Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MARSHALL, H.E.: Our Island Story, Vol. 2 (Unabridged)

MARSHALL, H.E.: Our Island Story, Vol. 2 (Unabridged)


About this Recording

MARSHALL, H.E.: Our Island Story, Vol. 2 (Unabridged)

Our Island Story by H.E. Marshall is an Edwardian history book for younger listeners (aged six–twelve) which tells the story of England, concluding with the reign of Queen Victoria. Antonia Fraser and many other current historians declare that it was this book that opened the delights of history for them. It fell from fashion in the 1960s, but its recent re-release in hardback has seen it become a publishing surprise in the UK, with sales of some 75,000 copies in a few months. Now, Naxos AudioBooks releases it unabridged in three volumes released in March 2006, April 2006 and May 2006, divided into three clear periods of history. Though slightly edited to take account of historical changes and attitudes, it is presented unabridged.

Disc 1

  Our Island Story, Chapters XXXV - LXXIII: From the Magna Carta to Queen Elizabeth I
1.   Chapter XXXV: John Lackland – The Story of Prince Arthur 00:04:43
2.   Chapter XXXVI: John Lackland – The Story of the Great Charter 00:14:01
3.   Chapter XXXVII: Henry III of Winchester – Hubert de Burgh 00:07:57
4.   Chapter XXXVIII: Henry III of Winchester – Simon de Montfort 00:09:01
5.   Chapter XXXIX: Henry III – The Story of the Poisoned Dagger 00:06:15
6.   Chapter XL: Edward I – The Little War of Chalons 00:05:40
7.   Chapter XLI: Edward I – The Lawgiver 00:07:37
8.   Chapter XLII: Edward I – The Hammer of the Scots 00:08:28

Disc 2

  Our Island Story, Chapters XXXV - LXXIII: From the Magna Carta to Queen Elizabeth I
1.   Chapter XLIII: The Story of King Robert the Bruce and Bohun 00:09:59
2.   Chapter XLIV: Story of the Battle of Bannockburn 00:05:41
3.   Chapter XLV: Edward III of Windsor – The Battle of Sluys 00:06:19
4.   Chapter XLVI: Edward III of Windsor – The Battle of Crécy 00:14:15
5.   Chapter XLVII: Edward III of Windsor – The Siege of Calais 00:13:07
6.   Chapter XLVIII: Edward III of Windsor – The Battle of Poitiers 00:07:14
7.   Chapter XLIX: Richard II of Bordeaux – Wat Tyler's Rebellion 00:12:59

Disc 3

  Our Island Story, Chapters XXXV - LXXIII: From the Magna Carta to Queen Elizabeth I
1.   Chapter L: How King Richard Lost His Throne 00:04:27
2.   Chapter LI: Henry IV of Bolingbroke – Battle of Shrewsbury 00:06:48
3.   Chapter LII: The Story of How Prince Hal was Sent to Prison 00:04:46
4.   Chapter LIII: Henry V of Monmouth – The Battle of Agincourt 00:08:04
5.   Chapter LIV: Henry VI of Windsor – The Maid of Orleans 00:10:58
6.   Chapter LV: Henry VI of Windsor – Red Rose and White 00:10:48
7.   Chapter LVI: Edward IV – Queen Margaret and the Robbers 00:05:13
8.   Chapter LVII: Edward IV – The Story of the Kingmaker 00:08:11

Disc 4

  Our Island Story, Chapters XXXV - LXXIII: From the Magna Carta to Queen Elizabeth I
1.   Chapter LVIII: Edward V – The King Who was Never Crowned 00:09:52
2.   Chapter LIX: Richard III – Two Little Princes in the Tower 00:05:38
3.   Chapter LX: Henry VII – Story of the Make - Believe Prince 00:07:48
4.   Chapter LXI: Henry VII – Another Make - Believe Prince 00:10:36
5.   Chapter LXII: Henry VIII – The Field of the Cloth of Gold 00:12:44
6.   Chapter LXIII: How the King became the Defender of the Faith 00:11:19
7.   Chapter LXIV: Henry VIII – The Story of the King's Six Wives 00:08:06

Disc 5

  Our Island Story, Chapters XXXV - LXXIII: From the Magna Carta to Queen Elizabeth I
1.   Chapter LXV: Edward VI – The Story of a Boy King 00:09:56
2.   Chapter LXVI: The Story of Lady Jane Grey 00:07:56
3.   Chapter LXVII: How the Princess Elizabeth Became a Prisoner 00:08:33
4.   Chapter LXVIII: Mary I – How a Candle Was Lit in England 00:04:51
5.   Chapter LXIX: How the Imprisoned Princess Became a Queen 00:06:20
6.   Chapter LXX: Elizabeth – The Story of a Most Unhappy Queen 00:08:16
7.   Chapter LXXI: How England was Saved From the Spaniards 00:08:11
8.   Chapter LXXII: Elizabeth I – The Story of Sir Walter Raleigh 00:07:20
9.   Chapter LXXIII: Elizabeth I – The Story of the Queen's Favourite 00:10:40

Total Playing Time: 05:30:37

Marshall, Henrietta Elizabeth

Bentinck, Anna; Philpott, Daniel

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Junior History

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: NA541012

Barcode: 9789626344101

Physical Release: 04/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
11:48:23 PM, 3 September 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.