Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > ROSSINI, G.: Semiramide [Opera] (Penda, Pizzolato, Regazzo, Osborn, Mastroni, Fogliani)

ROSSINI, G.: Semiramide [Opera] (Penda, Pizzolato, Regazzo, Osborn, Mastroni, Fogliani)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

ROSSINI, G.: Semiramide [Opera] (Penda, Pizzolato, Regazzo, Osborn, Mastroni, Fogliani)

Following his triumphant visit to Vienna in 1822, when several of his operas were extremely well-received, international success beckoned for Rossini. First performed at La Fenice, Venice in 1823, Semiramide was Rossini’s last Italian opera, written at the height of his creative powers. Its subject is Greek tragedy for which librettist Gaetano Rossi drew on an adaptation by Voltaire. Instrumentally sophisticated and classically structured, the opera remains one of the most remarkable examples of Rossini’s cultivation of bel canto.

Disc 1

Rossini, Gioachino
Rossi, Gaetano, lyricist(s)

1.   Sinfonia 00:11:37
2.   Act I Scene 1: Si… Gran Nume… t'intesi (Oroe) 00:02:33
3.   Act I Scene 2: Belo si celebri (Chorus) 00:03:19
4.   Act I Scene 2: La dal Gange (Idreno, Assur, Oroe, Chorus) 00:06:19
5.   Act I Scene 3: Di plausi qual clamor (Chorus) 00:02:01
6.   Act I Scene 3: Di tanti regi e popoli (Oroe, Idreno, Assur, Semiramide) 00:03:27
7.   Act I Scene 3: Regina, all'ara (Assur, Semiramide, Idreno, Oroe, Chorus) 00:04:42
8.   Act I Scene 3: Oh tu de' magi (Semiramide, Oroe, Idreno, Assur) - Scene 4: Gli Dei son giusti (Oroe) 00:03:50
9.   Act I Scene 5: Eccomi alfine in Babilonia (Arsace) 00:05:13
10.   Act I Scene 5: Ah! quel giorno (Arsace) 00:05:52
11.   Act I Scene 5: Ministri, al gran Pontefice annunziate (Arsace) - Scene 6: Io t'attendeva (Oroe, Arsace) 00:04:34
12.   Act I Scene 7: Bella immago degli Dei (Arsace, Assur) 00:03:29
13.   Act I Scene 7: D'un tenero amore (Arsace, Assur) 00:02:45
14.   Act I Scene 7: Io tremar (Arsace, Assur) 00:04:26
15.   Act I Scene 8: Oh me felice (Azema, Idreno) 00:01:54
16.   Act I Scene 8: Ah dov'e, dov'e il cimento (Idreno) 00:07:38

Disc 2

Rossini, Gioachino
Rossi, Gaetano, lyricist(s)

1.   Act I Scene 8: Se non avesse e meritasse Arsace (Azema) 00:00:32
2.   Act I Scene 9: Serena i vaghi rai - Bel raggio lusinghier (Chorus, Semiramide) 00:06:25
3.   Act I Scene 9: Dolce pensiero (Semiramide, Chorus) 00:03:01
4.   Act I Scene 9: Ne viene ancor (Semiramide) - Scene 10: Da Menfi il sacro messo (Mitrane, Semiramide) - Scene 11: Al tuo comando (Arsace, Semiramide) 00:04:13
5.   Act I Scene 11: Serbami ognor si fido (Semiramide, Arsace) 00:04:17
6.   Act I Scene 11: Alle piu care immagini (Semiramide, Arsace) 00:03:50
7.   Act I Scene 12: Oroe dal tempio nella reggia (Assur, Oroe) 00:03:06
8.   Act I Scene 13: Ergi omai la fronte altera (Chorus, Oroe) 00:04:49
9.   Act I Scene 13: I vostri voti omai (Semiramide, Arsace, Idreno, Oroe, Assur, Chorus) 00:06:03
10.   Act I Scene 13: L'alto eroe (Semiramide, Idreno, Assur, Arsace, Oroe, Azema, Chorus) 00:04:02
11.   Act I Scene 13: Qual mesto gemito (Semiramide, Idreno, Arsace, Oroe, Assur, Chorus) 00:05:28
12.   Act I Scene 13: D'un Semidio (Semiramide, Assur, Idreno, L'ombra di Nino, Arsace, Oroe) 00:07:17
13.   Act II Scene 1: Alla reggia d'intorno (Mitrane) - Scene 2: Ebben, Mitrane (Semiramide, Mitrane) - Scene 3: Assur, i cenni miei (Semiramide, Assur) 00:04:22
14.   Act II Scene 3: Se la vita ancor t'e cara (Semiramide, Assur) 00:04:05
15.   Act II Scene 3: Quella ricordati (Semiramide, Assur) 00:04:12
16.   Act II Scene 3: Senti! (Semiramide, Assur) 00:05:03

Disc 3

Rossini, Gioachino
Rossi, Gaetano, lyricist(s)

1.   Act II Scene 4: In questo augusto soggiorno arcano (Chorus, Oroe) 00:04:28
2.   Act II Scene 4: Ebben, compiasi omai (Arsace, Oroe) 00:02:52
3.   Act II Scene 4: In si barbara sciagura (Arsace, Oroe, Chorus) 00:05:21
4.   Act II Scene 4: Al gran cimento (Oroe, Chorus, Arsace) 00:03:29
5.   Act II Scene 5: Calmati, principessa (Mitrane, Azema) - Scene 6: Arsace! Giusto ciel (Idreno, Azema) 00:02:11
6.   Act II Scene 6: La speranza piu soave (Idreno, Chorus) 00:07:22
7.   Act II Scene 7: No, non ti lascio (Semiramide, Arsace) 00:03:22
8.   Act II Scene 7: Ebbene… a te: ferisci (Semiramide, Arsace) 00:04:56
9.   Act II Scene 7: Giorno d'orror (Semiramide, Arsace) 00:08:02
10.   Act II Scene 8: Il di gia cade (Assur, Chorus) - Scene 9: Eccomi… Ebbene (Assur) 00:04:34
11.   Act II Scene 9: Ah! La sorte ci tradi (Chorus, Assur) 00:06:32
12.   Act II Scene 9: Ah! signore!… Assur!… (Chorus, Assur) 00:04:32
13.   Act II Scene 10: Oh nero eccesso! (Mitrane) 00:01:01
14.   Act II Scene 11: Un traditor, con empio ardir (Chorus, Arsace, Oroe, Semiramide) 00:06:56
15.   Act II Scene 11: Al mio pregar t'arrendi - L'usato ardir (Semiramide, Arsace, Assur, Oroe) 00:05:30
16.   Act II Scene 11: Ninia!… (Assur, Arsace, Semiramide, Oroe, Chorus) 00:06:12

Total Playing Time: 03:41:44

Rossini, Gioachino

Rossi, Gaetano

Fogliani, Antonino

Virtuosi Brunensis

Poznan Camerata Bach Choir

Facciola, Raffaele; Jokovic, Marija; Kavayas, Vassilis; Mastroni, Andrea; Osborn, John; Penda, Alex; Pizzolato, Marianna; Regazzo, Lorenzo

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660340-42

Barcode: 730099034074

Physical Release: 07/2013

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany:
Buy from
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For Australia Only:
Buy from MusicDirect


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
11:51:12 AM, 28 July 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.