Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > New Testament (The) - Selections from The Bible

New Testament (The) - Selections from The Bible


About this Recording

New Testament (The) - Selections from The Bible

The New Testament tells the extraordinary and moving story of the life of Christ, and the founding of his Church. This generous selection from the texts which lie at the root of two thousand years of European civilization ranges between the powerful sincerity of the Evangelists and the ecstatic vision of John’s New Jerusalem.

Disc 1

  The Gospel According To St. Matthew
1.   'Now the birth of Jesus Christ was on this wise' (Chapter 1) 00:03:30
2.   ‘Now when Jesus was born in Bethlehem’ (Chapter 2) 00:03:45
3.   ‘In those days came John the Baptist’ (Chapter 3) 00:02:33
4.   ‘Then was Jesus led up of the Spirit’ (Chapter 4) 00:04:24
5.   ‘And seeing the multitudes, he went up into a mountain’ (Chapter 5) 00:06:51
6.   ‘Take heed that ye do not your alms before me’ (Chapter 6) 00:05:19
7.   ‘Judge not, that ye be not judged.’ (Chapter 7) 00:04:40
8.   ‘When he was come down from the mountain’ (Chapter 8) 00:05:01
9.   ‘And he entered into a ship and passed over’ (Chapter 9) 00:05:08
10.   ‘And when he had called unto him his twelve disciples’ (Chapter 10) 00:05:26
11.   ‘And it came to pass, when Jesus had made an end of commanding his twelve disciples' (Chapter 11) 00:03:54
12.   ‘At that time Jesus went on the sabbath day through the corn’ (Chapter 12) 00:05:30
13.   ‘The same day went Jesus out of the house and sat by the seaside’ (Chapter 13) 00:08:39
14.   ‘At that time Herod the tetrarch heard of the fame of Jesus’ (Chapter 14) 00:05:30
15.   ‘Then Jesus went thence and departed into the coasts of Tyre and Sidon’ (Chapter 15) 00:01:55
16.   ‘When Jesus came into the coasts of Caesarea Philippi,’ (Chapter 16) 00:02:59
17.   ‘And after six days Jesus taketh Peter, James and John his brother’ (Chapter 17) 00:04:04

Disc 2

  The Gospel According To St. Matthew
1.   ‘At the same time came the disciples unto Jesus saying’ (Chapter 18) 00:04:15
2.   ‘And it came to pass that when Jesus had finished these sayings’ (Chapter 19) 00:04:42
3.   ‘For the kingdom of heaven is like unto a man’ (Chapter 20) 00:03:19
4.   ‘And when they drew nigh unto Jerusalem’ (Chapter 21) 00:06:59
5.   ‘Then went the Pharisees and took counsel’ (Chapter 22) 00:04:25
6.   ‘Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my words shall not pass away’ (Chapter 24) 00:03:36
7.   ‘Then shall the kingdom of heaven be likened unto ten virgins’ (Chapter 25) 00:07:44
8.   ‘And it came to pass, when Jesus had finished’ (Chapter 26) 00:12:22
9.   ‘When the morning was come... ’ (Chapter 27) 00:11:17
10.   ‘In the end of the sabbath, as it began to dawn’ (Chapter 28) 00:04:01
  The Gospel According To St. Luke (selections)
11.   John the Baptist’s birth is foretold 00:04:05
12.   The Annunciation 00:07:47
13.   The Birth of Christ 00:03:14

Disc 3

  The Gospel According To St. Luke (selections)
1.   The Birth of Christ (continued) 00:05:21
2.   The Good Samaritan 00:02:33
3.   Mary and Martha 00:00:56
4.   The Parable of the Prodigal Son 00:03:58
5.   The Parable of the Rich Man and Lazarus 00:02:34
6.   The Resurrection of Christ 00:07:48
  The Gospel According To St. John
7.   The Incarnation 00:05:37
8.   The Marriage in Cana 00:01:49
9.   God’s Love for the World 00:03:45
10.   The Woman Taken in Adultery 00:01:51
11.   The Resurrection of Lazarus 00:05:15
12.   The Way, The Truth and the Life 00:10:29
13.   The Passion, Death and Resurrection of Christ 00:26:08

Disc 4

  The Acts Of The Apostles
1.   Christ’s Ascension into Heaven 00:05:21
2.   The Descent of the Holy Ghost 00:01:52
3.   Peter's Sermon 00:05:38
4.   The Apostles are Imprisoned 00:05:00
5.   The Martyrdom of Stephen 00:04:58
6.   Philip and the Ethiopian Eunuch 00:03:22
7.   The Conversion of Saul 00:05:30
8.   Peter Heals Aeneas and Raises Tabitha 00:02:04
9.   Peter Defends the Conversion of the Gentiles 00:04:14
10.   Herod Persecutes the Apostles 00:04:51
11.   Peter Preaches at Athens 00:04:04
12.   Paul in Ephesus 00:04:54
13.   Paul Bids Farewell to the Elders of Ephesus 00:03:55
14.   Paul comes to Jerusalem 00:04:50
15.   Paul is Assaulted in the Temple and Arrested 00:05:15
16.   Paul Appeals to Caesar 00:06:39

Disc 5

  The General Epistle Of James
1.   Faith Without Works is Dead 00:04:28
2.   Patience and Prayer 00:03:48
  The First Epistle General Of Peter
3.   An Exhortation To Unity and Love 00:02:05
4.   Be Sober, Be Vigilant 00:02:26
  The First Epistle General Of John
5.   Fellowship One with Another 00:02:01
6.   God’s Singular Love for Us 00:04:11
7.   God Is Love 00:04:50
  The Epistle Of Paul The Apostle to the Romans
8.   The Gift of God is Eternal Life 00:08:26
9.   An Exhortation to Holiness 00:03:29
10.   Love is the Fulfilling of the Law 00:03:27
  The First Epistle Of Paul The Apostle to the Corinthians
11.   The Gifts of the Spirit 00:02:46
12.   Faith, Hope and Charity 00:02:23
13.   Resurrection 00:09:07
  The Epistle Of Paul The Apostle to the Ephesians
14.   Be Ye Kind One to Another 00:02:24
15.   The Whole Armour of God 00:02:12
  The Epistle Of Paul The Apostle to the Philippians: Paul Blesses the Brethren
16.   The Epistle Of Paul The Apostle to the Philippians: Paul Blesses The Brethren 00:02:19
  The First Epistle Of Paul The Apostle to the Thessalonians: Christ's Second Coming
17.   The First Epistle Of Paul The Apostle to the Thessalonians: Christ's Second Coming 00:08:17

Disc 6

  The Revelation Of St. John The Divine
1.   John's Salutation to the Seven Churches 00:05:13
2.   What John was Commanded to Write to the Seven Churches 00:09:39
3.   John’s Vision: The Book Sealed with Seven Seals 00:12:07
4.   The Opening of the Seventh Seal 00:12:33
5.   War in Heaven 00:07:11
6.   The Hour of God’s Judgement is Come 00:05:53
7.   Babylon the Great is Fallen 00:08:42
8.   King of Kings and Lord of Lords 00:04:20
9.   The Book of Life 00:02:46
10.   The New Jerusalem 00:10:45

Total Playing Time: 07:35:13

Dickinson, Hugh; Kerrigan, Dermot; Souza, Edward de; Williams, Heathcote

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Sacred Texts

Catalogue No: NA611312

Barcode: 0730099011327

Physical Release: 02/1997

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For France:
Abeille Musique
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
12:01:45 AM, 26 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.