Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > VERDI: Aida (Teatro Verdi di Busseto, 2001) (PAL)

VERDI: Aida (Teatro Verdi di Busseto, 2001) (PAL)


VERDI: Aida (Teatro Verdi di Busseto, 2001) (PAL)

Giuseppe Verdi
Teatro Verdi di Busseto 2001

Kate Aldrich
Adina Aaron
Scott Piper

Orchestra e Coro della Fondazione Arturo Toscanini


Picture Format: 4:3, 2 DVDs
Sound Format: LPCM stereo, DD 5.1, DLT 5.1
Running Time: 142 mins (opera), 46 mins (bonus)
Region Code: PAL All
Subtitle Languages : GB, F, D, I, E
Bonus: Making of
Territory: Worldwide (midprice)

  • This production of Aida constitutes a remarkable project, with Franco Zeffirelli, legendary film and opera director/producer, staging the ancient Egyptian opera in Verdi’s home town.
  • The young singers, all in their mid-twenties, were selected by the legendary tenor Carlo Bergonzi, who tutored them. The result is truly astonishing, not just because they master the tremendously difficult pieces with ease but because they fill these pieces with a vitality and passion too.
  • The detailed documentary film conveys additional insights into how the production came about.

“Every gesture, every movement, every note seems to come from the very soul of [Adina Aaron’s] being and her naturally shaped singing, care over dynamic contrasts and sheer beauty of tone bespeak an auspicious future. As it is she moved me as much as any Aida since the young Leontyne Price and to judge from the audience’s reaction they shared my enthusiasm and respect for her portrayal.”The Gramophone

Verdi, Giuseppe

Ghislanzoni, Antonio

Stefanelli, Massimiliano

Arturo Toscanini Foundation Orchestra

Arturo Toscanini Foundation Chorus

Aaron, Adina; Aldrich, Kate; Garra, Giuseppe; Iori, Enrico Giuseppe; Pecchioli, Paolo; Piper, Scott


Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: DV-AIDDBM

Barcode: 5450270013449

Distribution Note(s):

Listening samples not available for this release.

Physical Release: 07/2006

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Sweden:
Buy from Naxos Sweden
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
10:39:43 PM, 28 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.