Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
in
 
Classical Music Home > DOYLE, A.C.: Poison Belt (Unabridged)

DOYLE, A.C.: Poison Belt (Unabridged)

    

Back Cover Image 
Reviews
About this Recording

DOYLE, A.C.: Poison Belt (Unabridged)

The world is on the brink of disaster: a cloud of poison is soon to envelop the planet, killing all mankind with it. There seems to be no way anyone can escape. But Professor Challenger is not one to let an approaching apocalypse stifle him. Calling together his three friends from their earlier adventure in The Lost World, he sets about ensuring that they can survive. But will it be enough?

In the tradition of H.G. Wells, The Poison Belt is a significant book in British science fiction history. It is also a fast-paced adventure story that is disarmingly touching.



Disc 1

  The Poison Belt (Unabridged)
1.   Chapter 1: The Blurring of Lines 00:07:12
2.   'We will suppose,' I read… 00:08:02
3.   I was coming out from the news editor's room… 00:04:59
4.   But our good humour was restored… 00:07:28
5.   'That may be…' 00:06:53
6.   He gave me the amused handshake… 00:06:39
7.   Chapter 2: The Tide of Death 00:08:03
8.   The explanation only brought uproarious… 00:07:30
9.   'Later, when I descended to order the car…' 00:05:49
10.   Summerlee had risen… 00:08:36


Disc 2

  The Poison Belt (Unabridged)
1.   Lord John Roxton wiped his brow. 00:07:26
2.   'Talkin' of death,' said Lord John… 00:04:48
3.   Chapter 3: Submerged 00:08:54
4.   At that instant, just as I took a step… 00:06:53
5.   Challenger smiled and shook his head… 00:07:18
6.   'There is a house on fire…' 00:06:39
7.   'It strikes me nature's on top this time… 00:06:32
8.   'As to the body,' remarked Challenger… 00:04:41
9.   Chapter 4: A Diary of the Dying 00:06:32
10.   'Well, even now I don't feel inclined…' 00:06:23
11.   We fall into silence again. 00:05:37


Disc 3

  The Poison Belt (Unabridged)
1.   I look out at the sunrise… 00:05:07
2.   'I cannot truthfully describe…' 00:05:57
3.   Chapter 5: The Dead World 00:08:02
4.   Summerlee craned his neck… 00:08:36
5.   It was this grim hush… 00:07:01
6.   It was here that we received… 00:06:49
7.   A dozen motorbuses… 00:06:26
8.   Chapter 6: The Great Awakening 00:08:35
9.   I rushed downstairs… 00:08:57
10.   Well, I seem to recollect… 00:06:58

Total Playing Time: 03:35:22






Author(s):
Doyle, Arthur Conan

Reader(s):
McCready, Glen

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Classic Fiction

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: NA393312

Barcode: 9789626349335

Physical Release: 07/2009

For Worldwide / Download:
ClassicsOnLine
For U.S. only:
Buy from Amazon.com
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Canada only:
Buy from Amazon.ca
For U.K. Only:
Buy from NaxosDirect.co.uk
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from www.jpc.de
For Germany:
Buy from NaxosDirekt.de
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles

 



 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page Del.icio.us. |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
7:32:18 PM, 16 April 2014
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2014 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
-208-
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.