Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > Collection: Poems of the Orient

Collection: Poems of the Orient


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

Collection: Poems of the Orient

Disc 1

  Poems of the Orient
1.   Verse I - Wake! For The Sun, Who Scatter'd Into Flight 00:03:11
2.   Verse XII - A Book Of Verses Underneath The Bough 00:03:11
3.   Verse XXV - Alike For Those Who For To - day Prepare 00:06:06
4.   Verse L - A Hair Perhaps Divides The False And True 00:06:12
5.   Verse LXXV - I Tell You This - When, Started From The Goal 00:07:06
6.   The Vision 00:01:53
7.   Jamshid's Love - making 00:07:01
8.   Happy The Moment 00:02:01
9.   What Is To Be Done, O Muslims 00:02:18
10.   I Died A Mineral and Became A Plant 00:01:10
11.   I Questioned Once A Ball Of Scented Clay 00:00:41
12.   The Dervish Cloak Admits Not To Heaven 00:01:11
13.   Dear To Me This Lamentation 00:02:08
14.   Earthly And Heavenly Love 00:03:23
15.   The Women Of Memphis 00:12:33
16.   The Hammam Name 00:04:09
17.   Lat Night Your Faded Memory Filled My Heart 00:00:56
18.   My Fellow Man, My Friend 00:02:44
19.   Love, Do Not Ask 00:01:10
20.   Solitude 00:02:03
21.   Ghazal No 14 - Beyond The Stars More Worlds 00:01:05
22.   My Offence 00:00:56
23.   Geetanjali 83 - We Agreed To Sail Together 00:01:31
24.   Prantik I - The Messenger Of Death Came Silently 00:02:53

Disc 2

  Poems of the Orient
1.   The Destruction Of Sennacherib 00:02:18
2.   Hebrew Melodies: She Walks In Beauty 00:01:19
3.   The Veiled Prophet Of Khorassan 00:05:36
4.   'But There Was One Among The Chosen Maids' 00:07:46
5.   'And Such Was Now Young Zelica' 00:13:54
6.   'Prepare Thy Soul, Young Azim!' 00:09:47
7.   'The Song Is Hush'd, The Laughing Nymphs Are Flown' 00:07:31
8.   'Whose are The Gilded Tents That Crowd The Way' 00:13:17
9.   'Again, As In Merou, He Had Her Deck'd' 00:10:22
10.   'But Morn Is Up, And A Fresh Warfare Stirs' 00:05:58

Total Playing Time: 02:35:20

Hayes, Polly; Madoc, Philip; Philpott, Daniel; Sharma, Madhav; Timson, David

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Poetry

Catalogue No: NA215612

Barcode: 9789626341568

Physical Release: 06/1998

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
3:28:14 PM, 27 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.