Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MURAKAMI, H.: South of the Border, West of the Sun (Unabridged)

MURAKAMI, H.: South of the Border, West of the Sun (Unabridged)


Back Cover Image 

MURAKAMI, H.: South of the Border, West of the Sun (Unabridged)

Haruki Murakami is unquestionably Japan’s leading novelist with his many works—fiction and non-fiction—consistently reflecting contemporary Japanese life while, unusually, sustaining an international appeal through a deeply human perspective.

South of the Border, West of the Sun is his seventh novel, written in 1992. Hajime tells the story of his relationship with Shimamoto, an unconventional girl, from their first meetings as children through to life as students. They drift apart, but come together years later when Hajime is married and a father of two. Are those former feelings of close friendship still real—real enough to upset a functioning family life? Or are they haunted by intense memories? And who is Shimamoto, and what has she become?

South of the Border, West of the Sun is typically intimate, illusive, unpredictable and absorbing in a way that is uniquely Murakami.

Disc 1

  South of the Border, West of the Sun (Unabridged)
1.   One 00:10:35
2.   During phys. ed. she sat on the sidelines… 00:10:03
3.   I gave the same answer to Shimamoto… 00:10:07
4.   Two 00:08:40
5.   When Izumi left me that day, she thanked me… 00:09:28
6.   Three 00:09:59
7.   Oh God, I thought. I wanted to curl up and die. 00:10:50
8.   Four 00:09:13

Disc 2

  South of the Border, West of the Sun (Unabridged)
1.   In truth, I damaged Izumi beyond repair. 00:04:51
2.   Five 00:05:31
3.   Two years after I started work, I had a date… 00:07:12
4.   Six 00:08:52
5.   She had her hand up, trying to flag down a cab. 00:08:44
6.   Seven 00:08:26
7.   When I turned thirty - six, I bought a small cottage… 00:10:41
8.   He ordered another Wild Turkey on the rocks. 00:11:51
9.   Eight 00:12:58

Disc 3

  South of the Border, West of the Sun (Unabridged)
1.   'You're married' she asked, changing the subject. 00:09:51
2.   She reached out a hand and lightly brushed mine… 00:10:35
3.   Nine 00:11:28
4.   Shimamoto extracted a Salem from her small purse… 00:12:26
5.   Ten 00:09:05
6.   As she crouched by the river… 00:10:45
7.   By the time we reached the airport… 00:06:59
8.   Eleven 00:07:10

Disc 4

  South of the Border, West of the Sun (Unabridged)
1.   I didn't say anything for a while. 00:11:25
2.   I took a shower, then went back to bed… 00:08:16
3.   Twelve 00:08:47
4.   She drank Perrier with a twist of lemon. 00:09:05
5.   A few unsettled weeks like this… 00:09:37
6.   Thirteen 00:09:36
7.   After lunch, I returned to my office to continue work. 00:06:13
8.   Fourteen 00:09:03
9.   She smiled too. The rain has stopped… 00:07:19

Disc 5

  South of the Border, West of the Sun (Unabridged)
1.   It was only the beginning of October… 00:09:20
2.   Shimamoto wrapped both her arms around me… 00:10:38
3.   I closed my eyes tight. And drove those memories… 00:07:20
4.   Fifteen 00:10:28
5.   Starting that night, I slept on the sofa… 00:10:39
6.   The following week, as if lying in wait… 00:09:06
7.   I walked back to my car and slumped into the seat. 00:10:35
8.   Yukiko was silent for a long time. 00:09:07

Total Playing Time: 06:32:54

Murakami, Haruki

Loren, Eric

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Classic Fiction

Period: Contemporary

Catalogue No: NA0166

Barcode: 9781843798064

Physical Release: 03/2014

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:31:01 AM, 25 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.