Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > ROSSINI: Donna del lago (La)

ROSSINI: Donna del lago (La)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

ROSSINI: Donna del lago (La)

First staged in Naples in 1819, Rossini’s opera La donna del lago is based on Walter Scott’s romantic poem The Lady of the Lake, setting a precedent for later composers, who also drew on Scott for their plots. Set in exotic 16th-century Scotland, the opera deals with the conflict between the Highland clansmen under Douglas and King James V, who generously forgives his enemy and allows the betrothal of his beloved Ellen, Douglas’s daughter, to his former enemy, Malcolm.

Disc 1

Rossini, Gioachino
Tottola, Andrea Leone, lyricist(s)

  La donna del lago (The Lady of the Lake)
1.   Act I: Sinfonia - Introduction: Del di la messaggiera (Pastori, Pastorelle, Cacciatori) 00:04:55
2.   Act I: Oh mattutini albori! (Elena) 00:04:06
3.   Act I: Qual suon! Sull'alta rocca (Elena, Uberto) 00:03:06
4.   Act I: Scendi nel piccol legno (Elena, Uberto) 00:03:22
5.   Act I: Uberto! Ah! Dove ti ascondi (Cacciatori) 00:04:27
6.   Act I: Sei gia nel tetto mio (Elena, Uberto) 00:03:50
7.   Act I: D'inibaca, donzella (Le compagne, Elena, Uberto) 00:03:14
8.   Act I: Sei gia sposa (Uberto, Elena) 00:02:14
9.   Act I: Quali accenti! Quai tormenti! (Uberto, Elena) 00:02:23
10.   Act I: Ma son sorpreso (Uberto, Elena, Le compagne) 00:05:14
11.   Act I: Mura felici (Malcolm) 00:02:30
12.   Act I: Elena! Oh tu, che chiamo! (Malcolm) 00:03:29
13.   Act I: Oh quante lacrime (Malcolm) 00:03:25
14.   Act I: Figlia, e cosi (Douglas, Malcolm, Elena) 00:02:12
15.   Act I: Taci, lo voglio, e basti (Douglas) 00:04:13
16.   Act I: E nel fatal conflitto (Elena, Malcolm) 00:01:35
17.   Act I: Viver io non potro (Elena, Malcolm) 00:03:44
18.   Act I: Qual rapido torrente (Guerrieri, Rodrigo) 00:06:21
19.   Act I: Ma dov'e colei, che accende (Rodrigo, Guerrieri) 00:02:59
20.   Act I: Se a' miei voti Amor sorride (Rodrigo, Guerrieri) 00:02:29
21.   Act I: Alfin mi e dato, amico (Douglas, Rodrigo) 00:01:30
22.   Act I: Vieni, o stella (Guerrieri) 00:02:12

Disc 2

Rossini, Gioachino
Tottola, Andrea Leone, lyricist(s)

  La donna del lago (The Lady of the Lake)
1.   Act I: Quanto a quest'alma amante (Rodrigo, Douglas, Elena) 00:04:42
2.   Act I: La mia spada (Malcolm, Elena, Douglas) 00:01:33
3.   Act I: Questo amplesso, a te fia pegno (Rodrigo, Malcolm, Douglas, Elena) 00:01:48
4.   Act I: Crudele sospetto (Rodrigo, Elena, Malcolm, Douglas, Albina, Donne, Guerrieri) 00:02:14
5.   Act I: Sul colle a Morve opposto (Serano, Donne, GUerrieri, Douglas, Rodrigo, Malcolm) 00:02:02
6.   Act I: Gia un raggio forier (Bardi, Albina, Donne, Guerrieri, Rodrigo, Douglas) 00:03:01
7.   Act I: Su… amici! Guerrieri! (Malcolm, Rodrigo, Douglas, Guerrieri, Albina, Elena, Donne) 00:02:13
8.   Act II: Oh fiamma soave (Uberto) 00:08:30
9.   Act II: Va', non temer (Elena, Serano, Uberto) 00:01:46
10.   Act II: Alla ragion deh! Rieda (Elena, Uberto) 00:04:33
11.   Act II: Nume! Se a' miei sospiri (Elena, Uberto) 00:03:44
12.   Act II: Qual pena in me gia desta (Elena, Uberto, Rodrigo) 00:01:29
13.   Act II: Parla… Chi sei (Rodrigo, Elena, Uberto, Guerrieri) 00:07:09
14.   Act II: Quante sciagure in un sol giorno (Albina, Malcolm, Serano) 00:04:14
15.   Act II: Ah! si pera: ormai la morte (Malcolm) 00:04:14
16.   Act II: Douglas! Douglas! Ti salva! (Guerrieri, Albina, Serano, Malcolm) 00:03:23
17.   Act II: Reggia, ove nacqui (Elena) 00:00:56
18.   Act II: Che sento! (Elena, Giacomo) 00:01:46
19.   Act II: Stelle! Sembra! Egli stesso! (Elena, Giacomo) 00:01:33
20.   Act II: Imponga il Re (Chorus) 00:01:45
21.   Act II: Ah! Che vedo! (Elena, Giacomo, Malcolm) 00:02:37
22.   Act II: Tanti affetti in un momento (Elena, Tutti with Chorus) 00:03:58
23.   Act II: Fra il padre, e fra l'amante (Elena, Tutti) 00:04:18

Total Playing Time: 02:26:58

Rossini, Gioachino

Tottola, Andrea Leone

Zedda, Alberto

South West German Radio Kaiserslautern Orchestra

Tubingen Festival Band

Prague Chamber Chorus

Bothmer, Ferdinand von; Cifolelli, Stefan; Ganassi, Sonia; Gierlach, Wojtek; Mironov, Maxim; Peretyatko, Olga; Pizzolato, Marianna

Label: Naxos

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660235-36

Barcode: 0730099623520

Physical Release: 01/2008

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
Buy from J&R
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For Germany only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
8:45:52 PM, 5 September 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.