Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MERCADANTE, S.: Briganti (I) [Melodramma serio] (Mironov, Ivanova, Prato, Poznań Camerata Bach Choir, Virtuosi Brunensis, Fogliani)

MERCADANTE, S.: Briganti (I) [Melodramma serio] (Mironov, Ivanova, Prato, Poznań Camerata Bach Choir, Virtuosi Brunensis, Fogliani)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

MERCADANTE, S.: Briganti (I) [Melodramma serio] (Mironov, Ivanova, Prato, Poznań Camerata Bach Choir, Virtuosi Brunensis, Fogliani)

A highly regarded composer in his day and considered the equal of Rossini, Bellini and Donizetti, Saverio Mercadante pioneered the transformation of bel canto opera into real music drama. He wrote the operatic tragedy I Briganti (The Brigands) not only to prove himself to the Parisian public but as a direct challenge to Bellini’s I puritani, premièred the previous year. Mercadante’s individual style of canto fiorito and distinctive theatricality demonstrate that opera need not be a mere succession of virtuoso vocal arias, and it paved the way for Verdi’s later dramas. Prepared from a new critical edition, this production was described as ‘outstanding’ by The New York Times.

Disc 1

Mercadante, Saverio
Crescini, Jacopo, lyricist(s)

  I Briganti
1.   Part I: Introduzione: Le gramaglie, i funebri doppieri (Chorus) 00:03:15
2.   Part I: Perche non posso (Corrado) 00:02:59
3.   Part I: Ove a me rivolgi un guardo (Corrado, Chorus) 00:03:01
4.   Part I: Per lei che mi sprezza (Corrado, Chorus) 00:02:58
5.   Part I: Come un etereo spirto dileguasi (Chorus) 00:02:20
6.   Part I: Cavatina: Tu piangi (Teresa, Amelia, Chorus) 00:05:50
7.   Part I: Ah! tu m'ami (Amelia, Chorus) 00:03:44
8.   Part I: Ite, vani ornamenti (Amelia, Corrado) 00:04:35
9.   Part I: Se per te non ha diletto (Corrado, Amelia) 00:03:46
10.   Part I: Duetto: Perche di pianti (Amelia, Corrado) 00:02:44
11.   Part I: Finale: Scena: Prode garzone (Ermano, Rollero) 00:04:56
12.   Part I: Cavatina: Questi due verdi salici (Ermano) 00:04:23
13.   Part I: Romanza: Qual soave armonia! (Ermano, Amelia, Rollero) 00:01:59
14.   Part I: Coro religioso: Tutto quaggiu si solve (Amelia, Chorus, Ermano) 00:02:36
15.   Part I: Come turbar poss'io (Ermano, Amelia) 00:04:27
16.   Part I: Sempre ripete mi / No, no, non crederlo (Ermano, Amelia) 00:02:41
17.   Part I: Erman (Rollero, Amelia, Ermano, Corrado, Teresa) 00:04:16
18.   Part I: Incerto, che penso (Ermano, Corrado, Amelia, Chorus, Rollero, Teresa) 00:03:43
19.   Part I: Scopri alfin il tuo disegno (Chorus, Tutti) 00:03:45

Disc 2

Mercadante, Saverio
Crescini, Jacopo, lyricist(s)

  I Briganti
1.   Part II: Coro e Tempesta: Accorrete (Chorus) 00:03:32
2.   Part II: Scena ed Orgia: Giunge Ermano (Chorus, Ermano) 00:04:21
3.   Part II: Scena e Preghiera: Ermano, ove sei tu (Ermano) 00:04:22
4.   Part II: Qual gemito! (Ermano, Conte, Solitario) 00:03:18
5.   Part II: Chi mi sveglia dal mio sepolcro (Conte, Ermano) 00:02:04
6.   Part II: Duetto: Deh, risparmia ch'io racconti (Conte, Ermanno) 00:04:26
7.   Part II: Io si, che un figlio avea (Conte, Ermanno) 00:04:20
8.   Part II: Tu lo conosci (Conte, Ermanno) 00:03:06
9.   Part II: Stretta finale: All'armi! (Chorus, Conte, Ermano) 00:05:28
10.   Part III: Coro: Notte, il silenzio doppia (Chorus) 00:03:20
11.   Part III: Tutto riposa (Corrado) 00:02:13
12.   Part III: Ah! no: vivi e spargi un fiore (Corrado, Chorus) 00:05:09
13.   Part III: Preghiera: Dove corre quell'empio (Amelia) 00:01:39
14.   Part III: Ciel! del mio prode Ermano (Amelia) 00:03:17
15.   Part III: Amelia, esulta (Chorus, Amelia) 00:05:26
16.   Part III: Finale: Giunge alcun (Amelia, Chorus, Conte, Tutti, Ermano) 00:05:16
17.   Part III: Cosi serbi il giuramento (Conte, Ermano, Amelia) 00:01:53
18.   Part III: Sul mio fronte (Ermano, Amelia, Conte, Chorus) 00:02:58
19.   Part III: Deh! non scemar con lagrime (Ermano, Amelia, Conte, Chorus) 00:03:46

Total Playing Time: 02:17:52

Mercadante, Saverio

Crescini, Jacopo

Fogliani, Antonino

Virtuosi Brunensis

Poznań Camerata Bach Choir

Ayllon, Jesus; Fiocco, Rosita; Ivanova, Petya; Mironov, Maxim; Mladenov, Atanas; Praticò, Bruno; Prato, Vittorio

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660343-44

Barcode: 730099034371

Physical Release: 07/2014

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
1:30:03 AM, 1 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.