Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > WEILL, K.: Firebrand of Florence (The) [Opera]

WEILL, K.: Firebrand of Florence (The) [Opera]


Back Cover Image 

WEILL, K.: Firebrand of Florence (The) [Opera]

Disc 1

Weill, Kurt
Gershwin, Ira, lyricist(s)

  The Firebrand of Florence
1.   Prelude 00:03:42
2.   Act I Scene 1: When the Bell of Doom is Clanging (Narrator, Hangman, Gallows Builders) 00:05:10
3.   Act I Scene 1: If you're bent on viewing something doing, come to Florence! (Chorus, Narrator) 00:04:50
4.   Act I Scene 1: My lords and ladies, foes and friends (Cellini, Choir) 00:08:58
5.   Act I Scene 2: Duet: The master is free again (Emilia, Ascanio, Narrator) 00:01:07
6.   Act I Scene 3: Arietta: I had just been pardoned (Cellini) 00:04:16
7.   Act I Scene 3: Duet: I think you're very handsome (Angela, Cellini, Narrator) 00:06:28
8.   Act I Scene 3: Arietta: I had just been pardoned (Cellini, Marquis, Narrator) 00:00:53
9.   Act I Scene 3: Chorus and Aria: Benvenuto, I implore you, this is your last chance (Marquis, Duke, Ottaviano, Narrator, Chorus) 00:05:09
10.   Act I Scene 3: Finaletto: I am happy here (Angela, Emilia, Duke, Ottaviano, Narrator, Chorus) 00:03:24
11.   Act I Scene 4: Make way for the Duchess (Blackamoor, Duchess, Narrator) 00:02:13
12.   Act I Scene 4: Aria: I am not like Circe, whon showed men no mercy (Duchess, Male Quartet, Cellini, Narrator) 00:05:40
13.   Act I Scene 5: Madrigal: When the Duchess is away (Emilia, Duke, Chorus) 00:03:11
14.   Act I Scene 5: Duet: Although my black misfortune we're surrounded (Angela, Cellini, Narrator) 00:03:22
15.   Act I Scene 5: Trio: Dear young woman (Angela, Duke, Cellini, Narrator) 00:03:54
16.   Act I Scene 5: Finale: All a - tremble we assemble shouting, What's the matter (Entire Company) 00:12:02

Disc 2

Weill, Kurt
Gershwin, Ira, lyricist(s)

  The Firebrand of Florence
1.   Act II Scene 1: Duet: If you ever, ever dared to leave me (Angela , Cellini) 00:01:44
2.   Act II Scene 1: Message from the Duchess! ( Blackamoor, Cellini, Angela, Emilia, Narrator) 00:02:29
3.   Act II Scene 1: The little god of love is the one I'm fondest of (Emilia, Angela, Chorus) 00:04:09
4.   Act II Scene 3: It's always been a pleasure to dedicate a measure (Duke, Chorus) 00:05:15
5.   Act II Scene 4: Procession: Souvenirs! Hurry, hurry, get your souvenirs (Vendors, Hangman, Chorus) 00:01:48
6.   Act II Scene 5: Oh the world is full of villains (Chorus, Duke, Cellini, Magistrate) 00:02:25
7.   Act II Scene 5: In Naples one night a wandering gypsy (Cellini, Duke, Chorus) 00:06:55
8.   Act II Scene 5: Oh, it pays to have a witness (Hangman, Angela, Duchness, Narrator, Chorus) 00:02:38
9.   Act II Scene 5: Duet: Love is my enemy (Cellini, Angela) 00:03:47
10.   Act II Scene 5: My poor child, he isn't worth one of your tears! (Duchness, Angela, Narrator) 00:01:30
11.   Act II Scene 6: If you're bent on viewing something doing, come to Paris ( Marquis, Chorus, Narrator) 00:03:29
12.   Act II Scene 7: Finale: Sarabande: You left Florence without coming to decorate my fountain (Duchess, Cellini, Angela, Duke, Maffio, Narrator) 00:03:57
13.   Act II Scene 7: Finale Ultimo: Heav'n or hell, who can tell what comes after (Entire Company) 00:03:33

Total Playing Time: 01:57:58

Weill, Kurt

Gershwin, Ira

Davis, Andrew

BBC Symphony Orchestra

BBC Singers

Beale, Simon Russell; Charlesworth, Stephen; Dvorsky, George; Fuller, Lori Ann; Gilfry, Rodney; Heath, Roger; Johnston, Robert; MacIntyre, Stuart; Palmer, Felicity; Schaufer, Lucy; Waddington, Henry

Label: Capriccio

Genre: Opera

Catalogue No: C60091

Barcode: 845221004563

Physical Release: 2003

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
9:33:27 AM, 30 April 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.