Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MACFARREN, G.: Robin Hood [Opera] (N. Spence, Hulbert, John Powell Singers, Victorian Opera Chorus and Orchestra, Corp)

MACFARREN, G.: Robin Hood [Opera] (N. Spence, Hulbert, John Powell Singers, Victorian Opera Chorus and Orchestra, Corp)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

MACFARREN, G.: Robin Hood [Opera] (N. Spence, Hulbert, John Powell Singers, Victorian Opera Chorus and Orchestra, Corp)

George Macfarren was considered by many of his contemporaries as the greatest British dramatic opera composer since Purcell. Described by Edward J Dent as ‘very full of good fun and on the way to Sullivan’, Robin Hood is Macfarren’s masterpiece, one of an impressive roster of now neglected mid-nineteenth-century British operas, notable for its fine ensemble scenes, witty motifs, and deft, imaginative orchestration. Victorian Opera’s recording of Wallace’s Lurline (8.660293-94) was widely admired: ‘the opera and the performance are both a delight.’ (American Record Guide)

Disc 1

Macfarren, George
Oxenford, John, lyricist(s)

  Robin Hood
1.   Overture 00:05:38
2.   Act I: Introduction: Clang! Clang! It is a merry (Chorus) 00:06:59
3.   Act I: Ballad: The hunters wake (Alice, Chorus) 00:02:26
4.   Act I: Duet: When lovers are parted (Robin, Marian) 00:02:55
5.   Act I: Trio: A dark and troublous time (Robin, Marian, Sheriff) 00:03:08
6.   Act I: Ballad: True love (Marian) 00:02:08
7.   Act I: Scena and Song: The monk within his cell (Sompnour) 00:05:31
8.   Act I: Scena and Song: Be not severe (Allan, Robin, Chorus) 00:02:23
9.   Act I: Ballad: Englishmen by birth (Robin) 00:02:30
10.   Act I: Finale: May the saints protect 00:06:10
11.   Act II Scene 1: Entr'acte 00:01:27
12.   Act II Scene 1: Part Song: The wood, the wood (Outlaws) 00:02:03
13.   Act II Scene 1: Robbery Scene: A good fat deer (Robin, Much, John, Sompnour) 00:09:07
14.   Act II Scene 1: Ballad: The grasping Normans (Robin, Greenwood men) 00:07:32
15.   Act II Scene 2: Scena: Hail happy morn (Marian) 00:09:07
16.   Act II Scene 2: Ballad: From childhood's dawn (Sheriff) 00:03:10
17.   Act II Scene 2: Duet: To the fair (Marian, Alice) 00:02:37
18.   Act II Scene 3: Chorus: How bright is the day (Allan, Alice, Robin, Marian) 00:03:44

Disc 2

Macfarren, George
Oxenford, John, lyricist(s)

  Robin Hood
1.   Act II Scene 3: Dances: Round dance and Tilting at the Quintain 00:04:57
2.   Act II Scece 3: Scena: Hoodman blind (Villagers) 00:09:52
3.   Act II Scene 3: Song: My own, my guiding star (Robin) 00:02:41
4.   Act II Scene 3: Ensemble: Merry laughter (Sheriff, Marian, Alice, Allan, Company) 00:06:23
5.   Act II Scene 3: Quintet: My heart from its terror (Marian, Alice, Robin, Allan, Sheriff) 00:02:23
6.   Act II Scene 3: Finale: My children thus your lives (Sheriff, Company) 00:06:27
7.   Act III Scene 1: Entr'acte 00:03:18
8.   Act III Scene 1: Duet: Greatest plague on earth (Allan, Alice) 00:03:05
9.   Act III Scene 1: Scena: My child has fled (Sheriff) 00:06:08
10.   Act III Scene 1: Duet: To King Richard at once (Sheriff, Sompnour) 00:04:04
11.   Act III Scene 2: Part Song: Now the sun has mounted (Citizens) 00:06:21
12.   Act III Scene 2: Song: Sons of the greenwood (Marian, Greenwood men) 00:02:45
13.   Act III Scene 3: Scena: Vain was the proud ambition (Robin, Marian, Chorus) 00:08:55
14.   Act III Scene 4: Finale: Hark, to that doleful bell (Full company) 00:07:50
15.   Act III Scene 4: Finale ultimo: We've made a slight mistake (Full company) 00:04:48

Total Playing Time: 02:38:32

Macfarren, George

Oxenford, John

Corp, Ronald

Victorian Opera Orchestra

John Powell Singers; Victorian Opera Chorus

Ashman, Magdalen; Hulbert, George; Hurst, Louis; Jordan, Kay; Knox, Alex; Mackenzie-Wicks, Andrew; Molloy, John; Spence, Nicky

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Catalogue No: 8.660306-07

Barcode: 730099030670

Physical Release: 10/2011

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group