Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > HANDEL: Messiah, HWV 56

HANDEL: Messiah, HWV 56


HANDEL: Messiah, HWV 56

Disc 1

Handel, George Frideric
Bible - New Testament, lyricist(s)

  Messiah, HWV 56: Part I
1.   Majora Canamus: And without controversy (Narrator) 00:00:36
2.   Symphony 00:03:07
3.   Accompanied Recitative: Comfort ye my people (Tenor) 00:02:55
4.   Aria: Ev'ry valley shall be exalted (Tenor) 00:03:15
5.   And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed (Chorus) 00:02:48
6.   Accompanied Recitative: Thus saith the Lord (Bass) 00:01:27
7.   Aria: But who may abide the day of His coming (Alto) 00:04:20
8.   And He shall purify the sons of Levi (Chorus) 00:02:27
9.   Recitative: Behold, a virgin shall conceive (Alto) 00:00:29
10.   Aria and Chorus: O Thou that tellest good tidings to Zion (Alto) 00:05:36
11.   Accompanied Recitative: For behold, darkness shall cover the earth (Bass) 00:02:02
12.   Aria: The people that walked in darkness (Bass) 00:03:47
13.   For unto us a child is born (Chorus) 00:03:46
14.   Pifa 00:02:48
15.   Recitative: There were shepherds abiding (Soprano) 00:00:15
16.   Accompanied Recitative: And lo, the angel of the Lord (Soprano) 00:00:17
17.   Recitative: And the angel said unto them (Soprano) 00:00:32
18.   Accompanied Recitative: And suddenly there was with the angel (Soprano) 00:00:16
19.   Glory to God in the highest (Chorus) 00:01:47
20.   Aria: Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Soprano) 00:04:12
21.   Recitative: Then shall the eyes of the blind be open'd (Alto) 00:00:31
22.   Duet: He shall feed His flock (Alto, Soprano) 00:04:49
23.   His yoke is easy, His burthen is light (Chorus) 00:02:15
24.   Behold the Lamb of God (Chorus) 00:03:11
25.   Aria: He was despised and rejected of men (Alto) 00:11:04

Disc 2

Handel, George Frideric
Bible - New Testament, lyricist(s)

  Messiah, HWV 56: Part II
1.   Surely, He hath borne our griefs (Chorus) 00:01:49
2.   And with His stripes we are healed (Chorus) 00:01:34
3.   All we like sheep have gone astray (Chorus) 00:03:57
4.   Accompanied Recitative: All they that see Him laugh (Tenor) 00:00:46
5.   He trusted in God that He would deliver Him (Chorus) 00:02:18
6.   Accompanied Recitative: Thy rebuke hath broken His heart (Tenor) 00:01:47
7.   Arioso: Behold, and see if there be any sorrow (Tenor) 00:01:47
8.   Accompanied Recitative: He was cut off out of the land (Soprano) 00:00:17
9.   Aria: But thou didst not leave His soul in Hell (Soprano) 00:02:10
10.   Lift up your heads, O ye gates (Chorus) 00:02:59
11.   Recitative: Unto which of the angels said He (Tenor) 00:00:22
12.   Let all the angels of God worship him (Chorus) 00:01:26
13.   Aria: Thou art gone up on high (Alto) 00:02:53
14.   The Lord gave the word (Chorus) 00:01:11
15.   Aria: How beautiful are the feet of Him (Soprano) 00:02:18
16.   Their sound is gone out (Chorus) 00:01:44
17.   Aria: Why do the nations so furiously rage together (Bass) 00:01:22
18.   Let us break their bonds asunder (Chorus) 00:01:46
19.   Recitative: He that dwelleth in heaven (Tenor) 00:00:12
20.   Aria: Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron (Tenor) 00:02:07
21.   Hallelujah! (Chorus) 00:03:29
22.   Aria: I know that my Redeemer liveth (Soprano) 00:05:31
23.   Since by man came death (Chorus) 00:02:04
24.   Accompanied Recitative: Behold, I tell you a mystery (Bass) 00:00:39
25.   Aria: The trumpet shall sound (Bass) 00:08:48
26.   Recitative: Then shall be brought to pass (Alto) 00:00:17
27.   Duet: O Death, where is thy sting (Alto, Soprano) 00:01:45
28.   But thanks be to God (Chorus) 00:02:09
29.   Aria: If God be for ever (Alto) 00:04:27
30.   Worthy is the Lamb that was slain (Chorus) 00:07:01

Total Playing Time: 02:19:27

Handel, George Frideric

Bible - New Testament

Suzuki, Masaaki

Bach Collegium Japan

Elwes, John; Mera, Yoshikazu; Suzuki, Midori; Thomas, David

Label: BIS

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: BIS-CD-891-92

Barcode: 7318598918922

Physical Release: 08/1997

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
3:30:29 PM, 31 July 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.