Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > BACH, J.S.: Christmas Oratorio (Otto)

BACH, J.S.: Christmas Oratorio (Otto)


Back Cover Image 

BACH, J.S.: Christmas Oratorio (Otto)

Disc 1

Bach, Johann Sebastian
Henrici, Christian Friedrich, lyricist(s)

  Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248
1.   Part I: Jauchzet, frohlocket, auf, preiset die Tage… (Chorus) 00:07:27
2.   Part I: Recitative: Es begab sich aber zu der Zeit… (Evangelist) 00:01:11
3.   Part I: Recitative: Nun wird mein liebster Brautigam… (Alto) 00:00:52
4.   Part I: Aria: Bereite dich, Zion, mit zartlichen Trieben… (Alto) 00:04:52
5.   Part I: Choral: Wie soll ich dich empfangen (Chorus) 00:01:11
6.   Part I: Recitative: Und sie gebar ihren ersten Sohn… (Evangelist) 00:00:23
7.   Part I: Choral and Recitative: Er ist auf Erden kommen arm, Wer will die Liebe recht erhohn… (Soparno, Bass) 00:02:51
8.   Part I: Aria: Grosser Herr, o starker Konig… (Bass) 00:04:22
9.   Part I: Choral: Ach, mein herzliebes Jesulein… (Chorus) 00:01:08
10.   Part II: Sinfonia 00:05:34
11.   Part II: Und es waren Hirten in derselben Gegend… (Evangelist) 00:00:40
12.   Part II: Choral: Brich an, o schones Morgenlicht… (Chorus) 00:01:02
13.   Part II: Und der Engel sprach zu ihnen, Furchtet euch nicht… (Evangelist, Soprano) 00:00:41
14.   Part II: Recitative: Was Gott dem Abraham verheissen… (Bass) 00:00:46
15.   Part II: Aria: Frohe Hirten, eilt, ach eilet… (Tenor) 00:03:27
16.   Part II: Und das habt zum Zeichen… (Evangelist, Soprano) 00:00:18
17.   Part II: Choral: Schaut hin, dort liegt im finstern Stall… (Chorus) 00:00:45
18.   Part II: Recitative: So geht denn hin, ihr Hirten, geht… (Bass) 00:00:51
19.   Part II: Aria: Schlafe, mein Liebster, geniesse der Ruh… (Alto) 00:09:26
20.   Part II: Und alsobald war da bei dem Engel… (Evangelist) 00:00:11
21.   Part II: Ehre sei Gott in der Hohe… (Chorus) 00:02:17
22.   Part II: Recitative: So recht, ihr Engel, jauchzt und singet… (Bass) 00:00:26
23.   Part II: Choral: Wir singen dir in deinem Heer… (Chorus) 00:01:14
24.   Part III: Herrscher des Himmels, erhore das Lallen… (Chorus) 00:01:51
25.   Part III: Und da die Engel von ihnen gen Himmel fuhren… (Evangelist) 00:00:08
26.   Part III: Lasset uns nun gehen gen Bethlehem… (Chorus) 00:00:42
27.   Part III: Recitative: Er hat sein Volk getrost… (Bass) 00:00:42
28.   Part III: Choral: Dies hat er alles uns getan… (Chorus) 00:00:46
29.   Part III: Aria (Duet): Herr, dein Mitleid, dein Erbarmen… (Soprano, Bass) 00:06:48
30.   Part III: Und sie kamen eilend… (Evangelist) 00:01:13
31.   Part III: Aria: Schliesse, mein Herze, dies selige Wunder… (Alto) 00:05:11
32.   Part III: Recitative: Ja, ja, mein Herz soll es bewahren… (Alto) 00:00:23
33.   Part III: Choral: Ich will dich mit Fleiss bewahren… (Chrous) 00:00:56
34.   Part III: Und die Hirten kehrten wieder um… (Evangelist) 00:00:22
35.   Part III: Choral: Seid froh dieweil, dass euer Heil… (Chorus) 00:00:46
36.   Part III: Chorus: Herrscher des Himmels, erhore das Lallen 00:01:52

Disc 2

Bach, Johann Sebastian
Henrici, Christian Friedrich, lyricist(s)

  Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248
1.   Part IV: Fallt mit Danken, fallt mit Loben… (Chorus) 00:04:55
2.   Part IV: Und da acht Tage um waren… (Evangelist) 00:00:29
3.   Part IV: Recitative with Chorale: Immanuel, o susses Wort (Bass, Soprano, Chorus) 00:02:31
4.   Part IV: Aria: Flosst, mein Heiland, flosst dein Namen… (Soprano) 00:05:34
5.   Part IV: Recitative with Chorale: Wohlan, dein Name soll allein (Soprano, Bass, Chorus) 00:01:35
6.   Part IV: Aria: Ich will nur dir zu Ehren leben… (Tenor) 00:04:30
7.   Part IV: Chorale: Jesus richte mein Beginnen… (Chorus) 00:01:56
8.   Part V: Ehre sei dir, Gott gesungen… (Chorus) 00:06:03
9.   Part V: Recitative: Da Jesus geboren war zu Bethlehem… (Evangelist) 00:00:20
10.   Part V: Chorus and Recitative: Wo ist der neugeborne Konig der Juden… (Alto, Chorus) 00:01:54
11.   Part V: Chorale: Dein Glanz all Finsternis verzehrt… (Chorus) 00:00:47
12.   Part V: Aria: Erleucht auch meine finstre Sinnen … (Bass) 00:04:18
13.   Part V: Recitative: Da das der Konig Herodes horte… (Evangelist) 00:00:10
14.   Part V: Recitative: Warum wollt ihr erschrecken… (Alto) 00:00:29
15.   Part V: Recitative: Und liess versammlen alle Hohepriester… (Evangelist) 00:01:15
16.   Part V: Aria (Trio): Ach, wenn wird die Zeit erscheinen… (Soprano, Alto, Tenor) 00:04:49
17.   Part V: Recitative: Mein Liebster herrschet schon… (Alto) 00:00:28
18.   Part V: Choral: Zwar ist solche Herzensstube… (Chorus) 00:00:44
19.   Part VI: Chorus: Herr, wenn die stolzen Feinde schnauben… (Chorus) 00:05:09
20.   Part VI: Recitative: Da berief Herodes die Weisen heimlich… (Evangelist, Bass) 00:00:47
21.   Part VI: Recitative: Du Falscher, suche nur den Herrn zu fallen… (Soprano) 00:00:50
22.   Part VI: Aria: Nur ein Wink von seinen Handen… (Soprano) 00:04:09
23.   Part VI: Recitative: Als sie nun den Konig gehoret hatten… (Evangelist) 00:01:07
24.   Part VI: Choral: Ich steh an deiner Krippen hier… (Chorus) 00:01:11
25.   Part VI: Recitative: Und Gott befahl ihnen im Traum… (Evangelist) 00:00:22
26.   Part VI: Recitative: So geht! Genug, mein Schatz geht nicht von hier… (Tenor) 00:01:46
27.   Part VI: Aria: Nun mogt ihr stolzen Feinde schrecken… (Tenor) 00:04:06
28.   Part VI: Recitative (Quartet): Was will der Holle Schrekken nun… (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass) 00:00:34
29.   Part VI: Choral: Nun seid ihr wohl gerochen… (Chorus) 00:03:16

Total Playing Time: 02:19:39

Bach, Johann Sebastian

Henrici, Christian Friedrich

Otto, Ralf

Concerto Cologne

Frankfurt Vocal Ensemble

Groop, Monica; Mertens, Klaus; Pregardien, Christoph; Ziesak, Ruth

Label: Capriccio

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: C60025-2

Barcode: 4006408600251

Physical Release: 1991

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
8:44:37 PM, 5 August 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.