Classical Music Home
Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > ADAM: Giselle (La Scala, 2005) (NTSC)

ADAM: Giselle (La Scala, 2005) (NTSC)


ADAM: Giselle (La Scala, 2005) (NTSC)

Adolphe Adam
Teatro alla Scala, 2005

Svetlana Zakharova
Roberto Bolle

Corpo di Ballo ed Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala

Choreography: Jean Coralli & Jules Perrot

Picture Format: 16:9, 1 DVD
Sound Format: LPCM stereo, DD 5.1, DLT 5.1
Running Time: 105 mins
Region Code: NTSC All
Booklet Languages: GB, F, D
Territory: Worldwide

  • From La Scala comes a new staging of an archetypical Romantic ballet on DVD: The 2005 Production of Giselle featuring the original version of the choreography Jean Coralli and Jules Perrot.
  • First performed at the Academie Royale de Musique in Paris in 1841 as a two-act “ballet-pantomime”, Giselle is hailed by ballet historians as the apotheosis of the Romantic ballet. The ballet was conceived by the influential French poet, author, critic and possibly the greatest champion of the Romantic ballet, Theophile Gautier, who, together with Jules-Henri Vernoy de Saint-Georges wrote the scenario that was the basis of Adolphe Adam’s score.
  • It divides into a vivid first act with enchanting country dances, colourful costumes and grand scenes, and a “white” second act with long, symmetric lines of white ballerinas in the background while Giselle lures her partner into soulful pas de deux.
  • In the present performance, Giselle is danced by Svetlana Zakharova, a native of the Ukraine, who grew up in the tradition of St Petersburg’s Maryinsky Ballet and is now one of the youngest ballerinas at Moscow’s Bolshoi Ballet, where her predecessors include Galina Ulanova, one of the leading Giselles in the history of ballet. Her partner as Albrecht is Roberto Bolle, the star dancer at La Scala.

Adam, Adolphe

Coleman, David

Milan La Scala Orchestra

Milan La Scala Ballet

Amato, Vittorio D'; Bolle, Roberto; Caccialanza, Laura; Endicott, Matthew; Masciocchi, Annalisa; Montanaro, Lara; Romagna, Marta; Sarrote, Sophie; Sedeno, Francisco; Sutera, Antonino; Vallone, Flavia; Ventriglia, Francesco; Zakharova, Svetlana


Genre: Ballet

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: DVWW-BLGISS

Barcode: 824121001834

Distribution Note(s):

Listening samples not available for this release.

Physical Release: 07/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Germany only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


 Tell a Friend |  Bookmark this page Digg It |  Bookmark this page |  Add to Facebook Facebook |  FURL FURL |  Add to MySpace MySpace |  Stumbleupon StumbleUpon |  Twitter Twitter

Famous Composers Quick Link:
Bach | Beethoven | Chopin | Dowland | Handel | Haydn | Mozart | Glazunov | Schumann | R Strauss | Vivaldi
3:26:49 AM, 26 May 2016
All Naxos Historical, Naxos Classical Archives, Naxos Jazz, Folk and Rock Legends and Naxos Nostalgia titles are not available in the United States and some titles may not be available in Australia and Singapore because these countries have copyright laws that provide or may provide for terms of protection for sound recordings that differ from the rest of the world.
Copyright © 2016 Naxos Digital Services Ltd. All rights reserved.     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy
Classical Music Home
NOTICE: This site was unavailable for several hours on Saturday, June 25th 2011 due to some unexpected but essential maintenance work. We apologize for any inconvenience.