Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > DONIZETTI, G.: Marino Faliero [Opera] (Surian, Stanisci, Magri, Grassi, Bergamo Musica Festival Orchestra and Chorus, Cinquegrani)

DONIZETTI, G.: Marino Faliero [Opera] (Surian, Stanisci, Magri, Grassi, Bergamo Musica Festival Orchestra and Chorus, Cinquegrani)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

DONIZETTI, G.: Marino Faliero [Opera] (Surian, Stanisci, Magri, Grassi, Bergamo Musica Festival Orchestra and Chorus, Cinquegrani)

Donizetti’s fiftieth opera, Marino Faliero, was first performed in Paris on 12 March 1835 with a cast comprising four of the finest singers of the period before premièring in London a few weeks later. Although these premières were both overshadowed by Bellini’s I Puritani, Marino Faliero subsequently enjoyed a long and successful run of international performances throughout the 19th century before disappearing from the stage until its modern revival in 1966. Set in Venice in 1355, it remains a major work of Italian Romanticism, sentimental, martial, full of conspiratorial adventure and culminating with the execution of the leading rôle. This recording is also available on Naxos DVD 2.110616-17.

Disc 1

Donizetti, Gaetano
Bidera, Emanuele, lyricist(s)

  Marino Faliero
1.   Sinfonia 00:08:02
2.   Act I: Introduzione: Issa, issa, issa, la! (Chorus of shipyard workers) 00:02:41
3.   Act I: Zara, Zara, Zara infida! (Chorus of shipyard workers) 00:02:21
4.   Act I: Oh, miei figli! e dolce il canto (Israele, Chorus of shipyard workers) 00:02:54
5.   Act I: Alcun giunge… (Chorus of shipyard workers, Steno, Israele) 00:01:46
6.   Act I: O patrizi scellerati (Israele, Chorus of shipyard workers) 00:02:26
7.   Act I: Recitativo e Cavatina: No, no, d'abbandonarla senza un addio (Fernando) 00:02:51
8.   Act I: Di mia patria o bel soggiorno (Fernando) 00:04:58
9.   Act I: Recitativo: Ma giunge alcun … (Fernando, Elena) 00:00:49
10.   Act I: Duetto: Tu non sai, la nave e presta (Elena, Fernando) 00:07:19
11.   Act I: Vivi! la mia memoria (Fernando, Elena) 00:03:36
12.   Act I: Recitativo: E il doge! (Fernando, Elena, Faliero, Vincenzo, Israele) 00:04:03
13.   Act I: Duetto: Se pur giungi a trucidarlo (Faliero, Israele) 00:05:04
14.   Act I: Odio, sdegno, vi sento, v’ascolto (Faliero) 00:02:45
15.   Act I: Che risolvi (Faliero, Israele) 00:04:25
16.   Act I: Recitativo: Le rose di Bisanzio (Leoni, Steno) 00:01:41
17.   Act I: Scena e Coro: Calmati, Steno. Qui gioia ed oblio… – Recitativo: Siam soli. Attento veglia… (Leoni, Chorus of Knights and Ladies, Steno, Faliero, Israele) 00:03:43
18.   Act I: Finale primo: O superbo Faliero! a chi t’inchini per ricercar vendetta (Faliero, Elena, Fernando, Israele) 00:02:59
19.   Act I: Invitato all’empia festa (Israele, Fernando, Faliero, Elena, Steno, Chorus of Knights and Ladies) 00:08:16

Disc 2

Donizetti, Gaetano
Bidera, Emanuele, lyricist(s)

  Marino Faliero
1.   Act II: Coro e Barcarola: Siamo figli della notte (Chorus of gloomy echo) 00:01:48
2.   Act II: Or che in ciel alta e la notte (Chorus of Gondoliers, A Gondolier, Israele, Strozzi) 00:02:41
3.   Act II: Recitativo, Aria e Cabaletta: Notte d’orrore! … (Fernando) 00:02:14
4.   Act II: Io ti veggio; or vegli e tremi (Fernando) 00:04:32
5.   Act II: Mi tornano presenti (Fernando) 00:02:27
6.   Act II: Recitativo: Fini la festa di Leoni – Finale secondo: Chi veggio (Pietro, Israele, Strozzi, Beltrame, Chorus of Conspirators, Faliero) 00:01:24
7.   Act II: Bello ardir di congiurati (Faliero, Chorus of Conspirators, Israele, Strozzi, Pietro) 00:04:33
8.   Act II: Gente! ola, correte: un fugge… (Israele, Faliero, Chorus of Conspirators, Pietro, Strozzi, Beltrame, Fernando) 00:03:43
9.   Act II: Notte atroce, notte orrenda (Faliero, Israele, Pietro, Strozzi, Beltrame, Chorus of Conspirators) 00:03:41
10.   Act III: Coro: La notte inoltrasi piu tenebrosa (Chorus of Maids, Irene) 00:04:15
11.   Act III: Recitativo: Coro, Ma gia si desta… (Irene, Elena, Chorus of Maids, Faliero, Leoni) 00:04:27
12.   Act III: Aria, Scena e Cabaletta: Tutto or morte, oh Dio, m'invola (Elena) 00:02:29
13.   Act III: Dio clemente, ah, mi perdona (Elena) 00:04:44
14.   Act III: Fra due tombe, fra due spettri (Elena, Irene, Chorus of Maids) 00:03:41
15.   Act III: Coro, Aria di Israele, Scena e Cabaletta: Il traditor Faliero gia in poter vostro sta (Leoni, Chorus of the Council of Ten, Chorus of Conspirators, Chorus of Judges) 00:02:50
16.   Act III: Odo il suon di chi sprezza i perigli (Israele, Leoni, Chorus of Judges, Faliero, Chorus of Conspirators) 00:02:23
17.   Act III: Siamo vili, e fummo prodi (Israele, Leoni, Chorus of Judges, Faliero, Marco, Arrigo, Giovanni) 00:04:14
18.   Act III: Il palco e a noi trionfo (Israele, Marco, Arrigo, Giovanni, Faliero, Chorus of Judges) 00:02:47
19.   Act III: Recitativo: Faliero, gia Doge di Venezia e conte di Valmarino (Leoni, Faliero) 00:01:13
20.   Act III: Scena e Duetto, finale terzo: Faliero… Oh, di mie pene (Elena, Faliero) 00:02:27
21.   Act III: Di vergogna avvampo ed ardo… (Elena, Faliero) 00:02:50
22.   Act III: Santa voce al cuor mi suona (Faliero, Elena, Chorus of the Council of Ten, A Distant Voice, Chorus of Guards) 00:06:19

Total Playing Time: 02:24:21

Donizetti, Gaetano

Bidera, Emanuele

Cinquegrani, Bruno

Bergamo Musica Festival Orchestra

Bergamo Musica Festival Chorus

Dall'Amico, Luca; Ezequiel, Moya Gonzalo; Fanton, Elvis; Gramegna, Leonardo; Grassi, Luca; Magri, Ivan; Marchesini, Enrico; Menini, Domenico; Paola, Giuseppe di; Scarpellini, Livio; Spissu, Paola; Stanisci, Rachele; Stefanovski, Aleksandar; Surian, Giorgio

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660303-04

Barcode: 730099030373

Physical Release: 09/2011

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:26:37 AM, 1 August 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.