Classical Music Home

The World's Leading Classical Music Group

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > HANDEL, G.F.: Messiah (Gauvin, Blaze, Muller, Polegato, Tafelmusik Chamber Choir and Baroque Orchestra, Taurins)

HANDEL, G.F.: Messiah (Gauvin, Blaze, Muller, Polegato, Tafelmusik Chamber Choir and Baroque Orchestra, Taurins)


Back Cover Image 

HANDEL, G.F.: Messiah (Gauvin, Blaze, Muller, Polegato, Tafelmusik Chamber Choir and Baroque Orchestra, Taurins)

Disc 1

Handel, George Frideric
Bible - New Testament, lyricist(s)

  Messiah, HWV 56
1.   Part I: Sinfonia 00:03:14
2.   Part I: Accompanied: Comfort ye, my people (Tenor) 00:02:50
3.   Part I: Air: Ev'ry valley shall be exalted (Tenor) 00:03:25
4.   Part I: And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed (Chorus) 00:02:37
5.   Part I: Accompanied: Thus saith the Lord of Hosts (Bass) 00:01:23
6.   Part I: Air: But who may abide the day of His coming (Alto) 00:04:18
7.   Part I: And He shall purify the sons of Levi (Chorus) 00:02:29
8.   Part I: Recitative: Behold, a virgin shall conceive (Alto) - Air: O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion (Alto, Chorus) 00:05:29
9.   Part I: Accompanied: For behold, darkness shall cover the earth (Bass) 00:01:56
10.   Part I: Air: The people that walked in darkness (Bass) 00:04:15
11.   Part I: For unto us a child is born (Chorus) 00:03:58
12.   Part I: Pifa (Pastoral Symphony) - Accompanied Recitative: There were shepherds (Soprano) 00:02:21
13.   Part I: Glory to God in the highest (Chorus) 00:01:53
14.   Part I: Air: Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Soprano) 00:04:32
15.   Part I: Recitative: Then shall the eyes of the blind be opened (Soprano) - Duet: He shall feed His flock like a shephered (Alto, Soprano) 00:05:50
16.   Part I: His yoke is easy, his burthen is light (Chorus) 00:02:30
17.   Part II: Behold, The Lamb of God (Chorus) 00:02:44
18.   Part II: Air: He was despised (Alto) 00:11:26

Disc 2

Handel, George Frideric
Bible - New Testament, lyricist(s)

  Messiah, HWV 56
1.   Part II: Surely, He hath borne our griefs (Chorus) 00:02:05
2.   Part II: And with His stripes we are healed (Chorus) 00:01:51
3.   Part II: All we like sheep have gone astray (Chorus) 00:03:54
4.   Part II: Accompanied: All they that see Him Laugh Him to scorn (Tenor) 00:00:45
5.   Part II: He trusted in God that He would deliver Him (Chorus) 00:02:18
6.   Part II: Thy rebuke hath broken His heart (Tenor) 00:01:43
7.   Part II: Arioso: Behold, and see if there be any sorrow (Tenor) 00:01:45
8.   Part II: Accompanied: He was cut off out of the land of the living (Soprano) 00:00:15
9.   Part II: Air: But Thou didst not leave His soul in hell (Soprano) 00:02:13
10.   Part II: Lift up your heads, O ye gates (Chorus) 00:03:04
11.   Part II: Recitative: Unto which of the Angels (Tenor) - Let all the angels (Chorus) 00:01:32
12.   Part II: Air: Thou art gone up on high (Alto) 00:03:04
13.   Part II: The Lord gave the word (Chorus) 00:01:09
14.   Part II: Air: How beautiful are the feet (Soprano) 00:02:37
15.   Part II: Their sound is gone out into all lands (Chorus) 00:01:14
16.   Part II: Air: Why do the nations so furiously rage together (Bass) 00:01:16
17.   Part II: Let us break their bonds asunder (Chorus) 00:01:16
18.   Part II: Recitative: He that dwelleth in heaven (Tenor) - Air: Thour shalt break them (Tenor) 00:02:09
19.   Part II: Hallelujah (Chorus) 00:03:44
20.   Part III: Air: I know that my redeemer liveth (Soprano) 00:06:33
21.   Part III: Since by man came death (Chorus) 00:02:06
22.   Part III: Accompanied: Behold, I tell you a mystery (Bass) 00:00:33
23.   Part III: Air: The trumpet shall sound (Bass) 00:08:47
24.   Part III: Recitative: Then shall be brought to pass the saying (Alto) - Duet: O death, where is thy sting (Alto, Tenor) 00:01:30
25.   Part III: But thanks be to God (Chorus) 00:02:42
26.   Part III: Air: If God be for us (Soprano) 00:05:02
27.   Part III: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain (Chorus) 00:03:43
28.   Part III: Amen (Chorus) 00:04:40

Total Playing Time: 02:20:40

Handel, George Frideric

Bible - New Testament

Taurins, Ivars

Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra

Tafelmusik Chamber Choir

Blaze, Robin; Gauvin, Karina; Muller, Rufus; Polegato, Brett

Label: Tafelmusik

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: TMK1016CD2

Barcode: 880513101629

Physical Release: 2012

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
6:52:20 PM, 5 August 2015
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2015 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.