Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > COWARD, N.: Blithe Spirit (Unabridged)

COWARD, N.: Blithe Spirit (Unabridged)


About this Recording

COWARD, N.: Blithe Spirit (Unabridged)

When novelist Charles Condomine invites a medium into his house in order to learn about the occult for his new book, the last thing he or his second wife dreams is that the séance will bring back his first wife, Elvira, who wants Charles all to herself! Things are further complicated by the fact that only Charles can see her, which results in some hilarious exchanges and misunderstandings. Elvira’s plots to get him to ‘the other side’ do not go to plan however, and instead of Charles dying in her contrived ‘accident’, his new wife does! Many consider this to be one of Coward’s best and most unusual farces.

Disc 1

  Blithe Spirit - An Improbable Farce
1.   Act 1 Scene 1 00:01:45
2.   RUTH: "That's right Edith." 00:00:56
3.   EDITH: "Your cigarette case, sir" 00:01:43
4.   CHARLES: "well to begin with... " 00:04:00
5.   CHARLES: "That's probably the Bradmans." 00:00:29
6.   EDITH: "Dr and Mrs Bradman." 00:03:43
7.   MADAME ARCATI: "I've leant my bike... " 00:02:56
8.   RUTH: "I expect it's dreadfully ignorant of me not to know... " 00:02:33
9.   Act 1 Scene 2 00:02:55
10.   RUTH: "How very wise" 00:03:34
11.   MADAME ARCATI: "Little Tommy Tucker... " 00:00:59
12.   MADAME ARCATI: "Will you all sit round the table... " 00:03:14
13.   MADAME ARCATI: "Is there anyone there... " 00:03:07
14.   MADAME ARCATI: "Little Tommy Tucker" 00:01:23
15.   CHARLES: "I can't bear this for another minute." 00:03:56
16.   RUTH: "Oh dear! Oh dear!" 00:00:52
17.   RUTH: "I suddenly felt a draught... " 00:01:21
18.   RUTH: "Well darling" 00:03:43
19.   ELVIRA: "That was one of the most enjoyable... " 00:04:10
20.   Act 2 Scene 1 00:05:09
21.   CHARLES: "Once and for all Ruth... " 00:01:35
22.   EDITH: "Can I clear please'm" 00:02:49
23.   ELVIRA: "You've absolutely ruined that border by the sundial." 00:03:39
24.   CHARLES: "Ruth, you see that bowl of flowers on the piano" 00:02:11
25.   Act 2 Scene 2 00:02:54
26.   MADAME ARCATI: "Capital, Capital... " 00:07:38
27.   CHARLES: "What on earth was Madame Arcati doing here" 00:04:40
28.   CHARLES: "Ruth... " 00:02:23

Disc 2

  Blithe Spirit - An Improbable Farce
1.   Act 2 Scene 3 00:01:40
2.   DR BRADMAN: "Nothing to worry about Mrs Condomine... " 00:01:49
3.   DR BRADMAN: "Ah Charles, how does it feel" 00:01:08
4.   RUTH: "You really are infuriating, Elvira." 00:03:39
5.   CHARLES: "Look out!" 00:00:57
6.   CHARLES: "There now." 00:03:44
7.   Act 3 Scene 1 00:04:52
8.   ELVIRA: "Charles!" 00:02:02
9.   ELVIRA: "How good is she really" 00:05:28
10.   CHARLES: "Madame Arcati, would you please come in now" 00:03:37
11.   MADAME ARCATI: "Ghostly spectre... " 00:03:25
12.   Act 3 Scene 2 00:03:44
13.   CHARLES: "Have you any suggestions" 00:05:28
14.   RUTH: " Do concentrate, Elvira, and keep still." 00:02:23
15.   RUTH: "I believe it's going to work,... " 00:03:40
16.   CHARLES: "Ruth, Elvira, are you there" 00:03:35

Total Playing Time: 02:11:28

Coward, Noel

Francis, Abigail; Lumley, Joanna; Markham, Kika; Morley, Sheridan; Redgrave, Corin; Ruby, Thelma; Sara, Cathy; Timson, David

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Plays - Others

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: NA226312

Barcode: 9789626342633

Physical Release: 06/2002

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
11:59:09 AM, 25 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.