Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MOZART, W.A.: Idomeneo (Streit, Gulin, Tamar, San Carlo Theatre Chorus and Orchestra, Guidarini)

MOZART, W.A.: Idomeneo (Streit, Gulin, Tamar, San Carlo Theatre Chorus and Orchestra, Guidarini)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

MOZART, W.A.: Idomeneo (Streit, Gulin, Tamar, San Carlo Theatre Chorus and Orchestra, Guidarini)

The notable musicologist Alfred Einstein commented that Idomeneo is ‘one of those works that even a genius of highest rank, like Mozart, could write only once in his life’. Every page of the score deserves appreciation. Of the many exceptional arias and ensembles, especially notable is the third act quartet ‘Andrò ramingo e solo’, one of the most moving concerted numbers in any Mozart opera. This recording is based on the original 1781 Munich version, without the extended ballet but including some music cut by Mozart before the première.

Disc 1

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Varesco, Giovanni Battista, lyricist(s)

  Idomeneo re di Creta, K. 366
1.   Overture 00:04:29
2.   Act I Scene 1: Quando avran fine omai l'aspre sventure mie (Ilia) 00:03:49
3.   Act I Scene 1: Padre, germani, addio (Ilia) 00:03:25
4.   Act I Scene 1: Ecco Idamante, ahime! (Ilia) 00:02:27
5.   Act I Scene 1: Non ho colpa, e mi condanni (Idamante) 00:06:19
6.   Act I Scene 1: Ecco il misero resto de' Troiani (Ilia, Idamante) 00:00:38
7.   Act I Scene 1: Godiam la pace, trionfi amore (Chorus of Trojans and Cretans, 2 Cretan Women, 2 Trojan Men) 00:02:30
8.   Act I Scene 1: Prence, signor, tutta la Grecia oltraggi (Elettra, Idamante, Arbace, Ilia) 00:04:11
9.   Act I Scene 1: Tutte nel cor vi sento (Elettra) 00:03:30
10.   Act I Scene 2: Pieta! Numi, pieta! (Chorus of Sailors) 00:01:25
11.   Act I Scene 2: Ecco ci salvi alfin (Idomeneo) 00:03:08
12.   Act I Scene 2: Vedrommi intorno l'ombra dolente (Idomeneo) 00:03:44
13.   Act I Scene 2: Cieli! Che veggo! (Idomeneo, Idamante) 00:05:03
14.   Act I Scene 2: ll padre adorato ritrovo, e lo perdo (Idamante) 00:02:52
15.   Act I Scene 2: March 00:02:04
16.   Act I Scene 2: Nettuno s'onori, quel nome risuoni (All) 00:05:37

Disc 2

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Varesco, Giovanni Battista, lyricist(s)

  Idomeneo re di Creta, K. 366
1.   Act II Scene 1: Tutto m'e noto (Arbace, Idomeneo) 00:03:05
2.   Act II Scene 1: Se il padre perdei la patria, il riposo (Ilia) 00:05:45
3.   Act II Scene 1: Qual mi conturba i sensi equivoca favella … (Idomeneo) 00:02:14
4.   Act II Scene 1: Fuor del mar ho un mare in seno (Idomeneo) 00:06:46
5.   Act II Scene 1: Chi mai del mio provo piacer più dolce (Elettra) 00:01:49
6.   Act II Scene 1: Idol mio, se ritroso (Elettra) 00:04:51
7.   Act II Scene 1: March: Odo da lunge armonioso suono (Elettra) 00:01:10
8.   Act II Scene 1: Sidonie sponde! (Elettra) 00:00:39
9.   Act II Scene 2: Placido e il mar, andiamo (Chorus, Elettra) 00:03:14
10.   Act II Scene 2: Vattene, prence (Idomeneo, Idamante) 00:00:28
11.   Act II Scene 2: Pria di partir, oh Dio! (Elettra, Idamante, Idomeneo) 00:03:54
12.   Act II Scene 2: Qual nuovo terrore! (Chorus of Sailors) 00:01:58
13.   Act II Scene 2: Eccoti in me, barbaro Nume! (Idomeneo) 00:01:54
14.   Act II Scene 2: Corriamo, fuggiamo quel mostro spietato (Chorus of Sailors) 00:01:55

Disc 3

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Varesco, Giovanni Battista, lyricist(s)

  Idomeneo re di Creta, K. 366
1.   Act III Scene 1: Solitudini amiche, aure amorose (Ilia) 00:01:10
2.   Act III Scene 1: Zeffiretti lusinghieri de volate al mio tesoro (Ilia) 00:05:24
3.   Act III Scene 1: Ei stesso vien (Ilia) 00:03:28
4.   Act III Scene 1: S'io non moro a questi accenti (Ilia, Idamante) 00:02:59
5.   Act III Scene 1: Cieli che vedo (Idomeneo, Ilia, Idamante, Elettra) 00:01:27
6.   Act III Scene 1: Andro ramingo, e solo (Ilia, Elettra, Idamante, Idomeneo) 00:05:13
7.   Act III Scene 1: Sventurata Sidon! (Arbace) 00:02:59
8.   Act III Scene 1: Se cola ne' fati e scritto (Arbace) 00:03:46
9.   Act III Scene 2: Volgi intorno lo sguardo, oh sire (High Priest, Idomeneo) 00:04:29
10.   Act III Scene 2: Oh voto tremendo! (Chorus) 00:04:46
11.   Act III Scene 3: March 00:00:43
12.   Act III Scene 3: Accogli, o re del mar, i nostri voti (Idomeneo, Priests) 00:03:31
13.   Act III Scene 3: Stupenda vittoria! (Chorus of Cretan Citizens) 00:00:47
14.   Act III Scene 3: Padre mio, caro padre, ah dolce nome! (Idamante, Idomeneo, Ilia, High Priest, Elettra) 00:05:41
15.   Act III Scene 3: Ma che più tardi (Idamante) 00:02:14
16.   Act III Scene 3: Hai vinto amore (A Voice) 00:02:43
17.   Act III Scene 3: Oh smania! oh furie… (Elettra) 00:02:49
18.   Act III Scene 3: D'Oreste, d'Ajace ho in seno i tormenti (Elettra) 00:03:30
19.   Act III Scene 3: Popoli, a voi l'ultima legge impone Idomeneo (Idomeneo) 00:05:17
20.   Act III Scene 3: Scenda amor, scenda Imeneo (Chorus of Cretan Citizens) 00:01:56

Total Playing Time: 02:39:45

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Varesco, Giovanni Battista

Guidarini, Marco

San Carlo Theatre Orchestra

San Carlo Theatre Chorus

Bellone, Antonietta; Durante, Carmine; Gaeta, Lucia; Ganassi, Sonia; Gulin, Angeles Blancas; Magnabosco, Dario; Mennella, Carmine; Schneider, Jorg; Streit, Kurt; Tamar, Iano; Vatchkov, Deyan

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Classical

Catalogue No: 8.660250-52

Barcode: 730099025072

Physical Release: 06/2010

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
6:04:18 AM, 30 April 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.