Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > SCHUBERT, F.: Symphonies Nos. 8 and 9 (Wand) (NTSC)

SCHUBERT, F.: Symphonies Nos. 8 and 9 (Wand) (NTSC)


SCHUBERT, F.: Symphonies Nos. 8 and 9 (Wand) (NTSC)

Gunter Wand
conducts NDR Sinfonieorchester

Franz Schubert
Symphonies No. 8 “Unfinished”
and No. 9“The Great”

NDR Sinfonieorchester
Gunter Wand

Picture Format: 16:9, 1 DVD
Sound Format: LPCM stereo
Running Time: 85 mins
Region Code: NTSC All
Subtitle Languages: None
Territory: Worldwide

Cat. No: DVWW-COWAND6 (Single release of the box set DVWW-COWANDBOX2)
  • This DVD constitutes the second of the ‘single’ releases from the second box set of symphonies conducted by Gunter Wand (DVWW-COWANDBOX2), and includes Schubert’s wonderful “Unfinished” Symphony.
  • Günter Wand (1912-2002) made an imperative contribution not only to our understanding of Bruckner but also to that of Schubert as a symphonist. Both composers were particularly close to his heart and his international breakthrough came - late in his life - with his highly-acclaimed Bruckner and Schubert recordings 1974-81.
  • In the television recordings from the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival that are now released for the first time on DVD, Gunter Wand and his inimitable style of conducting are brought back to life in a particularly impressive way.

Schubert, Franz

Wand, Gunter

North German Radio Symphony Orchestra


Genre: Classical Concert

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: DVWW-COWAND6

Barcode: 824121001155

Distribution Note(s):

Listening samples not available for this release.

Physical Release: 07/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Germany only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
2:06:33 AM, 27 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.