Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > BOCCACCIO: Decameron (The) (Abridged)

BOCCACCIO: Decameron (The) (Abridged)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

BOCCACCIO: Decameron (The) (Abridged)

Here are sixteen tales from one of the great works of the Middle Ages. Ten young people have fled for a while, the terrible effects of the Black Death in Florence and, in an idyllic setting, tell a series of brilliant stories, by turns humorous, bawdy, tragic and provocative. This celebration of physical and sexual vitality is Boccaccio’s answer to the sublime other-worldliness of Dante’s Divine Comedy…

Disc 1

  Selections from The Decameron
1.   1348, Florence. The Plague 00:09:50
2.   The funeral customs are abandoned 00:06:20
3.   Seven young women in the church of Santa Maria Novella 00:08:25
4.   Three young men come into the church and Pampinea proposes 00:06:43
5.   Dioneo’s tale of a young monk attracted by a pretty girl, and is espied by the Abbot 00:06:55
6.   Panfilo’s tale of the misfortunes of a beautiful Saracen girl, whose beauty... 00:06:51
7.   Pericone became daily more ardent 00:06:14
8.   Alatiel courted by Prince of the Morea in Corinth 00:06:25
9.   War became more imminent 00:06:12
10.   Antioco and his merchant friend, and Antigono of Famagusta 00:08:58
11.   Alatiel tells her father of her adventures 00:05:46

Disc 2

  Selections from The Decameron
1.   The company moves on 00:05:48
2.   Pampinea’s tale of Agilulf, King of the Lombards, his Queen Theodilinda and the groom… 00:10:15
3.   Fiammetta tells a tragic tale of the rage of Tancred, Prince of Salerno spent on Ghismonda and her lover Guiscardo 00:14:01
4.   The Prince gives the command to kill 00:06:26
5.   Pampinea lightens the mood of the party with a story of a monkish seduction 00:12:17
6.   Gossip gains control 00:07:13
7.   Filomena tells a tale of unswerving love 00:08:37

Disc 3

  Selections from The Decameron
1.   Eliza tells of pure and honest love of Angolella and Pietro 00:14:01
2.   Filistrato recounts the balcony consummation of the love of Ricciardo and Caterina 00:12:26
3.   Dioneo reports on a wife consigned to a marriage to a man who prefers men 00:15:10
4.   Filistrato on the rights of women 00:05:27
5.   Dioneo becomes king and leads the party to a new home 00:01:19
6.   Filistrato with the story of the wine butt 00:07:48
7.   Filomena tells a knightly tale of love 00:12:21

Disc 4

  Selections from The Decameron
1.   Fiammetta enjoys the revenge of one friend upon another 00:07:48
2.   Emilia shows how easily a doctor can be a fool for all his learning 00:09:44
3.   The doctor asks to join the club 00:13:13
4.   The doctor goes to the tombs 00:06:00
5.   Panfilo imagines a busy night at an inn on the road 00:08:31
6.   Dioneo tells of patient Griselda and her testing husband Gualtieri 00:07:41
7.   Gualtieri sends his daughter away 00:06:27
8.   Gualtieri announces he will marry again 00:07:08
9.   The story telling is at an end, and the company part 00:02:31

Total Playing Time: 04:40:51

Boccaccio, Giovanni

Gallagher, Teresa; Goode, James; Hayes, Polly; Keeble, Jonathan; O'Neal, Siri; Pettitt, Alison; Philpott, Daniel; Rainsford, Nickie; Thorne, Stephen

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Great Epics and Tales

Period: Medieval

Catalogue No: NA438012

Barcode: 9789626343807

Physical Release: 06/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
3:31:50 PM, 30 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.