Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > HANDEL, G.F.: Messiah (Marschik)

HANDEL, G.F.: Messiah (Marschik)


HANDEL, G.F.: Messiah (Marschik)

Disc 1

Handel, George Frideric
Bible - New Testament, lyricist(s)

  Messiah, HWV 56
1.   Part I: Sinfonia 00:03:31
2.   Part I: Accompagnato: Comfort ye, comfort ye my people (Tenor) 00:03:10
3.   Part I: Aria: Ev'ry valley shall be exalted (Tenor) 00:03:34
4.   Part I: And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed (Chorus) 00:02:31
5.   Part I: Accompagnato: Thus saith the Lord of Hosts (Bass) 00:01:28
6.   Part I: Aria: But who may abide the day of His coming (Counter - tenor) 00:04:43
7.   Part I: And He shall purify the sons of Levi (Chorus) 00:03:00
8.   Part I: Recitative: Behold, a virgin shall conceive (Counter - tenor) 00:00:23
9.   Part I: Accompagnato: For behold, darkness shall cover the earth (Bass) 00:01:52
10.   Part I: Aria: The people that walked in darkness (Bass) 00:03:38
11.   Part I: For unto a Child is born (Chorus) 00:04:51
12.   Part I: Pifa (Pastoral Symphony): Larghetto e mezzo piano 00:01:02
13.   Part I: Recitative: There were shepherds abiding in the field (Soprano) 00:00:19
14.   Part I: Accompagnato: And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them (Soprano) 00:00:30
15.   Part I: Recitative: And the angel said unto them (Soprano) 00:00:45
16.   Part I: Accompagnato: And suddenly there was with the angel (Soprano) 00:00:19
17.   Part I: Glory to God in the highest (Chorus) 00:02:00
18.   Part I: Aria: Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Soprano) 00:04:13
19.   Part I: Recitative: Then shall the eyes of the blind be opened (Counter - tenor) 00:00:29
20.   Part I: Duet: He shall feed His flock like a shepherd (Counter - tenor, Soprano) 00:04:36
21.   Part I: His yoke is easy, His burthen is light (Chorus) 00:02:54
22.   Part II: Behold the Lamb of God (Chorus) 00:02:56
23.   Part II: Aria: He was despised and rejected of men (Counter - tenor) 00:05:26
24.   Part II: Surely, He hath borne our griefs (Chorus) 00:02:06
25.   Part II: And with His stripes we are healed (Chorus) 00:02:00
26.   Part II: All we like sheep have gone astray (Chorus) 00:04:10
27.   Part II: Accompagnato: All they that see Him Laugh Him to scorn (Tenor) 00:00:50
28.   Part II: He trusted in God that He would deliver Him (Chorus) 00:02:34
29.   Part II: Accompagnato: He was cut off out of the land of the living (Tenor) 00:00:33
30.   Part II: Aria: But thou didst not leave His soul in hell (Tenor) 00:01:14
31.   Part II: Lift up your heads (Chorus) 00:03:03

Disc 2

Handel, George Frideric
Bible - New Testament, lyricist(s)

  Messiah, HWV 56
1.   Part II: Aria: Thou art gone up high (Counter - tenor) 00:03:12
2.   Part II: The Lord gave the word (Chorus) 00:01:09
3.   Part II: Aria: How beautiful are the feet of Him (Soprano) 00:02:19
4.   Part II: Their sound is gone out into all lands (Chorus) 00:01:29
5.   Part II: Aria: Why do the nations so furiosly rage together (Bass) 00:02:47
6.   Part II: Let us break their bonds asunder (Chorus) 00:01:53
7.   Part II: Recitative: He that dwelleth in heaven (Tenor) 00:00:14
8.   Part II: Aria: Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron (Tenor) 00:01:56
9.   Part II: Hallelujah! (Chorus) 00:03:43
10.   Part III: Aria: I know that my Redeemer liveth (Soprano) 00:05:27
11.   Part III: Since by man came death (Chorus) 00:02:00
12.   Part III: Accompagnato: Behold, I tell you a mystery (Bass) 00:00:35
13.   Part III: Aria: The trumpet shall sound (Bass) 00:04:11
14.   Part III: Recitative: Then shall be brought to pass (Counter - tenor) 00:00:21
15.   Part III: Duet: O death, where is thy sting (Counter - tenor, Tenor) 00:01:03
16.   Part III: But thanks be to God (Chorus) 00:02:12
17.   Part III: Aria: If God be for us, who can be against us (Soprano) 00:03:39
18.   Part III: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain (Chorus) - Amen 00:06:39

Total Playing Time: 01:59:29

Handel, George Frideric

Bible - New Testament

Marschik, Peter

Academy of London

Chorus Viennensis

Cencic, Max Emanuel; Humphries, Charles; Sharpe, Ivan; Torday, Robert

Label: Capriccio

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: C60068-2

Barcode: 845221004471

Physical Release: 1995

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
11:46:33 AM, 4 August 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.