Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > DONIZETTI, G.: Maria Stuarda (Sferisterio Opera Festival, 2007)

DONIZETTI, G.: Maria Stuarda (Sferisterio Opera Festival, 2007)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

DONIZETTI, G.: Maria Stuarda (Sferisterio Opera Festival, 2007)

In Donizetti’s opera Maria Stuarda the rôles of the doomed queen and her cousin, Elizabeth I, have been taken by some of the greatest divas, from Malibran to Gruberova and Tosi to Baltsa, each revelling in the high drama of their tragically linked fates. “Contributing greatly to the success of the work, the young Maestro Riccardo Frizza revealed himself as a deep and sensitive interpreter of this score, managing to capture all the nuances of Donizetti’s music…Laura Polverelli portrayed with elegance and pride the character of Elizabeth, her furies, doubts and jealousies; Maria Pia Piscitelli was a wonderful Maria Stuarda, passionate, sorrowful, proud, dignified when sentenced to death, recalling her past sins yet conscious of her innocence.” (MusiCulturA)


Disc 1

Donizetti, Gaetano
Bardari, Giuseppe, lyricist(s)

  Maria Stuarda
1.   Act I: Introduction 00:01:39
2.   Act I: Qui si attenda, ell'e vicina (Chorus of Courtiers) 00:02:02
3.   Act I: Si, vuol di Francia il Rege (Elisabetta) 00:01:01
4.   Act I: Ah! Quando all'ara scorgemi (Elisabetta, Talbot, Chorus of Courtiers, Cecil) 00:03:49
5.   Act I: Ah! Dal ciel discenda un raggio (Elisabetta, Talbot, Chorus of Courtiers, Cecil) 00:03:40
6.   Act I: Fra voi perche non veggio Leicester (Elisabetta, Cecil, Leicester) 00:01:28
7.   Act I: Hai nelle giostre, o Talbot, chiesto di me (Leicester, Talbot) 00:02:17
8.   Act I: Ah! Rimiro il bel sembiante (Leicester, Talbot) 00:03:18
9.   Act I: Se fida tanto colei m'amo (Leicester, Talbot) 00:01:30
10.   Act I: Sei tu confuso (Elisabetta, Leicester) 00:03:20
11.   Act I: Era d'amor l'immagine (Leicester, Elisabetta) 00:03:49
12.   Act I: Sul crin la rivale (Elisabetta, Leicester) 00:02:03
13.   Act II: Allenta il pie, Regina (Anna, Maria) 00:03:03
14.   Act II: Oh nube! Che lieve per l'aria ti aggiri (Maria, Anna, Chorus of Huntsmen) 00:03:31
15.   Act II: Nella pace del mesto riposo (Maria, Anna) 00:03:15
16.   Act II: Ah! Non m'inganna la gioia! (Maria, Leicester) 00:01:23
17.   Act II: Da tutti abbandonata (Maria, Leicester) 00:03:45
18.   Act II: Ah si! Se il mio cor tremo giammai (Maria, Leicester) 00:02:06
19.   Act II: Qual loco e questo (Elisabetta, Leicester, Cecil, Talbot, Maria) 00:01:52
20.   Act II: E sempre la stessa: superba, orgogliosa (Elisabetta, Maria, Talbot, Anna, Leicester, Cecil) 00:04:23
21.   Act II: Va'… lo chiedi, o sciagurata (Elisabetta, Maria, Leicester, Cecil, Anna, Talbot) 00:04:17
22.   Act II: Va', preparati furente a soffrir l'estremo fato (Elisabetta, Cecil, Maria, Leicester, Anna, Talbot, Chorus of Soldiers) 00:03:06

Disc 2

Donizetti, Gaetano
Bardari, Giuseppe, lyricist(s)

  Maria Stuarda
1.   Act II: E pensi E tardi (Cecil, Elisabetta) 00:03:55
2.   Act II: Quella vita a me funesta (Elisabetta, Cecil, Leicester) 00:03:39
3.   Act II: Ah! Deh! Per pieta sospendi (Leicester, Cecil, Elisabetta) 00:03:44
4.   Act II: Vanne, indegno: t'appare sul volto (Elisabetta, Leicester, Cecil) 00:02:42
5.   Act II: La perfida insultarmi anche volea (Maria, Cecil) 00:03:47
6.   Act II: Oh mio buon Talbot! (Maria, Talbot) 00:04:20
7.   Act II: Quando di luce rosea (Maria, Talbot) 00:05:38
8.   Act II: Lascia contenta al carcere (Talbot, Maria) 00:02:45
9.   Act II: Vedeste … Vedemmo … Qual truce apparato! (Chorus of Mary's Faithful Servants) 00:06:04
10.   Act III: Anna … Qui piu sommessi favellate (Chorus of Mary's Faithful Servants, Anna, Maria) 00:03:44
11.   Act III: Deh! Tu di un'umile preghiera il suono (Maria, Chorus of Mary's Faithful Servants, Anna, Talbot) 00:03:52
12.   Act III: Oh colpo! … E gia vicino del tuo morir l'istante (Chorus of Mary's Faithful Servants, Cecil, Maria) 00:01:24
13.   Act III: Di un cor che more reca il perdono (Maria, Anna, Talbot, Cecil, Chorus of Mary's Faithful Servants) 00:03:38
14.   Act III: Giunge il conte (Talbot, Maria, Leicester, Cecil, Chorus of Mary's Faithful Servants, Anna) 00:01:52
15.   Act III: Ah! Se un giorno da queste ritorte (Maria, Anna, Talbot, Cecil, Leicester, Chorus of Mary's Faithful Servants) 00:04:49

Total Playing Time: 01:56:30

Donizetti, Gaetano

Bardari, Giuseppe

Frizza, Riccardo

Marchigiana Philharmonic Orchestra

Coro Lirico Marchigiano V. Bellini

Alberghini, Simone; Biasio, Roberto de; Cassi, Mario; Lanza, Giovanna; Piscitelli, Maria Pia; Polverelli, Laura

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660261-62

Barcode: 730099026178

Physical Release: 12/2009

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Canada only:
Buy from
Buy from J&R
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
12:33:04 PM, 30 August 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.