Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MCCARTHY, C.: Road (The) (Abridged)

MCCARTHY, C.: Road (The) (Abridged)


Back Cover Image 

MCCARTHY, C.: Road (The) (Abridged)

The Road has been hailed by critics as a masterpiece. The novel paints a bleak vision of a post-apocalyptic America; a land where no hope remains. A man and his son walk alone towards the coast, and this is the moving story of their journey. The Road is an unflinching exploration of human behaviour—from ultimate destructiveness to extreme tenderness.

Disc 1

  The Road
1.   When he woke in the woods in the dark… 00:07:03
2.   On the far side of the river valley… 00:07:08
3.   They bore on south in the days and weeks to follow… 00:05:27
4.   The weather lifted and the cold and they came at last… 00:07:09
5.   Three nights later in the foothills of the eastern mountains… 00:05:55
6.   He woke toward the morning… 00:08:16
7.   It took four more days.… 00:07:04
8.   When the bridge came in sight below them… 00:08:34
9.   The clocks stopped at 1.17. 00:07:35
10.   Something woke him. 00:06:52
11.   They came to an old iron bridge in the woods… 00:06:52

Disc 2

  The Road
1.   They pushed the cart through the woods… 00:07:15
2.   In the morning they came up out of the ravine… 00:06:43
3.   The boy was sitting on the steps… 00:06:55
4.   He'd come to see a message in each such late history… 00:07:20
5.   When day broke he pushed his way out… 00:05:57
6.   They'd had no food and little sleep in five days… 00:07:15
7.   They tore through the house to the front door… 00:05:37
8.   Across the fields to the south… 00:05:19
9.   In the mudroom off the kitchen… 00:04:46
10.   The boy hung on to his coat… 00:06:46
11.   They walked through the streets… 00:07:54
12.   The bunker was walled with concrete block… 00:07:33

Disc 3

  The Road
1.   He brought the frying pan from the stove… 00:06:28
2.   When he woke again he thought the rain had stopped… 00:04:40
3.   Late in the day following… 00:05:40
4.   They bivouacked in the woods… 00:07:51
5.   In the early afternoon they spread their tarp… 00:05:14
6.   He'd slept little in weeks. 00:05:59
7.   In the late afternoon it began to rain. 00:07:19
8.   Beyond a crossroads in that wilderness… 00:05:36
9.   The country went from pine to liveoak… 00:07:10
10.   They slept more and more. 00:08:10
11.   They ate slowly out of bone china bowls… 00:06:54
12.   They ate more sparingly. 00:05:28

Disc 4

  The Road
1.   In the morning he rekindled the fire… 00:05:33
2.   He was half expecting some horror… 00:05:33
3.   They hurried down the beach against the light… 00:05:14
4.   In the first dull light he rose… 00:06:31
5.   He got dressed and they set out down the beach… 00:04:40
6.   In the morning he built a fire… 00:06:55
7.   In two days time they were walking the beach… 00:08:06
8.   In the morning they ate and set out… 00:06:39
9.   In the morning it was raining… 00:06:06
10.   They'd begun to come upon dead windfalls of pinetrees… 00:05:25
11.   The boy left the flare pistol… 00:05:29
12.   He stayed three days… 00:08:49

Total Playing Time: 05:08:44

McCarthy, Cormac

Degas, Rupert

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Classic Fiction

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: NA497112

Barcode: 9789626349717

Physical Release: 01/2009

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
4:38:31 AM, 29 July 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.