Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > WALLACE, W.V.: Maritana [Opera] (Cullagh, L. Lee, Clarke, Caddy, RTE Philharmonic Choir and Concert Orchestra, Duinn)

WALLACE, W.V.: Maritana [Opera] (Cullagh, L. Lee, Clarke, Caddy, RTE Philharmonic Choir and Concert Orchestra, Duinn)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

WALLACE, W.V.: Maritana [Opera] (Cullagh, L. Lee, Clarke, Caddy, RTE Philharmonic Choir and Concert Orchestra, Duinn)

Maritana was one of the most popular of mid-nineteenth-century British operas. Its 1848 première was a triumph and was soon followed by performances in opera houses from Vienna to Philadelphia. The absurd plot, which contrasts life at the Spanish court with that of the Gypsy street-singer of the title, is subsidiary to the appeal of a string of infectious and much loved arias such as There is a flower that bloometh and Yes! Let me like a soldier fall. Wallace’s opera Lurline is available on Naxos 8.660293–94, on which the American Record Guide commented: ‘The opera and the performance are both a delight.’

Disc 1

Wallace, William Vincent
Fitzball, Edward, lyricist(s)

1.   Overture 00:10:24
2.   Act I: Chorus: Sing, pretty maiden, sing (Chorus) 00:02:54
3.   Act I: Romance: It was a knight of princely mien (Maritana) - Chorus: Sing, Maritana! No delay! (Chorus) 00:02:08
4.   Act I: Romance: I hear it again (Maritana) - Chorus: Listen pilgrim, list (Chorus) 00:03:29
5.   Act I: Angelus: Angels that around us hover (Chorus) 00:03:37
6.   Act I: Duet: Of fairy wand had I the power (Maritana, Don Jose) 00:07:38
7.   Act I: Trio: See the culprit (Captain, Lazarillo, Don Caesar) - Chorus: See this combat, all now must (Chorus) 00:04:00
8.   Act I: Chorus: Pretty Gitana, tell us (Chorus) - Song: Yes, the language of the skies (Maritana) 00:04:43
9.   Act I: Finale: Farewell my gallant Captain (Don Caesar, Maritana, Lazarillo, Don Jose, Alcade, Chorus) 00:04:22
10.   Act II, Scene 1: Romance: Alas, those chimes so sweetly stealing (Lazarillo) 00:05:30
11.   Act II, Scene 1: Duet: Hither as I came, one poor old man (Don Caesar, Lazarillo) 00:02:00
12.   Act II, Scene 1: Trio: Turn on, old time, thine hourglass (Don Caesar, Lazarillo, Don Jose) 00:03:20
13.   Act II, Scene 1: Song: Yes! Let me like a Soldier fall (Don Caesar) 00:02:34
14.   Act II, Scene 1: Ballad: In happy moments day by day (Don Jose) 00:04:01
15.   Act II, Scene 1: Quartet with Chorus: Health to the Lady, the lovely bride (Don Caesar, Chorus, Maritana, Don Jose, Lazarillo) 00:03:40

Disc 2

Wallace, William Vincent
Fitzball, Edward, lyricist(s)

1.   Act II, Scene 2: Chorus: Oh! What pleasure the soft guitar (Chorus) 00:02:09
2.   Act II, Scene 2: Waltz 00:02:38
3.   Act II, Scene 2: Song: Hear me, gentle Maritana (King) 00:03:57
4.   Act II, Scene 2: Song: There is a flow'r that bloometh (Don Caesar) 00:03:27
5.   Act II, Scene 2: Finale: That voice! 'Tis hers I swear (Don Caesar, Maritana, Don Jose, Chorus) 00:07:27
6.   Act III: Introduction - Recitative: How dreary to my heart is this gay chamber! (Maritana) 00:03:10
7.   Act III: Ballad: Scenes that are brightest (Maritana) 00:03:45
8.   Act III: Song: So! My courage now regaining (Don Jose) 00:01:37
9.   Act III: Cabaletta (Duet): Surely as thou art Don Caesar, yes, I am King of Spain (Don Caesar, King) 00:04:26
10.   Act III: Duet: A stranger here! (Maritana, Don Caesar) 00:07:03
11.   Act III: Prayer (Duet): Sainted Mother, guide his footsteps (Maritana, Lazarillo) 00:03:11
12.   Act III: Song: With rapture glowing (Maritana) - Finale: Viva, Maritana! (Chorus) 00:02:04

Total Playing Time: 01:49:14

Wallace, William Vincent

Fitzball, Edward

Duinn, Proinnsias O

RTE Concert Orchestra

RTE Philharmonic Choir

Caddy, Ian; Clarke, Paul Charles; Cullagh, Majella; Hayes, Quentin; Lee, Lynda; Smith, Damien

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660308-09

Barcode: 730099030878

Physical Release: 11/2011

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:59:54 PM, 26 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.