Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MINKUS, L.: Don Quixote (Paris National Opera Ballet, 2002) (PAL)

MINKUS, L.: Don Quixote (Paris National Opera Ballet, 2002) (PAL)


MINKUS, L.: Don Quixote (Paris National Opera Ballet, 2002) (PAL)

Rudolf Nureyev's

Don Quichotte

Music: Ludwig Minkus

Director François Roussillon

Picture Format: 16:9
Sound Format: LPCM stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Running Time: 122 mins
Region Code: PAL All
Booklet Languages: English, German, French
Cat no.: DV-BLDQ

The adventures of Kitri and Basilio take them from the swirling peasant ensembles and high-stepping toreadors in the market square to the wild gypsy dances in their moonlit encampment, and back to the village tavern to the inevitable happy end and flamboyant wedding festivities.

Choreographed by Rudolf Nureyev and performed in a new production by the Paris opera in April 2002, Don Quichotte has an outstanding cast with Aurélie Dupont as Kitri and Manuel Legris as Basilio.

Aurélie Dupont is a dancer of great intelligence with perfect physical proportions in the style of Margot Fonteyn. She was nominated "Etoile" in after her 1998 performance of Kitri.

Manuel Legris is a product of the Paris Opera Ballet School. His career is littered with awards including two 'Prix Nijinsky' (Paris 1998 & Monte Carlo 2000).

Conductor Ermanno Florio has impressed both audiences and critics and has distinguished himself in genres of symphonic, balletic, and operatic repertoire. He is now Music Director of the Houston Ballet.

Minkus, Ludwig

Florio, Ermanno

Paris National Opera Orchestra

Paris National Opera Ballet

Bart, Jean-Guillaume; Didiere, Jean-Marie; Doisneau, Veronique; Dupont, Aurelie; Fiat, Fanny; Gillot, Marie-Agnes; Hurel, Melanie; Legris, Manuel; Moussin, Delphine; Osta, Clairemarie; Paquette, Karl; Queval, Lauren; Roques, Fabien; Saramite, Alexis


Genre: Ballet

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: DV-BLDQ

Barcode: 5450270007790

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in North and South America.

Listening samples not available for this release.

Physical Release: 01/2003

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Sweden:
Buy from Naxos Sweden
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Australia:
Buy from Wesley
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
6:34:25 AM, 6 February 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.