Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > ROUSSEL, A.: Symphony No. 3 / Le festin de l'araignee (Orchestre de Paris, Eschenbach)

ROUSSEL, A.: Symphony No. 3 / Le festin de l'araignee (Orchestre de Paris, Eschenbach)


ROUSSEL, A.: Symphony No. 3 / Le festin de l'araignee (Orchestre de Paris, Eschenbach)

Roussel, Albert

  Symphony No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 42
1.   I. Allegro vivace 00:06:04
2.   II. Adagio 00:10:19
3.   III. Vivace 00:03:22
4.   IV. Allegro con spirito 00:06:30
  Le festin de l'araignee, Op. 17
5.   Prelude 00:03:55
6.   A garden. - Sitting in her web, a spider surveys the surroundings 00:00:50
7.   Entry of the ants. - They find a rose petal. - With great effort they lift 00:01:28
8.   Left alone, the spider daydreams and watches the landscape. - She checks the strength of her thread. 00:01:41
9.   Entry of the dung beetles. 00:00:50
10.   The ants return. - They prepare to carry another petal, when a butterfly appears. 00:00:15
11.   Dance of the butterfly. - The spider invites the butterfly to dance closer to her web. - The butterfly is caught in the web and struggles. 00:03:16
12.   The spider rejoices. - She frees the butterfly from her web and takes it to her larder. 00:03:37
13.   The spider dances. - Suddenly fruits come crashing down from a tree. 00:01:49
14.   Fruit worms enter and prepare to revel in the fallen fruits. 00:00:58
15.   Warlike entry of two praying mantises who lift their frightening blades and forbid anyone to approach. 00:00:45
16.   The ants dance in a circle. - The two mantises blame each other for the trick which was played upon them. 00:00:34
17.   The mantises challenge each other to a duel. - They fight. - The spider dances in order to make the mantises more excited. 00:01:41
18.   A mayfly hatches. 00:01:41
19.   He dances. 00:03:23
20.   The mayfly stops, exhausted. - The ants, the spider and finally the dung beetles pay their respects. 00:02:08
21.   The mayfly and the fruit worms dance. 00:01:39
22.   The mayfly dies. 00:00:32
23.   The spider prepares to begin her feast, but one of the mantises, freed by the dung beetles from the web, slips behind the spider and kills her. 00:00:39
24.   Death throes of the spider 00:01:19
25.   Funeral of the mayfly. - The funeral cortege sets off and vanishes into the distance. 00:01:55
26.   Night falls on the deserted garden. 00:01:19

Total Playing Time: 01:02:29

Roussel, Albert

Eschenbach, Christoph

Orchestre de Paris

Label: Ondine

Genre: Ballet; Orchestral

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: ODE1107-2

Barcode: 0761195110720

Physical Release: 2008

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
1:07:13 PM, 25 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.