discendo al grande invito (Ircano, Mirteo, Semiramide, Scitalce, Tamiri, Chorus) 00:05:56
5.   Act I: Recitative: Sogno o son desto (Scitalce, Ircano, Tamiri, Semiramide, Sibari) 00:02:13
6.   Act I: Cavatina: Sperai su questa sponda trovare il mio riposo (Scitalce) 00:04:20
7.   Act I: Recitative: Signor, perdona se con nome d'amico (Sibari, Scitalce, Tamiri, Semiramide) 00:01:48
8.   Act I: Recitative: Siam soli, or parlera (Semiramide, Scitalce) 00:02:47
9.   Act I: Duet: Ella e la fiamma mia. Adoro il suo sembiante (Scitalce, Semiramide) 00:07:54
10.   Act I: Recitative: La scaltrezza che val (Sibari, Tamiri, Semiramide, Mirteo, Ircano) 00:02:11
11.   Act I: Recitative and Aria: Mi vedrai con quest'acciaro (Ircano, Sibari) 00:05:36
12.   Act I: Recitative: Egli morra, fidati a me (Sibari, Ircano, Semiramide, Scitalce) 00:01:18
13.   Act I: Recitative and Canzonetta con variazioni: Più non si tardi (Semiramide, Chorus) 00:04:49
14.   Act I: Finale: In lucido cristallo aureo liquore (Tutti, Chorus) 00:06:09
15.   Act I: Finale: Di gioia, di pace, la bella speranza (Tutti, Chorus) 00:08:22
16.   Act I: Finale: Ah balena, minaccia sdegnato (Tutti, Chorus) 00:02:51

Disc 2

Meyerbeer, Giacomo
Rossi, Gaetano, lyricist(s)

1.   Act II: Recitative: Mirteo non lusingarti: io ben conosco (Tamiri, Mirteo) 00:00:47
2.   Act II: Aria: D'un genio che m'accende tu vuoi ragion da me (Tamiri) 00:02:37
3.   Act II: Recitative: Vieni Sibari… E dove (Ircano, Sibari, Tamiri, Semiramide, Scitalce) 00:02:54
4.   Act II: Recitative and Duet: Barbaro, non dolerti, hai tempo ancora (Semiramide, Scitalce) 00:05:12
5.   Act II: Recitative: Cedi il ferro, o t'uccido (Mirteo, Ircano) 00:00:22
6.   Act II: Recitative and Aria: Io prigioniero… Si, fremi traditor (Ircano, Mirteo, Chorus) 00:05:03
7.   Act II: Recitative: Quanto ti deggio amico (Mirteo, Sibari) 00:01:02
8.   Act II: Aria: Ah più soffrir non voglio quel temerario orgoglio (Mirteo) 00:02:15
9.   Act II: Recitative: Nol voglio udir. Da questa reggia (Semiramide) 00:00:21
10.   Act II: Recitative and Duet: Io partir Chi l'impone (Ircano, Semiramide) 00:08:36
11.   Act II: Recitative: Ove s'asconde Che fa Scitalce (Mirteo, Semiramide, Scitalce) 00:02:22
12.   Act II: Scene and Rondo: Mirteo, per quanto io tardi (Scitalce, Mirteo, Chorus) 00:06:20
13.   Act II: Recitative: A forza io passero, vo' del cimento (Ircano, Semiramide, Sibari, Tamiri, Mirteo, Scitalce) 00:02:57
14.   Act II: Scene: Taci. E tempo d'ardir. Popoli, e vero (Semiramide) 00:02:02
15.   Act II: Rondo: Se non nacqui al miglior sesso (Semiramide, Chorus, Mirteo, Scitalce, Ircano, Tamiri) 00:10:53
16.   Act II: Recitative: Oh Dio! Tamiri (Scitalce, Tamiri, Mirteo) 00:00:31
17.   Act II: Finale: Soavi accenti, novi contenti (Tutti, Chorus) 00:04:58

Total Playing Time: 02:05:35

Meyerbeer, Giacomo

Rossi, Gaetano

Bonynge, Richard

Wurttemberg Philharmonic Orchestra

Altensteig Rossini Choir

Adami, Filippo; Bellei, Marco; Gierlach, Wojtek; Janes, Fiona; Kalmbach, Hans-Jorg; Peretyatko, Olga; Riedel, Deborah; Silva, Leonardo; Wurster, Matthias

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660205-06

Barcode: 730099620529

Physical Release: 06/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Germany only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
Buy from J&R
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group