Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > PEAKE, M.: Gormenghast (Abridged)

PEAKE, M.: Gormenghast (Abridged)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

PEAKE, M.: Gormenghast (Abridged)

Titus, Earl of Groan, is becoming aware of a world beyond the suffocating confines of Gormenghast, bound by centuries of tradition into a pattern of decaying rituals. He yearns for freedom. Meanwhile the amoral Steerpike continues to forge his way into a position of power, leaving death in his wake and nearly dying in the process. But his rise places him at odds with Titus himself; and only one will survive.

This award-winning sequel displays all of Mervyn Peake’s imaginative brilliance in creating and sustaining the extraordinary world of Gormenghast.

Disc 1

  Gormenghast (Abridged)
1.   Titus is seven. 00:07:15
2.   The Countess walked with a frown on her brow… 00:05:53
3.   Cora and Clarice, although they did not know… 00:06:49
4.   The husky, whispering sound of a score of flying gowns… 00:06:31
5.   He beat his fist into the palm of his other hand. 00:06:34
6.   When Titus awoke the walls of the cave were leaping… 00:05:41
7.   Titus was to be kept in the lichen fort for a week. 00:04:08
8.   There was no sound in all Gormenghast… 00:07:49
9.   It was on the following afternoon that Mrs. Slagg died. 00:07:45
10.   A few days later when Steerpike saw Fuschia emerge… 00:03:52
11.   At the end of the three hours that lay before him… 00:03:42
12.   Steerpike's return to the castle's heart was rapid… 00:06:04
13.   It was then that there was a knock at the door. 00:06:26

Disc 2

  Gormenghast (Abridged)
1.   At the same time Steerpike was fighting to free himself… 00:04:54
2.   When Steerpike had come out of his faint… 00:06:42
3.   Mr. Flay had been sitting for over an hour… 00:07:50
4.   In January the snow came down. 00:07:47
5.   While Flay in his wilderness of hollow halls was brooding… 00:07:15
6.   Dr. Prunesquallor sank back on the couch by the window… 00:05:15
7.   The Doctor had told the Countess… 00:06:32
8.   She turned on her heel… 00:05:17
9.   When Flay heard the door open quietly below him… 00:05:31
10.   And so, without a moment to lose… 00:05:38
11.   It was lucky for Titus that when the Doctor started… 00:05:56
12.   When at last Steerpike came to a certain door… 00:06:24
13.   When Flay and the Doctor, in their different ways… 00:03:33

Disc 3

  Gormenghast (Abridged)
1.   What he did not realise was that the death… 00:04:54
2.   A few days after the murder of Mr. Flay… 00:06:53
3.   The day of the Bright Carvings was at hand. 00:06:19
4.   Then he began to run… 00:04:48
5.   It was hunger that finally woke him. 00:07:09
6.   All of a sudden, Titus knew that he was lying alone… 00:05:24
7.   There was no one alive in Gormenghast who could remember… 00:05:27
8.   For little short of a fortnight the rain continued… 00:05:08
9.   Driven from haunt to haunt… 00:06:10
10.   It was not that Fuschia did not struggle… 00:03:33
11.   Now that the flood had reached its height… 00:04:48
12.   He was altogether exhausted… 00:04:33

Disc 4

  Gormenghast (Abridged)
1.   Knowing that he had several hours to wait… 00:09:46
2.   The unwitting pageantry of the lantern - lit boats… 00:07:31
3.   Titus, as the minutes had passed… 00:05:28
4.   Nevertheless, the time came when the boatman… 00:06:09
5.   When she turned her eye back… 00:06:30
6.   All at once there was a terrible cry from below… 00:05:54
7.   The boats moved out with much splashing of oars… 00:06:37
8.   Ignoring all precautions, he wrenched the boughs about him… 00:04:55
9.   When Titus saw that this was indeed so… 00:03:31
10.   There was no more rain. 00:05:51
11.   One evening in the late spring… 00:05:34

Total Playing Time: 04:49:55

Peake, Mervyn

Degas, Rupert

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Classic Fiction

Catalogue No: NA0062

Barcode: 9781843795384

Boxset: NA0084

Physical Release: 2011

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:27:55 PM, 24 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.