Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > WILDE, O.: Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories (Unabridged)

WILDE, O.: Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories (Unabridged)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

WILDE, O.: Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories (Unabridged)

A palmist’s prediction leads to murder; an enigmatic woman’s lifestyle is a mystery to be solved; a ghost tries to frighten the new tenants of his home; a man has discovered the dedicatee of Shakespeare’s Sonnets; a millionaire wants to be painted as a pauper. Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime and Other Stories is a collection of fascinating short stories which are subversive as well as entertaining. Also included in this audiobook is The Birthday of the Infanta from A House of Pomegranates. An ugly dwarf loves a beautiful princess, but how will his feelings fare in a cruel society?

Disc 1

  Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories (Unabridged)
1.   Lord Arthur Savile's Crime: Chapter 1 00:06:39
2.   'Dear Gladys, I really don't think…' 00:08:14
3.   Suddenly Mr. Podgers dropped Lord Arthur's right hand… 00:07:45
4.   Chapter 2 00:06:35
5.   Chapter 3 00:07:26
6.   On his way to the Buckingham… 00:08:40
7.   Chapter 4 00:06:06
8.   Chapter 5 00:06:56
9.   Lord Arthur's face brightened up… 00:08:20
10.   When he got upstairs… 00:07:10
11.   Chapter 6 00:03:28

Disc 2

  Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories (Unabridged)
1.   The Canterville Ghost: Chapter 1 00:05:06
2.   As Canterville Chase is seven miles… 00:05:01
3.   Chapter 2 00:07:42
4.   Chapter 3 00:07:49
5.   At half - past ten… 00:06:41
6.   Chapter 4 00:04:56
7.   He now gave up all hope… 00:05:34
8.   Chapter 5 00:06:16
9.   Virginia grew quite grave… 00:05:36
10.   Chapter 6 00:08:48
11.   Chapter 7 00:04:25
12.   Lord Canterville listened… 00:05:44

Disc 3

  Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories (Unabridged)
1.   The Portrait of Mr. W. H.: Chapter 1 00:06:35
2.   'Well,' said Erskine, lighting a cigarette… 00:05:39
3.   'He began by pointing out that the young man…' 00:05:42
4.   'Having in this manner cleared the way…' 00:06:01
5.   'It was a wonderful evening…' 00:07:09
6.   'High words passed between us…' 00:05:35
7.   Chapter 2 00:05:45
8.   Some scholars have supposed… 00:06:34
9.   For two weeks I worked hard at the Sonnets… 00:07:17
10.   Once I thought that I had really found Willie Hughes… 00:06:17
11.   Chapter 3 00:05:10
12.   We argued the matter over for hours… 00:05:53

Disc 4

  Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories (Unabridged)
1.   The Model Millionaire: Unless one is wealthy… 00:06:26
2.   That night he strolled into the Palette Club… 00:06:27
3.   The Sphinx Without a Secret – An Etching: One afternoon I was sitting outside the Cafe de la Paix… 00:06:52
4.   'All through the season I saw a great deal of her…' 00:06:41
5.   The Birthday of the Infanta: It was the birthday of the Infanta. 00:10:58
6.   It certainly was a marvellous bull - fight… 00:08:22
7.   But the funniest part… 00:09:05
8.   The flowers, however… 00:07:51
9.   It was a throne - room… 00:11:14

Total Playing Time: 04:58:30

Wilde, Oscar

Degas, Rupert; Donovan, Anthony; Timson, David

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Classic Fiction

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: NA488312

Barcode: 9789626348833

Physical Release: 2010

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
11:51:00 PM, 6 February 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.