Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > VIVALDI: Griselda

VIVALDI: Griselda


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
Visit the Aradia Ensemble YouTube channel
Handel With Care: Kevin Mallon talks to Jeremy Siepmann

VIVALDI: Griselda

Vivaldi’s Griselda, one of more than twenty operas, is based on a story retold in Boccaccio’s Il decamerone about the testing of Griselda’s patience and virtue by her royal husband through a series of cruel trials. The sense of drama that permeates many of Vivaldi’s more programmatic works, such as the Four Seasons, is very naturally carried over into his operas, especially with the use of so-called ‘simile’ arias, in which an emotional state is compared with various natural phenomena. Several very fine examples can be heard in Griselda, including Costanza’s extraordinary ‘Agitata da due venti’ in Act Two; the text compares love and duty with two contrary winds, and the setting is correspondingly wild, with fierce fioriture and wide leaps.

Disc 1

Vivaldi, Antonio
Goldoni, Carlo / Zeno, Apostolo, lyricist(s)

  Griselda, RV 718
1.   Sinfonia 00:04:54
2.   Act I: Recitative: Questo, o Popoli, e il giorno (Gualtiero) 00:00:59
3.   Act I: Recitative: Eccoti, Sire innanzi (Griselda, Gualtiero) 00:05:27
4.   Act I: Recitative: Signor, or' ora al Porto (Ottone, Griselda, Gualtiero) - Aria: Se ria procella (Gualtiero) 00:07:44
5.   Act I: Recitative: Ecco il tempo, in cui l'alma (Griselda, Ottone) 00:02:13
6.   Act I: Aria: Brami le mie catene (Griselda) 00:03:13
7.   Act I: Recitative: Troppo avvezza e Griselda (Ottone) - Aria: Vede orgogliosa l'onda (Ottone) 00:07:48
8.   Act I: Recitative: Costanza, eccoti in porto (Roberto, Costanza) 00:03:11
9.   Act I: Recitative: L'arcano in te racchiudi (Gualtiero, Corrado, Costanza, Roberto) 00:01:44
10.   Act I: Aria: Ritorna a lusingarmi (Costanza) 00:06:37
11.   Act I: Recitative: German, s'avevi a tormi (Roberto, Corrado) 00:01:29
12.   Act I: Aria: Estinguere vorrei (Roberto) 00:06:22
13.   Act I: Recitative: Infelice Roberto ancor non sa - Misera in quante guise - Ecco, Griselda, il Figlio… (Corrado, Griselda, Ottone) 00:03:39
14.   Act I: Aria: Alle minaccie di fiera belva (Corrado) 00:05:02
15.   Act I: Recitative: Infelice Griselda - Aria: Ho il cor gia lacero (Griselda) 00:04:53

Disc 2

Vivaldi, Antonio
Goldoni, Carlo / Zeno, Apostolo, lyricist(s)

  Griselda, RV 718
1.   Act II: Recitative: Dimmi, come amorosa (Corrado, Costanza) 00:01:20
2.   Act II: Aria: La rondinella amante (Corrado) 00:03:58
3.   Act II: Recitative: Pria, che d'amar ti lasci (Costanza, Roberto) 00:01:32
4.   Act II: Aria: Agitata da due venti (Costanza) 00:06:08
5.   Act II: Recitative: E nel cuor di Costanza (Roberto) - Aria: Dal Tribunal d'amore (Roberto) 00:06:40
6.   Act II: Recitative: Andiam, Griselda andiamo (Griselda) 00:00:42
7.   Act II: Recitative: Ferma Griselda - Oh d'un seno infelice - Si deluda l'indegno (Corrado, Ottone, Griselda) 00:06:18
8.   Act II: Aria: No, non tanta crudelta (Griselda) 00:03:44
9.   Act II: Recitative: Sprezzami quanto sai - Perdonami Griselda (Ottone, Corrado) 00:01:04
10.   Act II: Aria: Scocca dardi l'altero tuo Ciglio (Ottone) 00:08:16
11.   Act II: Recitative: Fuggi: Perche (Costanza, Roberto) - Aria: Che legge tiranna (Roberto) 00:03:39
12.   Act II: Recitative: Sola se ben mi lasci (Costanza, Griselda) 00:02:51
13.   Act II: Recitative: De' tuoi bei sguardi, o cara (Gualtiero, Costanza, Griselda) 00:01:48
14.   Act II: Recitative: Avvisato, che Otton (Corrado, Gualtiero, Costanza, Griselda) - Aria: Tu vorresti col tuo pianto (Gualtiero) 00:08:28
15.   Act II: Recitative: Ecco Otton - L'impone il Re (Gualtiero, Ottone, Griselda) 00:01:51
16.   Act II: Recitative: Qual grazie posso - Terzetto: Non piu Regina, ma pastorella (Griselda, Gualtiero, Costanza) 00:06:03

Disc 3

Vivaldi, Antonio
Goldoni, Carlo / Zeno, Apostolo, lyricist(s)

  Griselda, RV 718
1.   Act III: Recitative: Risoluta e quest'alma - E per sempre v'unisca - Griselda, Il Re! (Roberto, Costanza, Griselda, Corrado, Gualtiero) 00:05:56
2.   Act III: Aria: Son infelice tanto (Griselda) 00:03:20
3.   Act III: Recitative: Temo: Pavento (Roberto, Costanza, Gualtiero, Corrado) - Aria: Moribonda quest'alma dolente (Roberto) 00:05:40
4.   Act III: Recitative: Passo, Roberto amar (Costanza) - Aria: Ombre vane, ingiusti orrori (Costanza) 00:06:56
5.   Act III: Recitative: L'empio s'ascolti (Gualtiero, Ottone) - Aria: Dopo un'orrida procella (Ottone) 00:07:04
6.   Act III: Recitative: Soffri Griselda ancora (Gualtiero) - Aria: Sento che l'alma teme (Gualtiero) 00:03:27
7.   Act III: Recitative: Ministri accelerate (Griselda) 00:00:42
8.   Act III: Recitative: Griselda: altro non manca (Tutti) 00:05:30
9.   Act III: Imeneo, che se' d'amore (Chorus) 00:00:54

Total Playing Time: 02:49:06

Vivaldi, Antonio

Goldoni, Carlo; Zeno, Apostolo

Mallon, Kevin

Aradia Ensemble

Ainsworth, Colin; Huhtanen, Carla; McMurtry, Lynne; Nedecky, Jason; Newman, Marion; Tomkins, Giles

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: 8.660211-13

Barcode: 0730099621120

Physical Release: 01/2008

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
Buy from J&R
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For Germany only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
12:51:06 AM, 8 July 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.