Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > DAVID, F.: Lalla Roukh [Opéra-comique] (Fiset, Gonzalez Toro, Paulin, Deletré, Newman, Adelsberger, Opera Lafayette, R. Brown)

DAVID, F.: Lalla Roukh [Opéra-comique] (Fiset, Gonzalez Toro, Paulin, Deletré, Newman, Adelsberger, Opera Lafayette, R. Brown)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
A Pilgrim’s Progress – Jeremy Siepmann talks to the conductor Ryan Brown

DAVID, F.: Lalla Roukh [Opéra-comique] (Fiset, Gonzalez Toro, Paulin, Deletré, Newman, Adelsberger, Opera Lafayette, R. Brown)

French opera owes much of its obsession with exoticism to the pivotal figure of Félicien David, a pioneer of ‘musical Orientalism’. His opera Lalla Roukh, first performed to huge acclaim in 1862, was the catalyst for the explosion in operas set in the ‘Exotic East’. The fairy-tale plot revolves around an Indian princess who travels to Bukhara (part of modern Uzbekistan) to meet the man to whom she is to be given in marriage. Along the way she falls in love with the minstrel Noureddin who is, in fact, the King of Bukhara in disguise. David’s evocative and magical orchestration is harnessed to memorable melodies, including Lalla Roukh’s deftly harmonised arias ‘Sous le feuillage sombre’ and ‘O nuit d’amour’.

Disc 1

David, Felicien
Carre, Michel / Lucas, Hippolyte, lyricist(s)

  Lalla Roukh
1.   Ouverture 00:09:15
2.   Act I Scenes 1 - 3: Scene et Choeur: C'est ici le pays des roses (Chorus, Bakbara, Kaboul, Noureddin, Baskir) 00:08:22
3.   Act I Scene 5: Melodie: Sous le feuillage sombre (Lalla Roukh) 00:03:41
4.   Act I Scene 6: Couplets: De pres ou de loin (Baskir) 00:01:43
5.   Act I Scene 7: Choeur: Voici le repas du soir (Chorus) 00:02:33
6.   Act I Scene 7: Ballet: La nuit tombe (Chorus) 00:04:59
7.   Act I Scene 7: Choeur danse: Bayaderes plus legeres (Chorus) 00:03:06
8.   Act I Scene 8: Scene, Dieu, c'est lui! Quatuor, Je n'ose lever les yeux (Lalla Roukh, Baskir, Mirza, Noureddin, Chorus) 00:04:12
9.   Act I Scene 8: Romance: Ma maitresse a quitte la tente, Scene, et Reprise du Choeur (Noureddin, Baskir, Lalla Roukh, Mirza, Chorus) 00:06:53
10.   Act I Scene 10: Couplets: Si vous ne savez plus charmer (Mirza) 00:03:02
11.   Act I Scene 12: Duo, La nuit en deployant ses ailes (Lalla Roukh, Noureddin) 00:06:37
12.   Act I Scene 12: Ballade, Lorsque l'etoile du ciel sans voile, Duo (Noureddin, Lalla Roukh) 00:03:24
13.   Act I Scene 13: Ronde de Nuit et Final du 1er Acte, La nuit au manteau sombre (Chorus, Bakbara, Kaboul, Baskir, Lalla Roukh, Mirza) 00:06:16

Disc 2

David, Felicien
Carre, Michel / Lucas, Hippolyte, lyricist(s)

  Lalla Roukh
1.   Act II Scene 1: Entr'acte 00:02:40
2.   Act II Scene 1: Recitatif: Enfin…Air, O nuit d'amour (Lalla Roukh) 00:07:14
3.   Act II Scene 2: Duettino, Loin du bruit, loin du monde (Lalla Roukh, Mirza) 00:05:10
4.   Act II Scene 4: Choeur: Ces joyaux, ces parures (Chorus, Lalla Roukh, Baskir, Mirza) 00:04:04
5.   Act II Scene 6: Couplets: Ah! funeste ambassade (Baskir) 00:02:38
6.   Act II Scene 8: Barcarolle et Ensemble: O! ma maitresse (Noureddin, Baskir, Bakbara, Kaboul, Mirza) 00:03:57
7.   Act II Scene 9: Duo bouffe: Tout ira bien demain (Noureddin, Baskir) 00:04:49
8.   Act II Scene 10: Romance: Fuyez, fuyez (Noureddin) 00:03:08
9.   Act II Scene 10: Duo: Non, non, le ciel lui - meme (Lalla Roukh, Noureddin) 00:02:48
10.   Act II Scene 12: Marche et Final: Gloire, honneur (Chorus, Baskir, Lalla Roukh, Mirza, Noureddin) 00:06:29

Total Playing Time: 01:47:00

David, Felicien

Carre, Michel; Lucas, Hippolyte

Brown, Ryan

Opera Lafayette Orchestra

Opera Lafayette Chorus

Adelsberger, Andrew; Deletre, Bernard; Fiset, Marianne; Gonzalez Toro, Emiliano; Newman, David; Paulin, Nathalie

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660338-39

Barcode: 730099033879

Physical Release: 03/2014

For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:43:07 AM, 5 October 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.