Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MELVILLE, H.: Billy Budd (Unabridged)

MELVILLE, H.: Billy Budd (Unabridged)


About this Recording

MELVILLE, H.: Billy Budd (Unabridged)

A sea classic from the master pen of Herman Melville. Billy Budd, a sailor on a merchantman, is ‘pressed’ into service on HMS Indomitable during the Napoleonic Wars. He is popular among the crew, but is victimised by a brutal master-at-arms and tragedy becomes inevitable. Published posthumously, Billy Budd, Sailor was championed by EM Forster and has since been recognised as a major work in Melville’s oeuvre.

Disc 1

  Billy Budd
1.   Chapter 1: In the time before steamships, 00:08:28
2.   Chapter 1: Now while Billy Budd was down in the forecastle 00:06:34
3.   Chapter 1: The transfer from chest to bag was made. 00:04:12
4.   Chapter 2: Though our new - made foretopman 00:09:31
5.   Chapter 3: At the time of Billy Budd's arbitrary enlistment 00:05:33
6.   Chapter 4: In this matter of writing 00:05:41
7.   Chapter 5: Yes, the outbreak at the Nore was put down. 00:02:30
8.   Chapter 6: But on board the seventy - four 00:05:01
9.   Chapter 7: In view of the part that the Commander 00:04:10
10.   Chapter 8: The lieutenants and other commissioned gentlemen 00:10:08
11.   Chapter 9: Life in the fore - top well agreed with Billy Budd. 00:08:38
12.   Chapter 10: The next day 00:03:11

Disc 2

  Billy Budd
1.   Chapter 11: What was the matter with the Master - at - Arms 00:09:03
2.   Chapter 12: Lawyers, Experts, Clergy - An Episode. 00:01:11
3.   Chapter 13: That Claggart's figure was not amiss. 00:04:12
4.   Chapter 14: Passion, and passion in its profoundest, 00:04:33
5.   Chapter 15: Not many days after the last incident narrated, 00:05:50
6.   Chapter 16: This incident sorely puzzled Billy Budd. 00:06:04
7.   Chapter 17: Yes, despite the Dansker's pithy insistence 00:03:12
8.   Chapter 18: But after the little matter at the mess 00:06:01
9.   Chapter 19: After the mysterious interview in the fore - chains 00:09:49
10.   Chapter 19: Now the handsome sailor, 00:06:56
11.   Chapter 20: Now when the Foretopman found himself closeted there, 00:09:22
12.   Chapter 21: Full of disquietude and misgiving 00:01:45

Disc 3

  Billy Budd
1.   Chapter 22: Who in the rainbow can draw the line 00:07:09
2.   Chapter 22: All being quickly in readiness, 00:09:38
3.   Chapter 22: When speak he did, 00:07:16
4.   Chapter 22: Can we not convict and yet mitigate the penalty 00:05:17
5.   Chapter 23: It was Captain Vere himself 00:02:49
6.   Chapter 24: Of a series of incidents within a brief term 00:05:26
7.   Chapter 25: In a seventy - four of the old order 00:09:44
8.   Chapter 26: The night, so luminous on the spar - deck, 00:05:01
9.   Chapter 27: A Digression. 00:03:16
10.   Chapter 28: The silence at the moment of execution 00:06:29
11.   Chapter 29: The symmetry of form attainable 00:03:07
12.   Chapter 30: Some few weeks after the execution, 00:03:03
13.   Chapter 31: Everything is for a term remarkable in navies. 00:04:25

Total Playing Time: 03:34:15

Melville, Herman

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: NA330012

Barcode: 0730099030021

Physical Release: 08/2003

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Germany only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
2:29:38 AM, 30 November 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.