Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > BUNYAN, J.: Pilgrim's Progress (The) (Abridged)

BUNYAN, J.: Pilgrim's Progress (The) (Abridged)


About this Recording

BUNYAN, J.: Pilgrim's Progress (The) (Abridged)

This great religious allegory, dating from the late 1670s, is presented as a dream in which Christian undertakes a journey through the Slough of Despond to the Celestial City. In Part II, he is followed by his wife Christina and their children. This allegory of a man in search of truth has proved popular throughout the world since its first publication.

Disc 1

  The Pilgrim's Progress
1.   The City Of Destruction: As I Walked Through The Wilderness Of This World 00:05:41
2.   The Neighbours - Obstinate And Pliable 00:05:51
3.   The Slough Of Despond - 'A Very Miry Slough' 00:03:48
4.   Mr Worldly Wiseman And The Village Of Morality 00:05:44
5.   The Evangelist - 'With A Severe And Dreadful Countenance' 00:05:20
6.   The Wicket Gate And Mr Good - will 00:03:51
7.   The House Of The Interpreter 00:05:38
8.   Christian Arrives At The Cross And Is Met By Three Shining Ones 00:04:27
9.   Christian Meets Formalist And Hypocrisy And Approaches The Hill Of Difficulty 00:05:50
10.   Christian Meets Timorous And Mistrust And Retrieves His Roll 00:04:29
11.   The Palace Beautiful - The Lions, The Porter, Watchful And Damsels 00:10:10
12.   Christian Eats And Discourses - And Arms Himself For The Journey 00:04:22
13.   The Valley Of Humiliation - And The Encounter With Appollyon 00:08:28

Disc 2

  The Pilgrim's Progress
1.   After The Battle - The Valley Of The Shadow Of Death 00:05:30
2.   In The Midst Of The Valley 00:06:02
3.   Christian Meets His Old Friend Faithful 00:04:12
4.   Vanity Fair 00:06:19
5.   Christian And Faithful Are Charged And Tried 00:09:18
6.   Judge And Jury - And Sentence 00:04:35
7.   Christian And Hopeful Meet By - ends 00:06:33
8.   Lucre, A Silver Mine, And Demas 00:04:43
9.   A Pillar Of Salt And By - path Meadow 00:07:59
10.   Doubting Castle, Giant Despair And His Wife Diffidence 00:07:38
11.   The Delectable Mountains - The Shepherds Show Them The Routes 00:02:47
12.   Walking With The Shepherds - And The Path To The Celestial City 00:05:22
13.   The Athiest With His Back Towards Zion 00:05:16

Disc 3

  The Pilgrim's Progress
1.   The Country Of Beulah - Meeting Two Men, In Raiment That Shone Like Gold 00:05:27
2.   Crossing The River 00:05:22
3.   The Sight Of The Celestial City 00:06:36
4.   At The Gate, In Gold: 'Blessed Are They That Do His Commandments' 00:05:31
5.   The Pilgrim's Progress - The Second Part 00:05:11
6.   Christiana Confides In Her Children And Has A Dream 00:05:39
7.   Christiana Makes Up Her Mind 00:09:11
8.   The Dreamer Changes And Christiana And Mercy Reach The Wicket Gate 00:07:25
9.   The Boy's, Christiana And Mercy Encounter Obstacles 00:05:09
10.   The House Of The Interpreter - And The Man With The Muck - rake 00:05:44
11.   The Interpreter Calls For His Man - servant, Great - Heart 00:06:35
12.   The Party Meets The Lions And Grim 00:03:02
13.   At The Porter's Lodge 00:05:57

Disc 4

  The Pilgrim's Progress
1.   Matthew Falls Sick - And Mr Skill Arrives 00:07:13
2.   Mr Great - Heart Returns And They Set Off To The Valley Of Humiliation 00:05:54
3.   The Valley Of The Shadow Of Death 00:08:18
4.   The Party Meets The Giant Maul 00:04:49
5.   The Old Pilgrim Mr Honest 00:05:15
6.   At The Inn - The Inkeeper Gaius 00:05:59
7.   In The Morning 00:05:36
8.   The Town Of Vanity - A Cyprusian Named Mr Mnason 00:05:51
9.   The Journey Continues - To Lucre, The By - path Meadow And Doubting Castle 00:08:52
10.   On To The Delectable Mountains 00:03:02
11.   Valiant - For - Truth 00:06:49
12.   The Enchanted Ground - And On 00:04:16
13.   Mr Stand - Fast Joins The Party 00:07:38

Total Playing Time: 05:06:14

Bunyan, John

Souza, Edward de

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Great Epics and Tales

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: NA417112

Barcode: 9789626341711

Physical Release: 03/1999

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:29:30 AM, 2 December 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.