Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > TALES FROM THE ARABIAN NIGHTS: Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves and other stories

TALES FROM THE ARABIAN NIGHTS: Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves and other stories


About this Recording

TALES FROM THE ARABIAN NIGHTS: Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves and other stories

Toby Stephens takes us back to the world of cunning, adventure, mishap and fun. Sheherezade, night after night, weaves her tales and Aladdin and his Magic Lamp, Sinbad the Sailor, Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves and other tales come alive. The unforgettable music of Rimsky Korsakov sets the scene perfectly. A delightful treat for young listeners.

Disc 1

  Tales from the Arabian Nights - Introduction
1.   Tales from the Arabian Nights 00:03:20
2.   One day, when the grand - vizir was talking to his eldest daughter... 00:04:09
3.   When the usual hour arrived 00:03:07
  Aladdin and the Wonderful Lamp
4.   Aladdin and the Wonderful Lamp 00:04:28
5.   Aladdin found everything as the magician had said... 00:03:13
6.   One day Aladdin heard an order from the Sultan 00:03:11
7.   Aladdin waited patiently for nearly three months... 00:02:46
8.   When the three months were over... 00:03:22
9.   The palace was finished by the next day... 00:02:40
10.   But far away in Africa the magician remembered Aladdin... 00:03:04
11.   Next morning the Sultan looked out of the window 00:02:57
12.   That morning the Princess rose earlier 00:03:46
13.   The Sultan, who was sitting in his closet... 00:04:38
  Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves
14.   Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves 00:03:05
15.   Knowing Ali Baba's poverty... 00:03:19
16.   As night drew on Cassim's wife grew very uneasy... 00:02:34
17.   The forty thieves, on their return to the cave... 00:03:06
18.   The Captain now resolved to go himself... 00:04:09
19.   At daybreak Ali Baba arose... 00:02:57
20.   She sent up the supper by Abdallah... 00:03:27

Disc 2

  The Seven Voyages of Sinbad the Sailor
1.   The Seven Voyages of Sinbad the Sailor 00:03:53
2.   My rescuer introduced me to his friends 00:03:06
3.   The second voyage. The following day... 00:04:16
4.   The third voyage. Sinbad the bearer of burdens 00:04:04
5.   It was not a peaceful night, however 00:03:38
6.   The fourth voyage. Next morning... 00:03:31
7.   As time went by, my reputation grew... 00:03:03
8.   The days passed 00:02:32
9.   The fifth voyage. At the first light of dawn next day... 00:03:34
10.   A few days after this... 00:03:58
11.   The sixth voyage. Next morning, he returned... 00:03:57
12.   When I awoke, I was back in the open air... 00:02:25
13.   The seventh voyage. Back he came at sunrise next day... 00:03:07
14.   By that time I was half dead from hunger and terror 00:03:45
15.   The story of blind Baba - Abdalla 00:03:52
16.   After walking some time... 00:03:08
17.   I was a quick runner... 00:03:19
18.   Oh, if he had only refused my request! 00:03:40
19.   "Miserable dervish!" I shrieked... 00:02:37
20.   After one thousand nights 00:01:21

Total Playing Time: 02:14:04

Stephens, Toby

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Junior Classic Fiction

Catalogue No: NA232712

Barcode: 9789626343272

Physical Release: 11/2004

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
12:20:27 AM, 30 April 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.