Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MASSENET: Manon (PAL)





Jules Massenet
From Opéra National de Paris, June 2001

Renée Fleming • Marcelo Àlvarez
Jean-Luc Chaignaud • Michel Sénéchal

Orchestre et Chœurs
de l'Opéra National de Paris

Stage Director: Gilbert Deflo

Picture Format: 16:9, 2 DVDs
Sound Format: LPCM stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS 5.1
Running Time: 164 min
Region Code: PAL All
Subtitle Languages: GB, F, D, I, E

Cat. No: DV-OPMANON (re-release)

  • TDK re-presents an exceptional Manon from the Opera Paris on DVD in brand new packaging.
  • With American star soprano Renée Fleming in the many-faceted title role, Argentinean tenor Marcelo Álvarez opposite her and Spanish opera conductor Jesús López-Cobos, this production provides first-rate listening and viewing of a masterpieces of French opéra lyrique.
  • The staging by Gilbert Deflo offers splendid historical costumes by William Orlando, sophisticated lighting, opulent ballet dancing and colourful mass scenes. The minimal décor of darkly shaded abstract backdrops further accentuates the magnificent, colourful costumes – thus shifting the focus onto the interaction between the characters of the drama. This is supported by the close-up filming, so that the viewer can actually experience an intimate filmed drama.

Massenet, Jules

López-Cobos, Jesús

Paris National Opera Orchestra

Paris National Opera Chorus

Alvarez, Marcelo; Azzaretti, Jael; Cals, Isabelle; Chaignaud, Jean-Luc; Ferrari, Franck; Fleming, Renee; Haidan, Delphine; Senechal, Michel


Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: DV-OPMANON

Barcode: 5450270008001

Distribution Note(s):

Listening samples not available for this release.

Physical Release: 08/2003

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Sweden:
Buy from Naxos Sweden
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Australia:
Buy from Wesley
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:55:46 AM, 3 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.